We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
70
37
23
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
70
37
23
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews playa del coco ocotal beach costa rica within walking distance small hotel hot water in the shower basic room nice breakfast father rooster three nights five minute walk cab ride first stop every morning lis liz gabriel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 143 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2018

This very small hotel (about 10 rooms maybe?) is about a small 1km walk from Ocotal beach, but very pleasant place to stay for 3-4 nights. Liz, the owner went above and beyond to accomodate our party of 6 people. We had a nice breakfast on terrace every morning and for the rest of the day , you have to get your food elsewhere. But Father Rooster restaurant is right at the beach and you cannot go wrong!!The settings of this very quaint hotel are beautiful , we even heard the howler monkeys at night back in the 'jungle' . We had a wonderful time with Liz (the owner) and her friends celebrating New years' eve on her terrace, while watching fireworks go off at different times and at different places!! The hotel is a little up wards of small hill so you have a nice view of ocean and surroundings. BTW , Liz is a very generous person who loves to entertain! I would most definitely recommend this place if you don't mind the small walk to the beach!

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank Meganckdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018

This was our first hotel in Costa Rica and what a treat! It's tucked in the rain forest so you can enjoy the birds (who get pretty loud during meals) and other wildlife, and still be at the beach for dinner at a cool restaurant in five minutes. The rooms are charming Spanish style, the pool is more than adequate and the breakfast delicious. A very warm and welcoming staff adds to the enjoyment of the stay.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Inca1Trail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018 via mobile

We’re between 2 all-inclusive reservations, needed a one night stay which was booked by our vacation club (yikes)!!!

I want to know how much they paid to get a 4 star rating. This place is really bad!!! We have sheets only on the bed, curtains that barely cover the windows, no TV service (weak/no signal), no bar service but there’s signage that advertises such, the pool is dirty and closed. You get 2 bath towels, bare minimum of anything. It’s been furnished with everyone’s ‘throw away’ furniture. Trip Advisor needs to come here and see for themselves, can’t make this up!!! Their cats are all over the outside kitchen, which is where the breakfast is prepared...OMG! I’m only giving a 1 because I have to in order to submit!

Date of stay: February 2018
1  Thank Donna & Joh... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018

This place is happiness at the beach! My partner and I stayed here in early February, our second time at this charming little place! It's away from the noisy playa del coco yet. Close enough to take a short taxi ride fordining,shopping and fun. The staff is wonderful and always acommidateing. It's a cozy, little place with big personality. It was our second time and we are returning for a third time in November. I can't say enough good things about this place. Lis, the owner and Gabriel were amazing and did every thing to make the stay perfect! Thanks again for making Costa Rica our home away from to e!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2018

This was our first stop during our vacation in Costa Rica and this was a great place. Most of our activities were in Playa del Coco so the cab ride was only about $6.00 USD. (Walking took approx 45 min). Playa Ocotal was only a five minute walk which had beaches and Father Rooster restaurant. The room was clean and there was hot water in the shower. The staff were very friendly and warm. Every morning we stayed there, we were up fairly early and breakfast was never more than a 10 minute wait. Always fresh. We had a great stay here and would likely visit again if we stay in this area.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodlandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews