We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocotal Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Misleading”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

I'm currently staying at Ocotal Beach Resort, I couldn't wait to post my review given our disappointing experience.
We arrived yesterday from the Arenal region after spending 3 days in the beautiful Arenal Springs Resort. We booked this hotel because of the website pictures, which as it turned out are highly misleading.
The hotel grounds are in much need of care, not to mention the very, very, very outdated rooms!!
We found ants in our room and floating all over the pools, which also need update!! No WiFi in the rooms , nor refrigerators (as advertised).
Very weak water pressure in shower and sink.
So after the surprises we headed to the bar, but guess what? it closes at 4pm!!
We are now seriously considering checking out early and going somewhere else, but of course, NO REFUNDS.
I must say, the resort (if you can call it that) has awesome views!!
So please before you book this place consider my review.
I will post pictures once I get back home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nomane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    120
    68
    66
    48
See reviews for
97
126
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

I was extremely pleased with my stay at the Ocotal Beach Resort. The hotel is situated on top of a hill with amazing views throughout the property (do not be alarmed as you travel past and through a Tico community on the way up to the hotel). The top level pool and hot tub provide for a picturesque setting. The only two negatives from this hotel would be that the food is quite expensive (although breakfast is very good and free), and the room could use a fridge. There was wireless access at some points of the property but not inside the actual room. I used Avispa's Adventures to help plan our tours and activities and was EXTREMELY pleased with the service they provided. All their vehicles had a/c, their drivers were very nice, and the tour guide was fun and full of good information. We did 3 tours with them, and each provided a unique and personal experience I don't think I would have gotten with other companies that provide the same tours.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miggie_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

When we first checked in we were given a room with one bed, when I had reserved a room with two beds. The room was tiny and looked like the mid-80s (which may have been the last time it was used- judging from the musty smell). However, the staff moved us to a nicer room with little hassle. The second room was clean and had the right number of beds. Unfortunately, the shower did not work. The staff quickly sent someone to fix it, but it never quite worked right, as it alternated between scalding hot water and ice cold water. Also, there were random things missing- there were no hangers in the huge closet and half way through the trip someone delivered the remote control. The room also had a musty smell, but they had scented candles in the room, which helped cover the smell.

The grounds were lovely. The view was beautiful. The onsite restaurant was amazing- great chef. However, for the price of the rooms- they really need to invest some money in updating and fixing up the rooms.

In addition, they do not allow late check outs, as they advertise that they do, but they will store luggage in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nskinner67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

We just spent five nights at the Ocotal Beach Resort in Costa Rica in May 2010. It was fabulous! The view from the rooms was breathtaking. The hotel and rooms are kept very clean. The customer serive and hotel personnel were all great to work with. Although, I speak spanish at a "two year old child" level we were able to find plenty of folks who spoke English enough to get us through.

We spent three days diving with the PADI dive team at Ocotal. The diving was incredible and both my spouse and I agree that one of the dives was our "best ever" in over 12 years of diving. We saw five massive Bull Sharks and two Manta Rays on the one dive at "Bat Island". It was truely incredible!

We also rented a car and drove around the beaches and jungle locations. This turned out to be no big deal and saved us quite a bit of money to have our own rental car.

My only word of caution would be international phone calls. The charges for calls to the USA ended up being $39.00 minimum per call. That's a lot of dough to leave a message on your home phone. We disputed the charges as the room materials said the calls were only $2.99 a minute and Ocotal personnel have come through in getting our credit card credited with over $200 in phone charges.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wightmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

Just got back from a week at this hotel with my husband and 2 friends. Our main purpose for this part of the trip was to go diving.
Location good but you need a car to get into town or pay $12 each way for a taxi.
Eat on the road into town or in the main town as quality very good and of a high standard.
Pros
Good rooms, Clean, large and of a good standard.
Views – amazing from all the rooms in the 400’s. Up a hill but the most beautiful views you could ask for.
Breakfast, good and plenty of food.
3 swimming pools around the site, all very good and clean.
Dive operation on site and leaves from the beach. Small, fast boats and so small groups.
Cons
Restaurant – expensive. Only eat there once and very disappointed. Expensive and not of a great standard. Could not cut the steak!
Beach black sand that is not inviting and needs some rubbish cleared up
Dive operation – use bug spray as they do not spray the area and there is a lot of greenery. Guides do not speak great English and as vis was not good could have done with better briefings. I felt that they did not seem to know where all the divers were at any one time. My husband and I were left to do out safety stops alone in the water when the dive masters got out which worried me!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robmarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perdido, Alabama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

Great resort for a great price. Staff worked very hard to please us in every way. Resort is just a little older but very well maintained and very clean. Views was spectacular! Food was good in the restaurant. Staff in restaurant was willing to accommodate our ever request. Breakfast was great. Spent two days fishing out of the resort on the AHI, 32 ft boat. Captain Paulo and Mate Jonathan were absolutely fantastic! They put us on marlin, sail fish, mahi mahi, rooster fish, pacific mackerel, and jacks. Would recommend this resort and charter fishing out of this resort to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktgrandchamp
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

i stayed here with my family in february and it was an amazing experience. our rooms were well air conditioned which led to a good nights sleep for myself and the rest of my group and the view from our rooms (the 100 series room) was beautiful. we saw monkeys outside our door every morning and were right next to the pool near the dive shop which sports a swim up bar with an extremely friendly and helpful staff. (ask for or look for david) went on the deep sea fishing trip and had a wonderful first mate and captain (father and son) and food and drink were included. the food at the restaurant was exquisite and perfectly portioned. everything was prepared perfectly and over the three nights we stayed there we enjoyed everything we ate. breakfast, which is included, was amazing. it included pastries, fresh fruit, fresh fruit juice, assorted meats, plantains, and an omlette bar and everything tasted really good. the staff at the restaurant was very friendly as well and by the last day we knew all of their names. beautiful view from the top of the hill, though it is a little steep, and the views from the restaurant is amazing. watch out for birds who try to eat your breakfast though they are rather assertive and kawatis (racoon-like) regularly visit during dinnertime and they are friendly and not camera shy at all.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktgrandchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Ocotal
7.9 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
5.9 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
#4 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
6.7 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocotal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocotal Beach Resort

Property: Ocotal Beach Resort
Address: Playa del Coco | PO Box 1, Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Ocotal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocotal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocotal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocotal Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Ocotal Beach
Ocotal Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Ocotal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing