We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
78
121
67
66
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
121
67
66
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolthe cliffiguanasoceanbeach
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 380 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2010

When you first arrive at the hotel and see the location and the views it is stunning. There are gorgeous sunsets every night and there no need to go on any tour to see wildlife since there is plenty to see at the hotel. There are racoons, iguanas and even monkeys all aroudn the hotel.
The rooms and the hotel however are in need of a desperate makeover. The hotel is just old and the rooms just do not match the view. This hotel could charge triple the rate if it would just invest in updating and maintaining the grounds and rooms. The beach chairs are old, dirty and ripped. I even received towels that were completely frayed with holes. Not what you except, even at a holiday inn. The hotel I would compare to a motel but the location is 4 to 5 stars.

The chef in the restaurant needs to be fired. the food was not even mediocore. We ordered probably the worst sushi I have ever eaten in my life. After a couple of bad meals, we opted to eat off of the premises or have small snacks in our room.

On a good note the staff at the hotel was extemely helpful especially the manager Raul. We had a very bad experience with the tour group the hotel offers, FERBIAN TOURS. They offered us a tour to Palo Verde and to the Canopies and it was an absolute rip off and an insult to offer that tour to tourists. The hotel staff helped us get our money back but hopefully the hotel kicked the tour group out of the premises because it was an embarassment that they would offer their services for their hotel guests.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunaskyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

If you like the warmer weather, Costa Rica in general is the place to go year round. This hotel is on the cliff overlooking the ocean. It's a bit further than walking distance to town. The staff was friendly and the facility was clean. It's close to Father Rooster which has recently been given a face lift. I'd definitely come back to this hotel again. But if you want to be in the midst of the nightlife of Playas del Coco, you might want to stay at one of the hotels in town...that way you won't need a car or taxi.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

A bit of a trip from San Jose, but well worth! Great people, beautiful scenery, diving, fresh water pool, surrounded by jungle and rain forests, on the Pacific and close to town. The restaurant was good, but not great - except breakfast! Many places to eat and many fun tours to take. I'd go back without any 2nd thoughts, but be prepared for a 4 hour (+) ride in the jungle from San Jose to get there and back...

Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
Thank XARTRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Property was beautiful. Top of a large mountain/hill overlooking the Pacific. Wildlife everywhere-iguanas, birds, racoons. Food is expensive, like American prices. Dinner was anywhere average $75 at the hotel and $50 at Playa Coco.

Bed was great. Bathroom needed updating but it was clean with great water pressure.

Beach was small, but with lovely black sand and warm water. Many pools to choose from. The 400 series rooms are at the top of the hill with excellent views and a nice pool .

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank west80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

Ocotal beach is one of our favorite places in CR. The sea is calm which is great for kids. Water is clear and excellent for snorkeling White sand beach is clean and not many people. This resort is right on the beach and runs up the cliff. The views from the rooms and restaurant are amazing. Down at the beach level, the pool with swim up bar is a great place to relax.

Rooms are clean, fairly spacious, service is excellent. Prices are relatively good considering this is a beach front resort. Restaurant food is OK, and really about the only place in Ocotal to eat. That is probably the biggest drawback to Ocotal but Playa del Coco is 3 miles away and has plenty of shops/restaurants/nightlife/etc.

We consider this a hidden gem and one of our favorite places to escape for a long weekend or to tack onto a longer trip including Arenal or Monteverde.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews