We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocotal Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Reviewed March 5, 2014

As mentioned in prior reviews this hotel has great views but it is worn down and could use some rehab. The bathrooms could use a make over but are not that bad and the pool bar that is by the beach has not been operating for at least a year or so. We stayed in room 401 which is on the top of the hill and there are only 5-6 units in the 400 building and there is a pool right outside of these units. This pool is by far the best to watch the sunsets and relax and if you get lucky you can look down the cliff in the trees and see some monkeys. The hotel offers a free breakfast and it was good. The beach at the bottom of this hotel is very nice and not very popular so if you get up in the morning you will have the beach almost to yourself. I did not do any snorkeling but a few people told us there is some good snorkeling on both ends of the beach. A short walk down the beach is the restaurant Father Rooster which offers dining on the beach and great food and drinks. I would recommend having a car if you stayed at this place so you can take a short 2-3 mile drive into Coco where there are some great shops and restaurants and another nice beach which is a bit more popular. I would stay at this place again for the views, location and price. The hotel also offers different tours which we did the one day tour to Nicaragua and it was incredible. But you can negotiate the price of these tours. It started out at $165 per person and we got it down to $150 per person but a few people on the tour said they paid as low as $135.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room in the 400 building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCtoTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 379 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

A very clean hotel with the best views in the world! The staff was very helpful and accommodating, unfortunately the hotel ownership is not spending much on upkeep. There is a pool bar that has not been used for what appears to be a few years. Great beach below and be sure to walk down to Father Rooster's restaurant. The included breakfast was good, with a choice of local or American type foods.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I booked this hotel via a Groupon, but of course read the reviews on Trip Advisor (as I always do) prior to booking. This hotel, as others have mentioned, is not a resort. But it could be a gorgeous hotel as the location is just amazing.
On the positive side
1. Staff was always kind and courteous and willing to assist in anyway
2. The rooms were spacious and clean
3. The location is just amazing, high on a hill overlooking the Pacific
4. Secluded beach, uncrowded and a short walk
5. Pools were all working, cleaned every day, and because so few people were there you pretty much had the pool to yourself
6. Great breakfast
On the negative side
1. The hotel is worn down and needs some major rehab
2. I would suggest a car, as nothing (except the beach and one great restaurant) is within walking distance
3. The beach is nice, but if you have difficulty walking or going uphill (it is pretty steep), you should not stay here.
4. The hotel will book activities, but many of them are far away and take all day.

If you get a good price and by that I mean <$100.00, then by all means go. But you will be disappointed if you think of this hotel as a resort, and pay the going rate.

I hope the Ocotal owners spend the money this hotel deserves to bring it to the resort it can be. That being said, I really enjoyed my time here, very relaxing, lovely staff and I would absolutely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 400 block, that block has the best views and a private infinity pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocotal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Greetings from Ocotal Beach Resort!

Thank you for your comments and suggestions.
We are very pleased to hear you had a pleasant time at our hotel.We will work harder everyday in your suggestions to make a hotel a better place so our guests have a great time every time they visit us. We offer an internal shuttle service for our guests to go to/from the beach, just ask for it at front desk next time you visit us :)

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

If you are going to Guanacaste in the Playa del Coco area DO NOT use this hotel. First of all, it is very difficult to find. When we finally found it there was confusion from the guards at the 3 security checkpoints we had to go through. The entrance to the ocean view rooms are like an office door lock that you must use going out or in. What happens if there is a fire??? You must open it with a door key and push curtains aside to enter. The bed in my room was VERY uncomfortable; the AC was not working correctly, and the water pressure was very low.. We had dinner in their restaurant; the food was VERY bad for all 3 of us. I ordered a gin tonic and the tonic was flat. The server did finally fix that with opening a new can of tonic water. He explained the carbon dioxide was low in the machine. The margarita tasted funny for another friend. The breakfast the next morning (which came with the stay) was bland. Every pool and/or jacuzzi looks like it hasn't been cleaned in months. Unfortunately, the place is so isolated it's difficult to go anywhere else to eat. When I asked the receptionist at the front desk if there was a shuttle available to the Liberia Airport (20 minutes away) she said it would be $60 (what a rip off)! We only paid $50 each for a shuttle from Manuel Antonio area to Guanacaste which is a 4 hour ride the day before. .Do yourself a favor and stay in Playa Hermosa; we saw lots of very nice hotels in that area which is only 10 minutes away and even closer to the Liberia Airport.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randall60645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel has so much potential! We stayed in an ocean view room and it seemed like a huge - very nice room - but the hotel almost seemed run down, and not maintained as well as it could be. That said we really enjoyed it - we had what felt like a secluded beach (granted we had to climb up and down to get to it, but i think that's the case with most beaches in the mountain areas). The staff was very friendly, and helpful. The breakfasts were nice, simple but very delicious. Ants around - but that's to be expected when traveling in such areas. They told us we'd have wifi in the room but it was broken so it wasn't really working. Overall I think this is a good hotel and has lots of great potential - and we really enjoyed our stay - but it did leave something to be desired.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YelizavetaYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocotal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Greetings from Ocotal Beach Resort!

Thank you for your kind comments.

It's always pleasant to hear our guests enjoy their stay with us. We will continue to work everyday in making our hotel a better place for memorable vacations :)

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Before booking my stay here, I read many of the reviews here on Trip Advisor. I was concerned because there seemed to be such a range of responses. I decided to stay here because I was in Ocotal/Coco Beach to Scuba dive and this resort had a dive shop. Having stayed here, I think I understand the range of reviews. There is nothing "wrong" with this hotel, but what sets it apart and makes it worth the stay is the view. I loved the place and plan to go back, but I'll cover why it worked for me (and why it may not work for you) below.

I stayed here for 4 nights in July as part of a longer trip to Costa Rica with my 14 year old son. We had a rental car (a Suzuki Jimny 4x4). We spent our mornings Scuba diving and our afternoons exploring the Nicoya Peninsula. We are not the sort of people who just "hang out" at our resort.

The hill: Yes, the resort has a very steep hill. This is how they're able to have both fantastic views and beach access. My little 4x4 had to be in first gear to make it up to the top. The panoramic view rooms are at the top of the hill, the lobby and restaurant are mid-way, the beach is at the bottom. There is a path, it is very steep. If you are out of shape, have bad knees, etc. this might be a problem. I enjoyed the walk and never took the shuttle the hotel provided, so I can't comment on that.

The landscaping: This resort is not a landscaped garden. I liked that. The wild jungle surrounds the hotel, the beach is very natural. Animals wander about: we saw iguanas, coati, squirrels, birds, intriguing insects. At breakfast (which we ate outside on the restaurant's lovely patio), animals always showed up, including some rather aggressive blue jays. If this will bother/scare you, you might not like this place. If you you're like me, the only problem will be that your always stopping to take another picture.

The room: The room itself met all my standards - it was clean, the beds were comfortable, the A/C worked, the bathroom was a decent size and there was always hot water. It was not a "plush" luxury type room, but I didn't need it to be. We had one of the "panoramic view standard rooms" and it had a private patio with an AMAZING view. There was an iguana that was always hanging around outside on our patio. We loved it!

The resort: The use of the word "resort" is a very subjective thing. Be clear: this is not a "resort" like you might find in Cancun. This is a hotel with a several pools, access to a beach and a small restaurant. There was no waiter coming by the pool area with drinks. No organized activities. There were leaves from the trees in the pools at times (although all three pools were open and clearly cleaned on a regular basis).

The restaurant: The breakfast was decent, I never had dinner there. It didn't seem to be a brilliant place to eat, but the view from the patio made breakfast enjoyable. The wifi doesn't reach to the rooms, so I sat on the patio each night and had a beer while on my laptop. The restaurant wasn't crowded, so there was no pressure to give up my table even though I wasn't eating.

Service: Everyone I dealt with was friendly. I managed to get by without any Spanish. Of course, I didn't need anything special and I don't think any of the staff was up to the level of a true concierge.

Location: The resort is a bit isolated. There is no real "town" in Ocotal and Coco is about a 15 minute drive on what could be a confusing back road (we completely missed the entrance when we arrived and I had printed out a very clear Google Maps set of directions). If I had been without a car, I think I would have been unhappy with the location. On the other hand, the view from the hill top location made up for any isolation. The views in nearby Coco beach were just not as dramatically beautiful. Also, if you are a Scuba diver, this is a great area (much of the Pacific coast line is more suited for surfing that Scuba).

Value: I looked at prices on the hotel's website and I might have been less thrilled with the place if I had paid "rack rate." But I didn't. Look around at discount sites (particularly if traveling in the "Green" season).

All in all, this is a great place. If you never plan to leave your hotel, stay at one of the "name brand" resorts somewhere else along the Pacific coast (or better yet, just go to Mexico). If you are in Costa Rica to have the Central American backpacker experience, you can find someplace much cheaper. But if you are the sort of traveler that falls in the middle of those two extremes, you'll find Ocotal to be a beautiful and Ocotal Beach Resort to be a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to books the cheapest rooms, they aren't next to the beach, but they have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank gailberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Well, the staff was very friendly and very accommodating. The views from the room and patio restaurant were spectacular! This resort is in dire need of better mgmt, maintenance, and overall customer care. It's a very long walk downhill on a winding path to the beach and pool area. Once you arrive there is no one to service you except the bartender serving drinks. There were NO towels available poolside. And I wasn't about to go back up to the hotel to get one as it was too far (UPHILL). When I got back to the room I noticed that I forgot my toothbrush and when I went to the hotel lobby they told me I had to take a cab into town to the grocery store to buy one. They sell absolutely no sundries. Only water and soda. There were a consistent flow of bugs passing thru our room. I left the door open to enjoy the breeze while reading and some raccoons decided to walk in. Great location. great views. Good food. They should drop the name resort until they make some significant cosmetic and convenience improvements.

Room Tip: ask them if there have been any renovations since Dec 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ltrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Ocotal
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
#1 of 2 in Playa Ocotal
127 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
344 reviews
6.0 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
736 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocotal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocotal Beach Resort

Address: Playa del Coco | PO Box 1, Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Ocotal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Price Range: $110 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocotal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocotal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocotal Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Ocotal Beach
Ocotal Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Ocotal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing