We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
78
121
67
66
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
121
67
66
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolthe cliffiguanasoceanbeach
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 380 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had a unit just below the bar/restraurant area ....great views, very nice private pool. The large pools were closed because it was off season but we were told that when we called to confirm our reservations. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The room was wonderful, the air worked, the water was hot and the beds were comfortable. It is a lil ways out but worth the drive, about 10 min at the most from the town beach bars. The beach their is really good and not crowded with a private bar on the beach. The walk up the hill was a lil much for my wife but the resort provided a shuttle from the room to the beach and back when requested, so no problem and a nice service. Very nice place, had no problems of any kind.

Room Tip: request a room up by the bar/restaurant if u dont wont to walk up the hill. Or a lower room if you dont mind the walk or dont eat breakfast, they are closer to the beach.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A bit out of the way, but you cannot beat this view anywhere in the world! Majestic Pacific Ocean w mountainous backgrounds, occasional boats passing is just hypnotizing. One of the most relaxing and romantic places we have ever traveled! The rooms are accommodating, charming and clean, very nice ! Staff is very helpful, and they speak English well. Dining is above average food, great brunch! Location is a bit up the hill from charming little village of El Coca which is a lovely alternative 'out of the resort' area for local shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room on far S. is most private and romantic !
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

So there ate two perimeter fences and a guy who calls you in at the second one. It's oceanfront but you are high on a hill- there is a big pool but no water in it- so you use a crowded smaller pool- the hot and cold in the shower does not regulate properly so its cold- they say a buffet breakfast and I get a plate- to bread no tortilla- they say its a tica breakfast- part of a tica breakfast- I need a ride- the resort guy wants to take me down the coast in a large van - I say too much money- so he picks me up in a small taxi- he is perturbed and does not carry my SUITCASE. It's isolated and safe but too far to walk to town

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank surferboyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I planned a two week vacation at the Ocotal Beach Resort. Mardigi Tours located in the lobby made it such a good time we decided to extend our vacation another week. Mardigi Tours gave us a variety of options everyday at a really good price compared to other tour guides. The owner Marvin assigned Mark as our guide it was like going everywhere with a buddy. We took multiple excursions up rivers, jungles, beaches and even to Nicaragua.We had one of the duplex units with a step out the back door had our pool right there and few more steps led to the path to the beach. What a life.We did this last spring and are going back this fall for an extended visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel looked great in pictures and setting. The setting was fantastic but the hotel had a lot of poor repairs done, many of the repairs seemed incomplete. The room was big, but on the first night we did not have hot water and when we went to talk to the front office they didn't seem too interested in listening but the problem was fixed. The setting is truly amazing as you sit on the deck and overlook the ocean and take in a most amazing sunset.
The restaurant was a little disappointing. The food really was not that great. It wasnt horrible, but I was expecting better. One of the issues we had were the two resident 6 foot iguanas who would essentially sit at your feet and look as though they were begging for food. It made my wife rather uncomfortable, as well as many other guests.
When we signed up for a snorkeling at the scuba shop at this hotel we were paired up with a couple of scuba divers and were pretty much left to our own devices as the scuba master ws obviously diving with the other two divers. We really felt abandoned on this expedition.
Overall this was the most disappointing hotel on our trip and we really regretted having stayed here. The only thing that made this part of the trip to Palo Verde National Park. That was awesome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cantwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews