We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen the movie Best Exotic Marigold Hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocotal Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seen the movie Best Exotic Marigold Hotel?”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel looked great in pictures and setting. The setting was fantastic but the hotel had a lot of poor repairs done, many of the repairs seemed incomplete. The room was big, but on the first night we did not have hot water and when we went to talk to the front office they didn't seem too interested in listening but the problem was fixed. The setting is truly amazing as you sit on the deck and overlook the ocean and take in a most amazing sunset.
The restaurant was a little disappointing. The food really was not that great. It wasnt horrible, but I was expecting better. One of the issues we had were the two resident 6 foot iguanas who would essentially sit at your feet and look as though they were begging for food. It made my wife rather uncomfortable, as well as many other guests.
When we signed up for a snorkeling at the scuba shop at this hotel we were paired up with a couple of scuba divers and were pretty much left to our own devices as the scuba master ws obviously diving with the other two divers. We really felt abandoned on this expedition.
Overall this was the most disappointing hotel on our trip and we really regretted having stayed here. The only thing that made this part of the trip to Palo Verde National Park. That was awesome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cantwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    120
    67
    66
    48
See reviews for
96
126
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The room was better than expected. The semi-private pool was very nice! The main pool area was rundown, the bar empty. This was probably because it was off season. The restaurant on the property was great! The snorkeling was substandard compared to Mexico and Belize. We used the guide on the beach at Ocotal. His prices were reasonable and they were very nice and professional. The husband went rooster fishing and got nothing. It seems that he should have gone further out, but they did not tell him that. He got some Mahi Mahi that was out of this world though!

Room Tip: Room 212 was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseygirl7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Early this month myself and five members of my family overnighted at the Ocotal Beach Resort and this was the best hotel for an overnight stay. The restaurant staff deserved to be commended for their service both during dinner and breakfast the following day.

I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone looking not only for an overnight stay but for longer.

Room Tip: The sunset suites are the best - what a spectacular view, not to mention the view from the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BibiK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

In 4 trips to Costa Rica we must have spent about 20 nights in the Ocotal Beach resort...! Each time it feels like coming home. The view is unique, and still breathtaking every single time we come back. We've seen dolphins, whales, monkeys and lots of other animals from very close! The rooms are very comfortable and ideal for a beach vacation. The breakfast is great and the staff super friendly (a special thanks to Wilmer!). They make us feel very welcome. When you take the short walk down to the quiet Ocotal beach you can choose to take a kayak, jetski, boat or go snorkel, swim or just sun bathing. We hope we can come back many more times!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suiza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsey, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

although the property was a little outdated,kosher expeditions did a great job in the passover program in 2011..i read the bad reviews but there is always a couple of disgruntled guests..my family had a great time and would recommend kosher expeditions as well as well as other guests that we met there would..they have now switched to a different location and we plan to join them for passover 2014.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mv28219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here in Febuary. Booked through Hotels.com and they overcharged me for the room due to my mistake or theirs. I happened to meet the owner of the resort and in conversation mention what happened. He was apolegetic,even though it was not his fault, and offered me the next nights stay at a very good price. He did say he was upgrading many things in the resort.
The room we stayed in was plain but clean and did the job. The view from our patio was just fantastic, looking out at the ocean from a few hundred feet above it. The view from the infinity pool was breathtaking.We ate breakfast on both days, which came with the price of room, and it was good. Service was A1 and friendly.
The resort is built on a steep incline so anyone who has problems with walking could have a hard time going up and down to the beach. There is a van which will take you back and forth from the beach and the town which is a few miles away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitcheneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I am finally getting around to writing this review after staying at Ocotal in October 2012.
As you can read from many other reviews, this property is in need of some serious repair. Much of the property is outdated and there were several things which were just not functioning.
However, I always think it is important to keep everything in perspective. For the price I paid, I thought it was an excellent location and value, and didn't expect everything to be perfect. Additionally, as it was October, I knew it was not yet the high season so I didn't expect everything to be up and perfect in the off-season.
The location is a quick trip from Liberia airport and it is super easy to arrange cabs to Coco Beach, which we did almost every night. I liked being near everything, but also away from it all. There were multiple pools, plus the beach and seeing as how I wanted to just relax for vacation this was perfect.
We did a few excursions, which were super easy to arrange and they were such a good time.

I would definitely go back to Ocotal, and the area in general, and am considering it in the very near future. I think anyone who has major complaints about the rooms and wi-fi should perhaps look for a new hotel that is near the airport or wherever. You don't go here to sit in your room on the computer. It's absolutely stunning outside.
Oh and the staff are amazing! So friendly and willing to help with anything!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Ocotal
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
#1 of 2 in Playa Ocotal
122 reviews
7.9 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,515 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
#4 of 11 in Playas del Coco
119 reviews
6.7 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,693 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocotal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocotal Beach Resort

Property: Ocotal Beach Resort
Address: Playa del Coco | PO Box 1, Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Ocotal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocotal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocotal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocotal Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Ocotal Beach
Ocotal Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Ocotal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing