We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkel tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocotal Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We pre-booked a snorkel tour which may have been a mistake. The conditions were not ideal for snorkeling. Leo, our guide,
should have known better than to take us out in jellyfish infested water. At a minimum he should have given us the option of canceling given the jelly infestation. I was bitten everywhere and still suffering, what if I had an more severe reaction? Totally reckless on the dive shops part. I thought the waiters at the hotel restaurant were superb! Courteous and helpful. Food was so healthy and delish! The views outstanding and location great.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Imm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat P, Manager at Ocotal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Sir:

We thank many feedback, we will follow up on your suggestions.

We look forward to serving you on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 379 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Moldy, dirty. The air conditioner filter may never have been cleaned as it had a filthy build up. The hotel was advertised as beachfront, but where's the beach... Can't wait for morning! In general we cannot believe the prices of really bad stays in Costa Rica. A 5 star resort we stayed in earlier this week was similarly priced. The insects were a minor problem compared to everything else. I never did figure out where the honeybees were coming from, but appeared to be entering from the ceiling and landing on my bed. Although we have a car, there was a bus tour group who agreed this is not a place to be stranded, but hotels are few and far between in this area. Worst place I have stayed in decades.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Combattracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our stay was okay. A little disapointing honestly. It deffinatly is not a four star like they claim. Although the views are beautiful the hotel could use some updates. Rooms were very dated and simple. Beds were comfortable. Staff were decently friendly. Nice pools and common areas. The bathroom was something you'd see at a motel 6. Very dated and seemed dirty. I wouldn't return. There are alot of better options with better bang for the buck.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tito q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was booked into this hotel via a group I traveled with and would NOT return or recommend.
View is great, bird viewing excellent, however rooms run down and not very clean, thousands of ants invaded and trailed up the walls in two different rooms (400 and 300 building), also swarmed under the door so moved out early so none got into my clothes, no refrigerator as advertized, air conditioner loud and tempermental, couldn't get it to shut off. The only very friendly personel were a waiter and the musician. All in all, I'd suggest staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in a bungalow which was nice. We had our own private little pool that we enjoyed, as well as the patio. This place has a great view and I loved the beach. The beach is down a steep hill but a shuttle is provided for getting around the property. The place overall is a little worn but we had a good experience altogether. We enjoyed the food at the hotel very much, but pay very close attention to your bill. Make sure it adds up correctly, we had issues with that everyday. Apparently the hotel is for sale so maybe thats why it has become a bit run down.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissBeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat P, Director of Sales at Ocotal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Sir:

Best regards from the Ocotal Beach Resort in Guanacaste, Costa Rica.

We thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately in the days of your stay we had problems with the computer system on site. We regret the inconvenience.

In Guanacaste as everywhere else there are properties for sale and possibly this has caused some misunderstanding.

Any additional comments can be sent to: mercadeo@ocotalresort.com

Thank you very much.

Marketing Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Ocotal is in need for an overhaul of its dated look. Its location is beautifully set above the beach with views as good as any I have seen in the world but the service and rooms are not up to the standard you'd expect with a view as good as the Ocotal's.

As others have said the hotel promises Internet, which is the air Americans breathe these days, and it failed to deliver it for us. After complaining that we had no net we were told that it could be the fault of, "the wind". This kind of silly excuse might have gone uncommented on ten years ago but today it doesn't wash. After saying we would leave without the net our room was upgraded to a Bungalow Suite with private pool and there was no Internet there either. Then we were told they were working on it and we could have moved to another room which they said had Internet. For one night we lived without the net and went into town where it was free and ubiquitous.

The breakfast which was included was very good if you like Costa Rican food and eggs which were cooked to order. I asked for pancakes and the waiter never came back the fruit was excellent. The views from the outdoor breakfast area made up for the lack of pancakes as it was as good as any I have seen anywhere at any price.

Our pool was clean and offered very nice views of the Pacific and other than the fact that the room looked like 1985 it was serviceable. I would recommend the Ocatal for the way we used it, i.e. as a close by waterfront hotel to the nearby Liberia Airport. Why lose a last day of a holiday staying at the Airport Hilton when you can get up have a nice breakfast take a dip and drive to the airport by 10:00AM.? I would not stay here for days or on a honeymoon expecting a luxury holiday.

Room Tip: Don't pay $200+ for a Bungalow the other pools and rooms are about as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2nynbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat P, Manager at Ocotal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Sir:

Best regards from the Ocotal Beach Resort in Guanacaste, Costa Rica.

We greatly appreciate your comments, we are making a total evaluation of the hotel now, we will implement a monitoring program to all suggestions provided by our customers in order to solve each of them if necessary.

We wished you had asked to speak with management and have personally attended.

We are at your service and look forward again with the favor of his visit very soon.

Any additional questions can make the email: mercadeo@ocotalresort.com

Many Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We dove with them for 2 excellent dives. Well run. Well organized. Good rental equipment. Unfortunately I lost my shorty wet suit there and was too lazy to go back for it. That's because of the great service. Our gear was all brought to and from the dive boat and cleaned for us after the dives (which is why i forgot the suit). Tons of wildlife especially Rays, Eels, Snakes etc. Definately in the top few dives I've done and I've been around a bit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egaquaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat P, Manager at Ocotal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Sir:

Best regards from the Ocotal Beach Resort in Guanacastel, Costa Rica.

We appreciate your feedback, excellence in service is our reason for being, We are delighted that diving in our hotel has been satisfactory.

We look forward to your visit again soon at the lhotel.

Any additional comments please write to mercadeo@ocotalresort.com

Many Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Ocotal
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
#1 of 2 in Playa Ocotal
133 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
190 reviews
7.9 mi away
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Penin...
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica a...
#2 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,012 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,669 reviews
6.7 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocotal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocotal Beach Resort

Address: Playa del Coco | PO Box 1, Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Ocotal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Price Range: $110 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocotal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocotal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocotal Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Ocotal Beach
Ocotal Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Ocotal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing