We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocotal Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Pura Vista Hotel(Playa Ocotal)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Almendros de Ocotal(Playa Ocotal)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Loft Apart-Hotel(Playas del Coco)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coco Palms(Playas del Coco)(Great Value!)
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino(Playas del Coco)
$116
$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Savannah(Playas del Coco)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel La Puerta del Sol(Playas del Coco)(Great Value!)
$70
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Buena Onda(Playas del Coco)
$530
$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $395/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$165
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Sueno(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
78
121
67
66
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
121
67
66
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolthe cliffiguanasoceanbeach
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 380 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I am not a picky traveler but when I see pictures and expect something nice it better be that way. I think a lot of you will agree... Location is ok I guess. Everything is on the hill there so u have to do some walking to get to the beach witch does not look anywhere close to what the pictures show. Best part about the hotel is that it has a little veranda that overlooks the water, not private at all by the way. Walls are paper thin, so if you want to hear your neighbors do some stuff that you might not want to hear on vacation then you should stay there... Best part of the hotel is restaurant side. View is really nice. Bfast was ok. Didn't try the any other food so no comments on that... Overall I would not stay there if wanted to go to coco beach or anywhere in that area... By the way for drinkers and margarita lovers. Check out father roosters restaurant 5 min walk from the hotel. Very good margaritas. Don't be shy and ask for some extra tequila in there ;)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shako_lord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was the one place I didn't read reviews of before we went and wish I had. Heads up: if when you get to a resort and they give you a "rules" sheet right away where printed in bold it says if you're not satisfied with your stay there will be no refunds, that might be an indication this resort has a high attrition rate and/or a few problems. If you're looking for a place that can boast some serious views, ok food and service from the kitchen, but a kind of depressing room/grounds, then this is your place. We were on our honeymoon and this was our last stop. Up to that point we had an amazing trip and experienced such wonderful Costa Rican hospitality. My first notice of the grounds/hotel was that it was a little outdated and "sad". There was a feeling around the place that was a little oppressive and/or depressed. It really contrasted from our previous hotel stays in CR. Although the entire resort was almost empty, they put us in a room that was right next to a very noisy generator that was on all night long. Little things were noticeably off, like the picture in our room was literally nailed into the wall very crooked, like really, obviously crooked, not just a little bit. That's not a big deal, but it does suggest a lack of pride and represented many little things like that we found. The owners didn't seem to care about keeping the place up. We were put on the ground floor and there is no privacy option whatsoever if you want natural light in your room. It's either you turn on the lights or you completely expose one side of your room to let in light or see the view (the entry door is all glass as is the wall, floor to ceiling...which sounds like it would be a nicer thing if on the 2nd floor away from foot traffic, but literally if open anyone can see everything in your room). There were 2 cheap plastic chairs right outside our door to look out at the view, but they're essentially feet from a main walkway and again no privacy. Going to a resort that boasts: "Ocotal is a four-star beachfront resort, a leader among Costa Rica's hotels and resorts, known for its outstanding style, comfort, and service," one expects more. They also apparently won a sustainable tourism award.....huh? I saw no effort in this regard. This was not a 4 star resort by any means except for the views, which really are extraordinary because it's right there on the cliff overlooking the sea. I would say stay here if you want an amazing view but a Motel 6 or less equivalent room. Our server Alex in the restaurant was really delightful and for his sake it saddens me to write this review. Just not worth the price, even with a groupon. We ended up just eating the cost of the last 2 nights we had reserved there and headed up the street to Villa Vista Mar which is like a 4 star resort but at a Motel 6 price....the best decision we made on the trip.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I first visited Ocotal in 2001. Although some of the rooms show their age, they are still great accommodations. The view from the rooms as well as the restaurant. The staff is excellent and will go above and beyond to serve. The dive operation is first class with great boats and a very good staff. EAN is available and although many new dive shops have opened in the area, this shop is well established and run is a safe manner with experienced staff personnel and crews. The included breakfast is enough to hold anyone over to lunch time. If given the opportunity, I will return to Ocotal.

Room Tip: The hilltop rooms have the best view and are the easiest to get to the restaurant. The beach level rooms have great atmosphere, 3 seconds from the beach and a little more privacy, but an uphill walk to eat.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank padi176715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you like to travel like a local, fit right in with the ticos, and just have a fantastic time surrounded by nature, then go to Playa Ocotal and stay here! We have been to CR a few times and stayed here twice. We love the views, the property, the comfort and the proximity to nature. Everyone is so very nice. The breakfast is delicious and breathtaking as you eat over looking the Golfo de Papagayo. There is always much wildlife, flora and fauna to wonder at. They have several pools, bars and rooms. The villas are very nice, each with a private pool. We stayed in one of the villas with our children and they just loved it. The beach has black sand and is right in front of the hotel. Father Rooster restaurant is a short walk down the hill and you can drink and eat right on the beach all day! It's just paradise!

Room Tip: The villas are scattered up the hill and require some hiking to get to breakfast and two of the pools. The standard rooms are up on top of the hill and have breathtaking sweeping views of the gulf. You can't go wrong either way, and we've stayed in both. They have a newly renovated pool at the very top that is quiet and serene. Just beautiful!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arbolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The bathroom was not clean when we arrived. The food was revolting, the fish I ordered wasn't fresh (baffling as this hotel is on the coast). Exactly how the kitchen managed to find such revolting fruit for the breakfast is confusing). I live in Costa Rica, and wouldn't be able to find such unripe fruit if I really tried.

Only one receptionist was helpful, one was very rude. One morning there were many dead crabs around the swimming pool upstairs, I went to ask twice for someone to come up and remove them, and on the second request the receptionist advised me to go and someone else to address the issue (she suggested head towards the kitchen to speak to someone. This suggestion left me in almost utter disbelief). Awful customer service.

The bathroom facilities serving the upper pool weren't cleaned the whole 8 days we were staying there. Consequently the smell of raw faeces coming from the garbage can became so overwhelming we had no other option but to use the toilet in our room, rather than confront the revolting environment of that bathroom.

Our bedroom door was left unlocked and OPEN after the housekeeping service had come round.

There was iguana mess all over the place - I absolutely understand that there are many animals around the hotel, but after seeing the same piles of mess day after day, it became apparently that noone working at the hotel saw it appropriate to clean it away.

The path down to the beach, and to the suits overlooking the beach, is really dangerous. The paving is unsafe and unlit after dark.

The lady working on the tours desk in reception was not knowledgeable about any of the tours that she had advertised. It was very frustrating speaking to her.

No internet access in the rooms, and no access outside of the rooms either. Access only available in the reception area. Reception closed at 10pm. Totally inconvenient.

The walls were paper thin, as other reviewers have mentioned, you can hear everything from the next room. The TV didn't work properly.

The 'jacuzzi' overlooking the ocean was always full of crabs.

A bitter disappointment, the only highlight of this stay was the koati that came to hang out with us beside the swimming pool upstairs. We were ripped off by this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not spend your money here.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AdventurerSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews