We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, but maintenance poor and entire premises were dated.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocotal Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view, but maintenance poor and entire premises were dated.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

We chanced upon this resort, and I would have been upset if we were staying there more than one night. We spent most of our short Costa Rica vacation in the rainforest, in the La Fortuna area. It took us about 5 or 6 hours to drive from there to the coast, and we were looking for a place to spend the night. We chanced upon the Ocotal Beach Resort. The reception area was being renovated and painted, but the man who helped us check is was friendly. We asked to see the room, and they showed us around. We were blurry eyed from the long drive, and didn't notice the flaws that were very apparent as the day and night wore on. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom facilities adequate. The hot tub was not, well, hot! The pool was somewhat green, and the sunset bar was closed. The sunset, however, from the pool area was awesome. We ate dinner and breakfast at their restaurant, and they did not have some things on the menu. We had a great dinner with another guest, though, sitting on their balcony overlooking the majestic Pacific. We had a good time, but I would not want to spend my entire vacation at this resort! It must have been an awesome resort when it first opened, and with a lot of work could be again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjjmd319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    120
    68
    66
    48
See reviews for
97
126
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Etiwanda California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

We were on the road in costa rica. We decided to spend the night at Ocotal Beach resort, instead of going to tamarindo. We are so happy we changed our mind. The resort is beautiful. We stayed in the sunset suite,the best room. The view is stunning and you are just steps away from the pool. The service and food was good. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: sunset suite is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sledger_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Just spent a week here with a group of 28 and enjoyed it very much. Stayed in the 400 block rooms and had a great view every morning of Humpback whales, including a mother & calf. Restaurant was pretty good: Breakfasted there every morning. The one time we had dinner there, some of the menu items weren't available (but hey, it's off-season) but the food was tasty. The room was clean and serviced daily. Our housekeeping folks were fun, friendly and accommodated every request, and even provided the occasional remedial spanish lesson if it's not your best language. Pools are all over the resort. We especially enjoyed the infinity pool at the top but every one of them was great. Picturesque views from the veranda of our room for sunrises, sunsets, whales and the occasional thunderstorm. Loved the HD TV, but never did figure out how to turn off the picture-in-picture feature. But hey... who goes to Costa Rica to watch TV anyway, right?

Wi-fi is spotty if you're in the middle of the 400 block, but if you're willing to take your lapptop to either end of the building you get a strong signal. Ice machine was out @ 400 level, but the 300 level ice machine isn't far and had plenty of ice whenever we needed it. Our room A/C unit blew up the first night (in SPECTACULAR fashion!) but it was repaired/replaced by the time we came back from diving the next day. I highly recommend getting a mini-bar fridge for your room (just ask, they'll deliver); first one we got wasn't working but again, after 1 phone call we had a replacement. You have several larger grocery stores in Coco to choose from to keep it stocked with snacks, food & drinks.

The staff was attentive and friendly: the folks here are committed to making sure you have a great stay. The scuba diving was fantastic and dive staff (esp Flaco, Sebastian & Carlos) were great. Whatever you need, they're usually able to accommodate. Some equipment issues they didn't have parts to resolve, but if you can include a save-a-dive kit with your gear you'd be all set. If you happen to be a runner, the hills are unforgettable. Really... some of the hills were just...wow! If you get the chance, I highly recommend taking trips to Catalina & Bat Islands; both were well worth it.

Loved our stay here. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FireDiver443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Ocotal was beautiful, the food was good and the Sunset rooms, and Jr. suites are the best. I would go back again and again to this resort. It is the best location for diving has a fantastic beach and perfect family setting. Very nice beach pool, all inclusive and service was great. I heard the resort is for sale and I am hoping the new owner will keep up with the diving. I truly enjoy Ocotal, take a group of 50 people every year with Kids Sea Camp family dive adventures and it has been a success each year. Great tours from the resort. Alex at the tour desk is the best and jumps through hoops. Andrea in reservations is easy to work with and all of them speak clear english. I hope that Ocotal will continue to be a great place to stay and dive.
Due to the resort being for sale, I would not book direct, go through a trusted travel agency, or tour operator. That way your sure to get a heads up on any changes.

Room Tip: The 200 block are the Jr. suites, they each have 2 queen beds and connect, very nice, clean and beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubamom3483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We requested the 400 block after reading the reviews from other people. The room was very small, we upgraded to the Sunset Suite at the end of the building and it was well worth it. It had a separate living and sleeping area and the best view in the entire resort. The sunsets were breathtaking and every morning we would sit and watch a pod of pilot whales playing in the bay below. Going off season meant that all the offered amenites were not available. We ate breakfast in the restaraunt, only because it was included. We never ate any other meals there, but on the premises is Father Roosters, a great place to eat with a good selection and not pricey. It's on the beach and has a great view of the water and sunsets too. Luis was our waiter most nites, he was great! Very accomodating to our needs. We ate there 6 out of 7 nites. As for the resort, the entire place looked like it needed a good power washing. The pool next to our room was kept very clean as was the "bubble tub", which is what we called it, they call it a "hot tub", but hot it's not, just luke warm. The stone walls around the pool had a lot of mold which is what I meant about power washing. The 2nd day we were there, there were only 12 guests at the resort so there wasn't a lot of staff to accomodate you. The dive shop closed early every day so we missed a chance to go our last day. It is a very nice resort, I'm sure it's better kept during season. We got a kick out of all the iguana, raccoons, and other critters and had no problems with any getting into our room. Forget the internet offered, I sat for 10 minutes waiting to connect with American Airlines, and it never happened. It's the slowest internet I've ever seen. I really can't give it a "great" rating because we didn't get to see any of the offered stuff...swim up bars, buffets at the restaraunt, because of off season. This wasn't a planned vacation, this was a family visit. The views are the best thing about this resort, that and Father Roosters.

Room Tip: If you can afford it ask for the Sunset Suite, it was an awesome room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divedu0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We did not stay at the hotel as such but spent one evening at their terrace, having dinner and enjoying the view and sun going down. It's simply spectacular, you'd have to sea in order to understand. You're on top of it all, looking down to the bay/Ocotal Beach and far far North and away. Facing West you cannot miss to down your bottle of white whine parallel to the sun going down and disappearing at the horizon just in front of you. Go see yourself... The dinner itself was expensive, but okay. Nothing really special, others would say: not worth that price, but, it comes with THE view. My wife, out of curiosity, had a lokk at one of their Junior Suites and they were in perfect shape. Though I am not in aposition to really qualify what it's like spending a night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HajoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

My daughter and I spent 6 nights here. We had a room that faced the water and the view was beautiful. There were 3 pools on the property and there was harldy ever anyone in them so it was very private. The food at the restaurant was rather expensive and the variety was not what we expected. The staff was very friendly which made things enjoyable. The only drawback was that we were up on a very steep hill and if you didn't want to walk down to the beach you had to wait for a shuttle. lt was about a $7.00 cab ride to town as it was too far to walk in the extreme heat. We booked a snorkel tour at our hotel and they told us to wear a long sleeved top as there were jelly fish. They wound up giving us wetsuits but the experience was terrible. At our third drop the jellyfish were like a wall around you and you couldn't get past them and we were stung on our face, hands and feet. They should never have taken us out knowing that the jelly fish were so bad. Just a note do not snorkel during the month of May in Liberia.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank classic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Ocotal
7.9 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
#1 of 2 in Playa Ocotal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
6.6 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
22.3 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocotal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocotal Beach Resort

Property: Ocotal Beach Resort
Address: Playa del Coco | PO Box 1, Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Ocotal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocotal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Ocotal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocotal Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Ocotal Beach
Ocotal Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Ocotal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing