We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
78
121
67
66
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
121
67
66
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool the cliff iguanas ocean beach
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 380 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Ocotal Beach Resort is looking a little worn, but efforts seem to be ongoing to spruce it up. Our room was basic and comfortable, the bed was super comfortable. The staff went out of the way to be helpful. The restaurant is great, the breakfast buffet is outstanding with fresh fruit and a super good fresh-made omelette. Dinner was excellent. As far as I can tell, the best rooms are on the 400 or 300 block. We were in the 400 level and the view from there is priceless. There is also a pool and jet tub on this level. It is a long hike back up from the beach, but we did it nearly every day. Took a day trip to Nicaragua with Macau Tours, fantastic, highly recommend them. I would stay at Ocotal Beach Resort again. I did hear complaints about the beach front rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We just returned from the Ocotal Beach Resort which our son and his new wife had chosen as a destination wedding site.
The sunset on the scenic deck was a spectacular background for the wedding.
The set up of tables and buffet were beautiful, the food and wine excellent and the service very friendly and attentive. Everyone loved the outdoor dance floor and used it extensively.
Although It seemed like the hotel recently changed owners and chefs and is also undergoing renovation - hence a better price - we noticed that all efforts were made to ensure guests had a wonderful time during their stay.
In the past we spent a lot of vacations at Club Med resorts, so the similar leisurely atmosphere and genuine friendliness put us immediately into vacation mood.
The breakfast buffet on the spacious deck overlooking the Pacific Ocean was a perfect way to start each day.
There was a daily different choice of a variety of fresh fruits, baked goods and breads, in addition to the staples of beans and rice, eggs and toast, pancakes or omelettes made to order.
On the dinner menu we really liked the Seafood gumbo.
The 2 for 1 drinks at the happy hour could be improved upon though, and I think it should include the choice of wine.
We loved taking the narrow scenic path connecting the upper and lower level of the resort for its magnificent view onto the docked boats of the bay and beach below, but also appreciated how easy it was to call the hotel shuttle which would arrive within minutes.
The lower pool by the beach with its pool bar and music was fun for our wedding party and perfect for just hanging out between events and activities.
The hotel personnel was friendly and responsive and we had not problems renting a room safe with a returnable deposit.
The desk easily arranged for cab rides into Coco Beach, which only cost a few dollars.
We were in a group of 40, all had a wonderful time and unforgettable memories and would definitely return to this beautiful resort soon in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisurexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Location:
Location is pretty decent, but not amazing. As many others have mentioned, there are great views from the deck where breakfast/dinner is served. The resort is a short taxi ride from Coco Beach (shops, restaurants, grocery, etc). It's pretty easy to get back and forth during the day, but a cab in the evening proved tougher to come by and kind of a hassle.

Food:
The menu at the restaurant is not only over priced, but also NEVER changes. I was there for 10 days and let me tell you, black beans, rice, and pancakes for breakfast got old well before my trip was over. The dinner menu is also constant and it didn't seem rare for them to be out of items, so your options are even further reduced. The food quality is mediocre at best, especially for the price. If restaurant in the States served food of that quality at that price, it wouldn't last long.

Service:
The service was ok, not outstanding. The staff was friendly and generally helpful. It was not uncommon for them to run out of things though. They were constantly running out of fruit and food items at all restaurants. The pool bar was frequently out of ice as there is no ice machine located there. The pool bar also closed early (4pm), which was pretty annoying. The resort is VERY hilly, which is kind of a hassle. If you are at the bottom of the resort, you have to hike a giant steep hill to get to the restaurant or call for a (ghetto) van to get picked up.

Grounds:
One pool and jacuzzi was totally out of commission. Empty and filled with leaves. It was the one right by the main restaurant. The fitness room is complete junk, EVERYTHING is broken. There are great views from the restaurant deck, but unfortunately at night it was almost unbearable up there due to the amount of bugs.

Rooms:
Rooms are mediocre at best and beds are pretty terrible. They claim Wi-Fi in all rooms, which is not true. Some rooms were in range, we were not.

Overall, I didn't let all the shortcomings ruin my trip, but I definitely would NOT return nor recommend it to a friend. Absolutely not a good value at this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridebmx4130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garauz, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ocotal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2011

This hotel has one of the best views in all Papagayo Gulf hotels, the breakfast is included on the rate and it is a buffet with a large variety of food, our staff is friendly and helpful, this hotel offer different type of rooms beachfront and rooms with panoramic, practically 360º of Papagayo golf view, we offer shuttle services to the beach and to the up rooms all the day long. We have 11 pools, all of them in function, we dont have empty pools in our property. We havent received any complaint about our gym, we see people working out every day with entusiasm. Our standard rooms comes with 2 queen beds, air conditioning, cofee maker, safe, private bath with hot shower and a spectacular ocean view. This is the standard room that most of the hotels in the area offers. We have free internet access in all the hotel and rooms. This is a great hotel with breathtaking views and quality service with a extrordinary plus of having the luck of watching whales and dolphins jumping in the see through the balcony!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Great hotel if you want a great view. See the hotel's website and you will get a good idea of what I mean. Breakfast is served at the top of the "resort" and there you have a wonderful view of the beach. All of the rooms, as far as I could tell, are facing the beach, and they are all constructed on the side of a little mountain right on the Ocotal beach. Good place for diving. The hotel's restaurant is pretty good. This is not a bad choice if you want to explore Guanacaste, and other beaches and towns, provided you have your own car. We have stayed here on two separate occasions and enjoyed our stay each time. Nice beach, nice pool with swim-up bar, at the bottom of the hill (and right on the beach), and there was even a pretty nice pools and jacuzzi at the top of the resort near our room. Garrobos everywhere! Beautiful birds too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelandFoodGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

This hotel was the last one we stayed at after touring the country for 8 previous days. The hotel is run down and needs a lot of work. But the view is breathtaking. It is too bad that the hotel hasn't been taken care of. The block of rooms in the 400 section overlook the Pacific Ocean where you can view whales jumping in the water and beautiful sunsets. The food is overpriced, so we went to a restaurant next door to the hotel (Father Rooster), the food was better and reasonably priced.

We were asked for a deposit of $100 for a key to a security box that was located in our room. The $100 wouldn't be returned if the key was lost. When we went to the room, there was no lock on the security box, so we went back to the reception desk and asked for the $100 credit card slip when we gave them back the key. The receptionist insisted we keep the key and would get the $100 credit card slip back when the key was returned. Why keep a key for a security box that doesn't exit?? Eventually the key was returned and the credit card slip destroyed.

We were there for 2 nights and never saw a pool towel. There were two drinking glasses in the room that we used for wine on the first night. The glasses were not replaced with clean ones, but were rinsed out and put back for us to use. We knew that weren't replaced because the bottom of the glasses had residue on them from the wine we had in them from the previous night.

The hotel is located on a very steep hill, and they do provide transportation for the hotel guests to go around the property. We were at the entrance of the property around 10pm and called for the shuttle to pick us up, we were told the shuttle had taken someone to the airport, so we would have to walk up the hill to our room.

The one thing that bothered me the most, was the fact that you had to lock the door to the room with a key on the inside. If there ever was a fire, you would have to find the key to get out of the room. I did not like this at all.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pstreetdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews