We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous home, views, staff and food, would...”
Back of Villa with Infinity Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back of Villa with Infinity Pool
View of Gulf of Papagayo from Terrace Seating Area Front of Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
163 reviews
Back of Villa with Infinity Pool
View of Gulf of Papagayo from Terrace Seating Area
Front of Villa
Villa Pavillion looking back toward Villa
Villa Pavillion looking toward Gulf of Papagayo
Villa Pavillion looking from Villa
Infinity Pool at Night
Villa Lounging Area
Villa Dining on Outdoor Terrace Under Fans
Lower Level View of Pavillion
Lower Level Seating Area looking toward Front Door
Lower Level Seating Area looking toward Gulf of Papagayo
Villa Kitchen Area
Entertainment Area Upper Level
Entertainment Area Upper Level
Entertainment Area Upper Level
Reading Room Upper Level
Reading Chairs on Balcony
King Size Bedroom Upper Level
Queen Sized Bedroom Upper Level
Queen Sized Bedroom Upper Level
King Size Bedroom Lower Level
Queen Bedroom Lower Level
Bunk Room Sleeps 8
Example of In Suite Bathroom
Sample of tropical landscaping of Villa
Outdoor dining table set up
Lunch in Pavillion
Dinner on Terrace Overlooking Gulf of Papagayo
Cocktails at Villa
Group fun at Villa  (girls trip)
Infinity Pool with Gulf of Papagayo in background
Relaxing in Infinity Pool
Artistic Picture Paddleboarder in Infinity Pool overlooking Gulf of Papagayo
Massage on Balcony
Pedicure at Villa
Paddleboarding
Zip lining
Nearby Beach
Beach below Villa
Deep sea fishing (mahi mahi)
Deep Sea fishing  (sailfish)
Volcano mudbath
Hiking and waterfalls
Tubing in Volcano streams
Snorkeling
Rafting
Body boarding
Hiking and waterfalls
Horseback riding
Sailing
Entertainment at Villa
Whale in Gulf of Papagayo
Dolphins in GUlf of Papagayo
Monkey in Trees (Palo Verde Excursion)
Sea Turtles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Playa Ocotal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 163 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary Lee...
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“Fabulous home, views, staff and food, would definitely return.”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This home is an outstanding destination for families or a group of friends. It is easy to get to from the airport in Liberia, as transportation is provided and it is a short trip. Once you arrive, it is definitely five star treatment from beginning to end. Relax by to pool, walk or ride to the beach....Many options for a fun trip.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and staff
Liked least: Hard to say, all was wonderful
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom k
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
“The View, the Staff, the Villa... awesome!”
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The Villa is amazing; huge, very well provisioned and maintained, elegant but comfortable. The guest rooms were spacious and well appointed, the community rooms were perfect for socializing.

But we were there to be outside, and this villa doesn't miss a beat. The VIEW is spectacular! Walls open up to the infinity pool overlooking the bay. The outdoor bar, lounging and dining areas, balconies, all perfect. We were treated to all types of birds, iguanas, and monkeys almost within arm's reach.

The staff is friendly and always available. Mitch cared for us daily - handmade cocktails (ie: margaritas from fresh mango), gourmet snacks, advice on what to do, always with his winning smile! They took care of everything: rental car, tours, even massages on site. Chef Albert created sumptuous meals, served in the beautiful outdoors.

We left pampered, happy, and relaxed, and will definitely return to Villa Estrella!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view, the staff, the villa
Liked least: We had to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda K
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
“Extraordinary, luxury accommodations with a view & staff that will exceed your expecations”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Perfect daily attention from on-site staff (Diego, Mitch, Victor, Albert & Anna) and you have no worries! Dining at Villa Estrella was an exceptional experience with amazing views & high quality meals by Albert that gave the flavor of Costa Rica along with 5-star tastes & presentation. Afternoon cocktails poolside by Mitch, left us relaxed and entertained watching parrots, magpies & monkeys. This is a beautiful home and worthy of any discerning vacationer. We look forward to our next visit!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxation & stunning vista.
Liked least: Had to leave after only 7 days!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami T
Corolla, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and Relaxing”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is a beautiful home in the perfect setting to enjoy some relaxation! The food is AMAZING and the house staff really goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is the best! Our group enjoyed so many activities but also a lot of down time by the pool. We saw so much wild life right around the villa and the view is breathtaking! I’ve never been on a vacation that even came close to this one and we can’t wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the food, the house, the staff, the pool, massages, the river tour....
Liked least: Leaving at the end of the week
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruszNews
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Beyond your expectations”
Reviewed January 16, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

When you first walk through the front door of Villa Estrella the view is simply breath taking. You look through the great room, on through large open doors over the pool and onto the ocean waters. This view alone cannot fully be appreciated until you witness it first hand.

The Villa is not like others and frankly it provides you with so much you will find yourself not wanting to leave to go explore. The home is very modern and up to date offering a little something for everyone. Again the view overlooking the water is amazing. You will see not only the beautiful waters and islands below, but wildlife as well. From parrots to monkeys, it is a nature enthusiast dream. Bring your camera!

Honestly though what separates Villa Estrella from others is the level of service they provide. From the home's cleaning service, bartender and to a chef that puts the local restaurants to shame. Truthfully, there is no need to eat out, anywhere when the food is that good. They are some friendly and accommodating they make you feel welcome, like family and will teach you the meaning of Pura Vida

Everything is beyond your expectations and will make you never want to leave and want to plan a return trip.

As our friend said, " I knew it was going to great, but not like this"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and service.
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elham g
Anaheim, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Speechless!!!!”
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just Wow!!!! I Miss this home, the staff and everything about Costa Rica!!
The staff was amazing from the driver, to the chef to the bartender, I can go on for ever, and of course last but not least Diego is such a professional and awesome person. I fell in love with the house and staff. I will remember this trip forever and I hope to go back someday. I will let all my friends and family know. :))))

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved it all! That pool and view Just wow
Liked least: everything was perfect
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2015
Thanks and Pura Vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDLinRive...
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Putting a little 'Pura Vida' in our lives”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Without a doubt the best family trip we have taken. First and foremost, the staff at Villa Estrella is superb. They were extremely gracious and found ways to make our entire experience extra special. We particularly loved breakfast, where we would plan our day while listening to the birds and watching the sun over the Pacific. All of the food was of the highest caliber - honestly better than most restaurants. We caught some mahi-mahi and we've been dreaming of that dinner ever since. The presentation was outstanding. An excursion highlight was Rincon de la Vieja. We had thought not to go but were encouraged to visit. Am so glad we listening as it was a highlight of the trip. I would recommend for any active person. The Villa itself was perfectly suited for us with it's panoramic views, lush foliage and wildlife. In retrospect we wish we had spent a little more time there and a little less exploring. There is always next time!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unerring attention to detail - from the accommodations, to the service, to the excursions.
Liked least: The fact that we were there only a week - should have stayed through the weekend.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing