We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family vacation”
other travelers have booked this property
Best location on the beach - can't wait to get up in the morning to enjoy the view & atmosphere
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Best location on the beach - can't wait to get up in the morning to enjoy the view & atmosphere
24 steps to the Pacific Large patio with hand crafted Costa Rican wicker furniture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Best location on the beach - can't wait to get up in the morning to enjoy the view & atmosphere
24 steps to the Pacific
Large patio with hand crafted Costa Rican wicker furniture
Location, Location, Location - Privacy, Spacious, View, Closeness - 24 steps to the Pacific
An easy and private walk to the beach
It's all about sand castles on the beach
Spacious Patio with pagoda
The far coast is excllent for snorkeling
Open concept downstairs
Dining room and kitchen
Granite counter top
Our new kitchen
Custom made buffet
View from the Master bedroom balcony
Master Bedroom with King size Bed, 3 piece ensuite and a balcony over looking the Pacific
Master bedroom bathroom
Large guest room - queen size bed and a twin trundle - sleeps 4
Smaller guest room with a queen size bed
A picture is worth a thousand words - our sandy beach
Dancing to live music at our very own restaurant
Sunsetplaying on the beach
Waterfalls in Ricon de la Vieja - our favorite hike and waterfalls
Beach chairs are provided for your comfort
At the congo trail with Lola the howler monkey
The Johns family welcoming your family to Costa Rica
Our mermaid - silky sand to sculpture your favorite shape
Many of places to horseback riding for all ages -
Relax with a drink by the pool no matter the age
Low tide - our rock shows
Waterfalls at Ricon de la Vieja - hidden waterfalls
Every Thursday is live music with Alex (in the background)
Lola and the girls
Surfing at Tamarindo
Rafting on the Corobacci = a gentle rafting ride with sight of plenty of wild life
A Romantic moment
Our restaurant - Picante
Memories the kids will hold forever
Our infinity pool
Costa Rica - the land of the waterfalls
White face monkey close by
Family enjoying a day at the Safari Adventure day
Camel enjoying a carrot from our grand daughter
What beautiful zebras
Rio Perdido hot springs - one of our favorite locations to visit
Rio Perdido - can be enjoyed by all
Two level pool
Our pool
We love the seclusion from early morning to evening
Creating a whirlpool for the kids
Location, Location, Location
Father and Daughter doing their thing
Public waterfalls
Preparing for a surf
Synchronize jumping
Horseback riding in Costa Rica
A superb location for a couple or a family - relax and enjoy all the splendors
A full day of fun - catching small fish
Great fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Playa Ocotal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patty C
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
“Perfect family vacation”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I am writing this review at our last night in the villa (11), Villa Calla. Very, very nice! During our first night was a birthday party at Picante restaurant (separately owned from community), and it was very loud with fireworks, with our children trying to sleep. HOWEVER, I highly recommend this villa, and this community overall. Very friendly, and over-accommodating. Isabel in Recepcion arranged a special Iron Man birthday cake for one of my daughters, to be in Villa at arrival (since she did not have a cake at her birthday a couple weeks previous). So wonderful and more than I expected! Also, in the mornings, little parrots, howler monkeys, pelicans and snorkel/spear fisherman in the bay. Loved it! Villa was clean and everything we needed was here. Small lizards at night - fun to watch. Iguanas crossing the road in the daytime. Coati in the forest nearby, and howler monkeys in the morning. One with a little baby on its back. Also, Tiger heron and hermit crabs and other crabs to watch. So wonderful! Only drawback, we gringos got burned a bit on our 2nd day, so needed to cover up more than we would have liked. Also did snorkel tour (not recommended, due to not quite clear water) and Guachepelin adventure tour (very highly recommended!). So wonderful. Thank you to the owners for a very much anticipated, beautiful family vacation at your villa.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our views from the front patios and balconies on main and upstairs was breathtaking!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewed December 23, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Date of stay: December 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Quebec, Canada
Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: November 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pine Grove California
Reviewed December 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Date of stay: November 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canada
Reviewed October 25, 2013 for a stay in November 2011

Date of stay: November 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Travelsfo...
Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pure paradise!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of five (three children ages 6, 3, and 1) and my parents stayed in Villa 10 (next to the pool) at Bahia Pez Vela from December 17th through the 24th, 2011. The home is in a wonderful location, just steps to the restaurant, pool and the beach, and Bahia Pez Vela is a short 15 minute drive to the main street of Playa del Coco. The beach at Bahia Pez Vela was a fantastic spot for my young children to play, build sandcastles, find crabs in the rocks and even see a nesting sea turtle! The ocean was warm and my children enjoyed playing in it. The pool was nice break from the beach and it was wonderful to be able to sit and get food and drinks pool side while the kids swam.

The really wonderful thing about Bahia Pez Vela was the manager, Alyson, and the service we received while there. Alyson arranged for a cook to come to the Villa to make breakfast and dinner each day. She went through the menus with me and made wonderful suggestions as to local dishes. Gisele arrived and made us breakfast each day and also came to make us dinner a few times. We loved her handmade corn tortillas, traditional Costa Rican beans and rice, omeletts and fresh fruit. Indeed, my children continue to talk about how much they loved the food. Those nights that we did not have Gisele in to cook for us, we ordered in from the restaurant. The food from the restaurant was very good. The staff would bring in the food and set up the table in actual china and pick up the dishes the next morning. The heart of palm salad was fantastic.

During our stay, we rented a 7 passenger SUV and ventured into town and the local beach (Playa del Coco) a couple of times with the kids, went to Tamerindo--wonderful beach!---, and did a zip line and the hot springs at the Ricon del la Vieja volcano--fun! We also went on a tour, that was arranged by Alyson's concierge (forget his name), in a private van, that took us to the Tempisque river--where we saw crocodiles, white faced monkeys, huge iguanas, and many varieties of birds. My son was proud to show the youtube video of the tour to his kindergarten class on his return! My husband and I were able to take a snorkeling cruise one day at the last minute with help from the concierge, which left out of Playa del Coco. The crew was very accommodating and took us on a tour of the coast and then to a remote beach to snorkel and explore, with the end cap being a remarkable ocean view of sunset.

The only issue we had was with the resort's internet/wireless while we were there so that we essentially could not connect while sitting in the Villa so that we had to go up to the office to use the internet. This was probably a blessing since we were essentially disconnected from the "real world" during our stay.

All in all, we had a wonderful time and hope to go back to stay at Villa 10 again soon!

Date of stay: December 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the food!
Liked least: Wireless internet was out while we were there.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Reviewed July 19, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Date of stay: July 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing