We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Competa
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
125
117
27
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
125
117
27
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family run hotel pool area bacon and eggs walking group booked this hotel lovely hotel great fun plenty of sunbeds superior room central hotel private car park staff were fantastic traditional spanish hotel ensuite bathroom tea bags hotel staff hotel residents
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 287 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2019 via mobile

This is a great little hotel. Staff could not do enough, food really good and bar man great fun. Drinks generous and location spot on.Parking available although can be a little bit hazardous trying to drive around the streets of Competa.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Viki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2019

Booked for 3 days ,upgraded room for 10 euro a night extra ,room was excellent nice balcony with lovely views .Room was large & comfortable with coffee Tea making facilities ,bathroom was also large ,which included bath & separate shower .Breakfast was basic buffet ,but good .Staff were very friendly ,pool area was good but slightly worn ,probably due too a busy season which was now coming too an end .Worth a stay .

Room tip: Room 202 excellent
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019 via mobile

This was a little gem. We wanted a hotel with a pool flying from a local airport. We flew out not Malaga and took a Taxi to Cómpeta. Cómpeta is in the andelucian hills about 45 mins outside Malaga. The hotel was clean. The staff were fantastic. It is a small village and the hotel only has 34 rooms. We stayed in one of the bungalows in the grounds. Most of the other guests were there to walk in the hills. It was off season. They cleaned to pool of autumn debris every morning. The pool side bar was closed, but drinks were available in the bar upstairs. We had no trouble finding sun loungers. They supplied a towel for the pool side. This hotel is not for the disabled, though there is a lift. When the restaurant was open, the food was excellent, but as it was off season, it wasn’t open every day. I can’t emphasise enough how friendly and helpful all of the staff were.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank VivekB815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2019

Lovely bungalow right by the beach at Rincon. We had a very enjoyable 2 week stay. Close to the centre of Rincon, opposite the supermarket, not far from the tunnels to walk into La Cala. Ideal. Also had a nice patio area for sunbathing and sitting outside. We will be back.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

My husband and I have stayed at the Balcon de Competa on a number of occasions and will continue to do so in future.
From the moment we arrived at the hotel we felt a special, welcome to the family.
Maria, Luis, their family and all of the staff go above and beyond to make our holiday in Competa special.
The rooms are kept beautifully clean by the maids. The beds are comfortable and the air conditioning is very welcome after a day at the pool.
Many times I sit around the pool or go for swim on my own and always feel very safe at the hotel.
The pool cafe bar is a most welcome addition offering light snacks, drinks and ice-creams.
Thank you all at the Balcon for a most enjoyable stay here in Competa. We can’t wait to see you all again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nettonettynoonoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_balcon, Director Comercial at Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

We appreciate your loyalty and hope you enjoyed a pleasant stay in Competa. Thanks also for the mention of our services and facilities but especially to our staff that every day strives to improve the experience of our customers.

It has been a pleasure to contribute to a happy holiday and we hope to do it again on your next visit to this beautiful place of the Malaga Axarquia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews