We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Competa
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed for four nights with my wife. We had a very nice room and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was quite good while dinner more average - there are better meals to be had in other near by restaurants. Prices were very reasonable. Competa itself is a very nice place to visit with lots of possibilities for hiking in the hills above. But beware of the roads. They are narrow, curvy and steep. Not very suitable for driving for the fainthearted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jofj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    89
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
41
93
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located has fabulous views of the lovely village of competa rolling hillside and you can see the sea on a clear day too. The pool area non residents are welcome to stay for a small fee which is great idea, if you are staying locally in the town houses, or apartments. Peep and his daughter Maria are fabulous hosts and can not do enough for you, so even if you don't stay here do visit. Excellent menu and service. Peep is also a local taxi driver number 4 in competa great for taking to and from the airport too, highly recommended in all aspects, we have been back 4 times as a couple and a family and each time all is perfecto!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 706christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

A beautiful setting in the most beautiful mountain town of Competa. Fabulous terrace. Very large bedroom with fantastic mountain and sea views. A typical Spanish hotel,but very comfortable with everything I needed provided. Pepe the owner is charming. The two receptionists extremely pleasant and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed three nights in the Balcon and our only regret was that we had to leave. We would definitely return and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in one of the self-catering bungalows (although breakfast in the main hotel building was included). Overall we had a great time both at the hotel and in Competa. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful, the place was always extremely clean and the bungalow offered everything we needed. We used the tennis courts and the hotel kindly lent us racquets and balls without charge. The views are fantastic and Competa is a really nice place to stay in. My only minor gripe would be that the wi-fi connection in the bungalow was extremely slow and unstable, and the TV was very small - but then again Competa is a place you'd come to in order to escape from technology and make the most of the natural beauty on offer !.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pavel-34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester uk
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Having eaten at this restaurant twice before a couple of years ago we made a special journey up into the lovely village of Competa. The hotel has a lovely sunny terrace with beautiful views over to the coast in the distance, however being January this was not open. The menu del dia was not available so we chose chicken curry and spicy pork from the main menu around 8-9 euro. What a disappointment, the quality of the meal was very poor and the pork had to be sent back as it was luke warm(a bit worrying). Also 50c each for a bit of dry bread with nothing to put on it was bit of a cheek as other restaurants give various very tasty nibbles 'on the house'. A real let down after the lovely meals that we had on the previous occasions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

As part of the Rambler's Christmas group we had a great stay. The proprietor was always full of joviality and his staff were friendly and helpful. Good sized bedrooms. Wide corridors and open staircase. Fantastic view from the bedroom balcony with sunsets to die for. The food from the menu was lovely (try the scrambled eggs with prawns and asparagus) and the set menu was good value. Spotlessly clean and just the right mix of locals and holiday makers. A proper Spanish 3 star hotel.

I have marked down the room ratiing because the towels were ineffective. I have the feeling that they were quick drying. I have marked down the sleep quality because the single bed was uncomfortable but the double bed was comfortable.

The family owners were so friendly that it wouldn't matter if you were visiting with friends or solo. I wish I was there now. Fantastic weather - cold at night with clear, warm skies during the day.

Room Tip: Ensure that you room does not face the road. (I think that there are 4 of these in the hotel.) Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Balcon de Competa enjoys a fabulous location with stunning views from rooms and terrace in the pretty village of Competa. We had a great Christmas and New Year's break there with a group of Ramblers. The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating and friendly; really going out of their way to give us a great holiday. Our room was spacious with good hanging space and a full bathroom. The views from our private balcony were simply amazing. The standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel was exceptional. If you enjoy walking this is a great centre as a base for your holiday.

Room Tip: Try room 206 for its views although all south facing rooms enjoy that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomric122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Competa
5.4 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 6 in Torrox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
7.6 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Los Caracoles
Hotel Los Caracoles
#1 of 4 in Frigiliana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Vista
La Vista
#2 of 11 in Competa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Andalucia
Villa Andalucia
#1 of 3 in Competa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows

Property: Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
Address: Calle San Antonio 75, 29754 Competa, Spain (Formerly Balcon de Competa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Competa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Competa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a lovely 3 stars Hotel and 1 key Bungalows, typically Spanish family-run hotel with swimming pool. There is a choice of:Double or single rooms, with or without balconies and bungalows allowing self catering. Enjoying views of the mountains and all the way to the Mediteranean Sea. The rooms are spacious, yet cosy; it’s décor typically Spanish in taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Expedia, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Hotel Competa
Balcon De Competa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing