We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A second visit. Well worth five stars”
other travelers have booked this property
Casa Verde, Competa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Verde, Competa
Roof terrace 1 Roof terrace 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Casa Verde, Competa
Roof terrace 1
Roof terrace 1
Roof terrace 1
Roof terrace 1
Steps to roof terrace 2
Roof terrace 2
View from roof terrace
Living / Dining room
Bedroom 1 - double
Bedroom 1 - double
Bedroom 3 - double
Bedroom 3 - double
Bathroom 2 - en suite to bedroom 3
Competa, Andalucia
Street outside Casa Verde
Street outside Casa Verde
Competa, Andalucia
Competa - main square
Competa - main square
Nearby hotel swimming pool. Open seasonally.
Nearby hotel swimming pool. Open seasonally.
Mountain views - short hike from the house
Mountain views - short hike from the house
Mountain views - short hike from the house
Mountain views - short hike from the house
Mountain views - short hike from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Competa, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Karl F
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A second visit. Well worth five stars”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at Casa Verde and, once again, I really must enthuse about it. Not only the house, which is so comfortable and spacious (and has BBC TV for those who can't get away from Eastenders!), but about Competa itself. The house is literally two minutes away from a convenience store that sells practically everything, including beer, wines and spirits. And it is just a five minute walk away from the Plaza Almijara (the village square) where there is a bank with ATM and a host of good class restaurants. Competa is a starting point for wonderful walks and hikes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! We are so happy that you decided to stay with us again and had a nice time at Casa Verde!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagelste...
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming house in a perfect location”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I had a great stay in Competa. The house is charming and had everything we needed. We loved the two roof terraces - perfect for morning coffee and drinks in the evening with views of the village and mountains. The house is a short walk from the main square, shops and restaurants. We spent our time hiking and exploring the area as well as relaxing in the various bars and restaurants and soaking up the atmosphere. A small, but well stocked, grocery shop / bakery is just up the road - convenient for morning croissants. The owner of Casa Verde was very helpful in providing all the information we needed and ensuring we had a pleasant stay. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2017
Thank you so much for your review and for choosing Casa Verde!
Yes, the roof terraces are great and we love the convenient location too.
We're looking forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuckibum
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location for Competa”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a good 7 day holiday, family of 6 adults. The views from the sun terraces are great of the mountain village & down to the coast. Amenities in the house are adequate, although short of larger glasses so I bought some & left them there for other visitors. I would say that casa Verde is suitable for adults, the staircases are extremely steep and there are lots of them! 2 of us were badly bruised through slipping on the very steep steps where there are no safety handrails - my daughter from top floor bathroom to bedroom, and myself on steps into downstairs bedroom. Also mind your head using the door to the downstairs bedroom, numerous bumps on our bonces! There is no Aircon and temperatures were soaring when we stayed for Noche del vino week mid August, very hot through the days and nights. Also be aware that to get to the 3rd bedroom it is through the 2nd. Therefore the 2nd has no privacy=no door. All said - good time in a lovely place with some very good restaurants and a divine little shop just up the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2017
Thank you for your stay at Casa Verde and your feedback. We're glad you liked the house and location.

In response to a number of comments:

Re staircases:
This is a typical, charming, traditional village house in a hill town. It is clear from the photos and description of the house that it has several floors, including two roof terraces and therefore has stairs. We would not describe the stairs as 'extremely steep' - they are typical stairs for a house in Competa and similar hill villages. We have had a wide range of guests from many countries and of all ages stay at Casa Verde over many years and have never had any issues or concerns raised regarding the stairs. We stayed at the house many times with our children from when they were very young and our elderly parents spend a number of enjoyable weeks a year there too without any problems.
We have, however, never advertised the house as being suitable for elderly or disabled people as we do recognize that any stairs could present issues for these groups.

Re air conditioning:
The house does not have air conditioning (it is also not described as having air conditioning). It does, however, have fans to keep the rooms cool. Again, this is typical for a traditional house in the area. When it's hot outside, the locals tend to close the window shutters and switch on the fans if needed. We have always found that this keeps the house cool.

Regarding access to the 3rd bedroom:
It is clearly stated in the property description on Tripadvisor that access to the 3rd (twin) bedroom is via the double bedroom on the first floor.
We find that the twin bedroom is often used as a children's bedroom by our guests. Parents travelling with younger children like the fact that the twin bedroom is directly accessible from the upstairs double bedroom and that the children are nearby.

We have received only positive reviews from our guests over the years, reflecting Casa Verde's charm, amenities, location and the excellent level of customer service we pride ourselves in providing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaVerde...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in a great location - perfect stay”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family had an excellent time in Competa at Casa Verde. The house is charming and well appointed. The roof terraces are perfect for relaxing. And the house is a short walk from the village centre, shops and restaurants. We loved it and are are planning on coming again. Thank you to Iris for making the process so smooth and for all of your help and advice!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran O
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful town house tucked away close to the main square”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is my second visit to Casa Verde and I hope to stay there again next year. The house is well equipped, the new bathroom downstairs is a luxury. The views from the roof terrace are spectacular. The house is a few minutes walk to the main square and restaurants in a very pretty street.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
150olivep...
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful white village in the mountains. The house had everything we needed and nice and close to the main plaza. The whole area is beautiful we are buying a property in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Stairs
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing