We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A LOVELY LOCATION”
other travelers have booked this property
Ahhh - Bliss another sweet morning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ahhh - Bliss another sweet morning
Happy walkers at Casa Tranquila - ahh let's not bother with the beach today! Living Room view from the patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Ahhh - Bliss another sweet morning
Happy walkers at Casa Tranquila - ahh let's not bother with the beach today!
Living Room view from the patio
Al Fresco Breakfast
Our neighbourly shepherd bring his goats and sheep back at dusk
Sunset over Monte Alegre - Our Mountain
Sweet Peas in Spring
Kitchen
Living Room view from the Kitchen
A Breath of Spring
Our Valley View
Double Bedroom a calm sanctuary
Bathroom with power shower over full sized bath tub
Los Caracoles Restaurant on the back road from Torrox Pueblo to Frigliana
Twin Bedroom at twighlight
Twin Bedroom
Double Bedroom Dresser
Surfs Up At The Paper Mill (Papel Molino) Beach East Of Maro
Competa from Oscars Osteria
Comares - The Olive Oil Mill - El Molino restaurant & bar, at this village, is a treasure
Casas de Pueblo Blanco
Lets play at Acebuchal - the lost village
Pedal Powered Roundabout The Kids said YIPEE! at Torrox Pueblo Plaza Medieval Fair in September
Velez Malaga Church The Ermita de los Remedio a Stunning view of Peasant Life Frescos at their best
Our Shady Almond Tree - a good place sit in it's shade and look towards Competa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Competa, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
STEVE S
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A LOVELY LOCATION”
Reviewed September 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A very nice place to stay and despite the excitement for my passengers of the car journey on the track well worth the effort getting down to the villa. We were lucky that a good length of concrete (not the flatest mind) had just been put down. Everything you needed was there at the Villa and you could not ask for a better location either. Ideal for couples, with family or friends. Not too far from anywhere and a great location to chill out in. Had a couple of barbies and some nice meals in and out. Pool was clean and equipment on hand should you need to dig out the odd bug that decided to have a swim! 4 adults had plenty of room and would happily advise GO THERE!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Only one loo
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2016
Thank you, Steve, for your kind words about oue villa and we look forward to seeing you again.

Jane and Vas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsgrea...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lives up to its name”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely 2 week stay during August. (family of 4 with 2 daughters aged 13 & 11).
We arrived after midnight on a Saturday night and were met by Jenny and shown to the villa. Jenny was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. When we awoke the next morning with day light we were able to appreciate the stunning setting. From the villa there are lovely views across the valley which is planted largely with Mangos & advocado bushes. From the pool side I was able to do some bird watching and saw a good variety of birds including hoopoe, turtle dove, blue rock thrush, a flock of bee eaters, and some very big birds of prey flying very high and will remain unidentified.
The location of the villa suited us well as it was quiet but still only about a 20 minute drive to the coast and to the lovely town Competa.
Vas and Jane provided lots of helpful information and were very quick to come back to us with any query and nothing was too much trouble for their caretakers Jenny & Carl.
We would all recommend this villa and would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace & quiet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2016
Thank you Ben for your kind words and for painting such a lovely picture of the bird life that you discovered during a season when we thought that the birds kept a low profile. In the autumn, winter and spring months there are even greater opportunities to see wild life and exotic fauna and to take in the beauty of our region at an unhurried pace.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxanacol...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in this lovely villa for 2 weeks in July. The villa was fabulous and the setting very peaceful. The mountain views were amazing. A perfect spot if you just want peace and quiet. The drive down the track to the villa was a bit of a challenge, but I did get used it by the end of the holiday!! It didn't detract from the enjoyment of staying there. Competa and Torrox Costa were within easy reach - lots of restaurants to enjoy.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2016
Thank you Roxana!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonandj...
Stockton on Tees
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“fantastic location, relaxation and recuperation!”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My wife, three boys and myself have just returned from a scorching week at this villa and ABSOLUTLEY loved it. We were prepared for the narrow, winding road to the villa referred to in other reviews ( we hired a juke) and were absolutely gob smacked by the stunning ,serene setting once we arrived (led by Carl from the 'meet and greet' location).

You feel like you have reached the end of the earth and there isn't another soul around. Straight away, the boys hit the lovely pool to cool off and splash around with the lilos (provided). Me and the wife went to Torrox to stock up from a nearby Aldi.(20 minutes).

The first night we had a lovely BBQ by the pool and soaked in the atmosphere. We then alternated our days between trips out ( Competa, Torrox, beach) and kicking back by the pool(which looks great when lit up at night) with a few mellow tunes through the Bluetooth stereo to drink sangria and eat fine Spanish food to!

Competa and Torrox are about a 20 minute drive in each direction and thoroughly recommend checking them both out. We loved 'El Pilon' in Competa.

If you really want to 'get away from everyone' and have a little privacy and quality time with your nearest and dearest, there can't be many places better suited than this villa.

Just make sure your Mrs isn't a nervous passenger on winding mountain roads!

A big thank you to Vas and Jane for providing plenty of useful information and for Carl on showing us the 'rocky road' to tranquillity!

Would love to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No internet access...three mifi did not pick up data signal at villa
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2016
WOW - THANK YOU FOR LEAVING SUCH A STUNNING REVIEW!!! And boy, does that phrase - "Rocky road to tranquility" sound like a perfect new soundtrack for a budding band (we wish we could strum some notes together and put it out on Youtube), Vas and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy T
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Truly Fantastic”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

If you're reading this currently sat on the fence about where to book your next holiday, then trust me when I say: 'LOOK NO FURTHER! Your search for the perfect holiday is over!'.

Seriously though my partner and I had the BEST time. The villa was jawdroppingly fab, we were totally blown away when we arrived. The owners Vas & Jane sent us loads of helpful info about the villa and surrounding areas before we arrived. Jenny - the caretaker - met us at the meeting point, a short drive from Torrox beach-town. From here she guided us down the track to the villa. It's a little bumpy in places but we'd hired a Jimny which was perfect (we used Marbenjo car hire as recommended by the owners and it was cheap and very quick and easy service, lovely staff too!). Along the track you go past some other villas and Casa Tranquila is at the end of the track as far as we could tell (during our week there we saw 1 car go past!) The villa is incredibly homely - without it feeling like you're in someone's home - and the views are simply stunning, the pictures really don't do it justice. There's lots to do in the area (we went to Competa, Frigliana and Sierra Nevada) and we also really really enjoyed super lazy days at the villa. The caretakers own a nearby bar if you need their help at all, but apart from that we only saw them one other time when they came to clean the pool. There's a villa behind and to the side of Casa Tranquila but you wouldn't know it - no noise and you're not overlooked at all.

So in short - it's an amazing villa you'll feel instantly at home in, with breathtaking views you can stare at all week long, it's remote and if you don't want to you could go all week without seeing a soul, but there's also lots of lovely things to do in the surrounding areas.

There was some digging going on in the hill behind the villa, but the noise wasn't bad as they took fairly long siestas! And we think they had finished the job before the end of our holiday. Apart from that the only other noises you'll hear are the goats being herded about by the farmer and the occasional dog bark - they seemed as crazy about the beautiful sunsets as we were! and the crickets too :)

100% we will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2016
Thank you, Maddy, for your lovely review. It makes all the efforts that we and our caretakers put in so worthwhile. See you soon, Jane and Vas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acjc2015
Dorset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely secluded villa with a great pool and view.”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is lovely and comfortable. Grreat position ovelooking the valley, we enjoyed seeing the goats come home every evening.Take the advice of the owner for a great relaxing stay. The surrounding countryside was very interesting. If you prefer quiter beachs worth a 30 minute drive sown the coast for some lovely coves with great sunbeds.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen19...
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic Location Wonderfull villa”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I had a wonderful 2 weeks stay at the villa It was lovely and the outside space and pool and weather were fantastic .The views of the surrounding countryside and mountains were stunning .If you want to unwind totally with all of the above this is the place The only thing that needs amending is the outside lighting ,but that does not detract how lovely this villa is. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chill out factor
Liked least: Outside Lighting
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Thanks for your great review Stephen! We've had the outside lighting upgraded, particularly at the parking area to the rear of the house, so that it automatically switches on as you arrive at the villa and more powerful lights have been fitted at the front, that you can turn on manually if you want light up the pool terrace.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing