We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Extremely peaceful”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Abajo

casa Abajo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
casa Abajo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
casa Abajo
Swimming pool with sea view
kitchen
living room
bedroom
bathroom
view
view behind the house
swimming pool with views down to the coast (9x4M)
Competa
Competa
goats on the road to Competa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Competa, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Maddie C
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely peaceful”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My partner, my dad and I stayed at the villa for 10 days and it was so peaceful and we had amazing views!
The pictures of the villa do not do it justice; it is bigger than it looks and the whole area is stunning.
The service we received was excellent; Simone (the owner) met us quite late at night and we followed her in our car to the villa. You would not be able to find your way there without her help.
When we got there she showed us around and gave us all the information we needed.
The villa has everything you could need, more towels than you could use and even comes with all condiments.
The location of the villa is quite difficult to get to as all the roads leading to it look the same. I would advise taking note of how you got there and back as my partner and I spent a long time on our first day there trying to find our way after we had ventured out. Once you've done the journey a couple of times it's much easier!
Getting to Competa was relativily easy; from Malaga airport it took us just over an hour or so and the motorways are excellent!
Once you come off the motorway you take a very long, winding road all the way to Competa. This road follows the mountains and is at parts narrow and rather high! But compared to the roads once you've reached Competa, is like a dream!
The actual driveway to the villa is very very steep, so if you're renting a car (a must) make sure it can do steep hills. Again, going up and down it will be nothing after doing it a couple of times.
The villa is about 10 minutes drive to the main town and has everything you need for your stay. It has a few small supermarkets, restaurants, tobacconists, gift shops, pharmacies etc. If you want a bigger supermarket then there's plenty of them by the coast in Torre Del a Mar (If that's how it's spelt) and that's only a 40 minute drive. The drive would be shorter if the roads weren't so bendy!
There is a cat that gets fed and watered at the property (you are supplied with food for it) and he is a really friendly cat that spends all of his time out and about.

Overall we had a wonderful time, very peaceful and felt fully realxed when we got home.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl20101...
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delighted.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

First, thanks to Simone for a wonderful villa. It was our first time outside of a city in Spain and a wonderful introduction. We had no preconceptions apart from the assumption that Malaga would be awash with British teenagers. This in itself was wrong, the historic centre of Malaga is easily as charming as Nice and considerably friendlier. Casa Abajo is around ten minutes drive from Competa, which in turn is a little over an hour from Malaga. The motorways in the area are excellent, the other roads - well, the roads are fine but there are a lot of mountains in the way! Just get used to third gear! The villa is on two levels separated by a curving drive, the lower area being the house, the upper being the pool and pool-house. Casa Abajo is in excellent condition and the pool is one of the best we've had. Bear in mind it doesn't have a shallow end - probably not for kids unless they're very good swimmers. Both the house and the pool have spectacular views over the valley to the mountains and the Mediterranean beyond. It's the kind of scenery you can sit and watch for hours at a time. The covered terrace is a perfect dining area and well protected from the mid-day sun. If you want to scorch - and we did! - then the area around the pool is also great for meals. It would be fairly mean-spirited to try to find fault with Casa Abajo, so I won't. I would however have to point out from a practical perspective that the drive is quite steep (my reaction when I first saw it was 'you cannot be serious!' but inside a day or so it seemed quite natural. I did carry the rubbish up the drive from the house to the road every Tuesday and Friday. It certainly felt like exercise...!). A car is therefore necessary and it's worth bearing in mind that this is a fairly mountainous region (we saw a golden eagle circling over the pool!) so set your expectations accordingly. Those small caveats to one side this was one of the best holidays we've had in a number of years, we were enchanted with Spain and the region as a whole. We thoroughly recommend Casa Abajo.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and the villa
Liked least: Maybe taking the car up the drive, but it's characteristic of the area.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisS186...
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely beautiful !!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is a really lovely house in a superb position. The views all the way down to the coast are stunning and the pool is outstanding. We especially enjoyed barbequing up by the pool in the lovely warm evenings . . . A feeling of being off the beaten track, without being remote. Enjoys a high level of privacy. Definitely to be reccommended !!! . . Thanks again Simone.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and pool area
Liked least: Loved everything !!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2014
Hi Chris and Jude.

Thank you for this review
I am very happy you had a great vacation.
Was nice meeting you

Hope to see you back

Thanks Simone
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike F
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casa Abajo, Top Draw!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you’re looking for a quiet and relaxing, well presented villa, not too far away from the coast in a beautiful location, then look no further than Casa Abajo.

Simone & Rob, the owners, are lovely and couldn’t have been more helpful, accommodating or friendly. Meeting us in Cómpeta and escorting us to the villa on arrival (I’m glad we didn’t try to find it on our own, it’s tucked away up a snaking mountain road), it’s just over an hour’s drive from Malaga airport.

The Villa is set high up in the hills with absolutely stunning views overlooking the valley down to the sea. It’s just a ten minute drive from Cómpeta (although ‘Maximo’ a very friendly and reasonably priced Taxi driver can be easily arranged if you fancy a night appreciating the local vino or enjoying some Ponche Caballero… Hic-cup!). Equipped with everything you need inside; including beach towels and Wi-Fi. Outside is also very well maintained, a shaded veranda with great views allows you to enjoy lazy dinner’s al-fresco in the evenings. And Pinot the beautiful cat made the villa seem really homely.

The pool area set on a tier above the villa is absolutely delightful, again with stunning views of the valley down to the sea. It’s also fully equipped with everything you would need for a day chillaxing (sun beds, fridge, stove, shower, toilet and a large shaded area).

The village of Cómpeta itself is lovely and, for the moment at least, still remains traditional in its style (the absence of Tourist Bars serving ‘English Breakfast’ is refreshing). There are numerous small supermarkets, a Tabac, Tourist information centre, market on Saturdays, some good cheap bars and some excellent restaurants all within the village. What more could you need? OK if you do, Nerja is about an hour’s drive away (with larger supermarkets etc.). Use the A7207 instead of the MA-104 to get to the coast though; this road is in a far better condition and easier to drive (even with 100+ mountain bends!).

We would highly recommend the Playa Cañuelo beach, just an hour’s drive away (then park up and take the bus down for 2Euros each). There’s exceptional snorkelling for the younger ones, with an abundance of fish to see just three metres out. Our 9 year old absolutely loved it, numerous times! (although the restaurant on the beach is nothing special and priced for tourists!).

We visited in August 2013 for 14 days. 3 adults and 1 Child (and a Spanish friend joined us for a few nights) and it was priced very competitively. We would definitely return!

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well Equiped, Clean and Great Location!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yvan R
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing