We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant little place”

La Taberna de Oscar
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Competa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Opposite the church.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Brilliant little place”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed taking my family to Oscar. The host himself is lively and bubbly, speaks english which is incredibly helpful, and tells you whats really good on the menu. We weren't once left dithering to our own devices, my mum even got walk up to the toilet because she couldn't understand the directions.
Very happy and cheerful place, great atmosphere and great food to boot!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlydm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    101
    27
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great host, great food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just perfect, host exactly right combination of friendly but not in your face. Food well cooked and well presented at reasonable prices. Nice to be just off the main square so not so busy/noisy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, good quality & value”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just off main Plaza, Oscars is a great place to eat, whether outside on the front terrace, inside on colder days or up on the roof terrace (if the sun is not too hot!) - we have been coming here since Oscar first took over and the quality and selection of has never failed to impress us, my wife particularly likes the variety and quality of the vegetarian dishes, ( as many other restaurants can only offer Tortilla), I can recommend the Moroccan Lamb and also the Chorizo in brandy. Oscar is great host who works very hard to ensure his customers have a good experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“fantastic”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Was very lucky to find this lovely restaurant, had a lovely meal here on our last night in Competa, nothing was too much trouble.
The host was lovely and so helpfull, the food was excellent,we had the morrocan lamb, and our 2 kids had the baby squid without the chilli.
Looking forward to a return trip so we can eat here again

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank middlewoodbatchfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful. Very impressed.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a late and leisurely lunch at Oscar's last week and was very impressed. The service was considerate, helpful and knowledgeable. The food was excellent, prepared with care and flair, both the seafood and meat dishes, and very good value also. We would (and have) recommended this place to others, and will certainly return when we can.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaspode74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taberna de Oscar also viewed

Competa, Costa del Sol
Competa, Costa del Sol
 
Competa, Costa del Sol
 
Competa, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Taberna de Oscar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing