We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellect Food/atmosphere.”
Review of El Pilon

El Pilon
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Competa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are located in an old carpenters workshop, built into the rocks over 200 years ago. We prepare all food freshly and to order so if you are in for fast food, El Pilon will not suit your needs. We source as much of our food locally when possible. El Pilon is a relaxed kind of place where you can enjoy the views, a bottle of wine, and conversations with friends and family. We also have Wi Fi. If our service and food does not satisfy you please advise rus and we will always do our best to rectify any problem immediately.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had been recommended El Pilon by friends of ours and we ventured in one night for a drink. I was with my Husband, Daughter and her boyfriend. We checked out the menu as alot of the restaurants tend to do "chips & " but we wanted somthing more substantial. On viewing the menu we made a reservation for last Friday night. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly especially Danny. Would definately recommend El Pilon for the atmosphere, foods and variety of coctails. Owner's Ray and Tom are very also very hospitable and made our visit very memorable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TommyLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Many thanks for your generous comments, Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 640 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2014

I visited El Pilon on the strength of the reviews here on the first week my partner and I arrived in Competa. I found it very easy to make a reservation via email and when we arrived was pleasantly surprised to have a table waiting for us on the small terrace outside the upstairs restaurant, with a beautiful view.
The wine, service and food were fantastic from start to finish, we recommend the prawns pil pil, smoked fish pate and the fillet steak which was cooked on the BBQ. The restaurant's attention to detail is what makes it so special, the pre dinner olives, crostini and pate are delightful, as were the staff when accommodating my slightly fussy main course order. Tom and Ray the owners were absolutely lovely, and gave us lots of local information and recommendations while we ended the evening with coffee and a few more delicious drinks. Subsequently we were back the following week enjoying another wonderful meal and sampling some of Tom's cocktails. El Pilon will definitely be a firm favourite while we are in Competa!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leonie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Muchas Gracias, Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We have been coming to El Pilon for nine years and this used to rank as the best restaurant in Competa. We dined on Tuesday night both opting for the sea bream with chorizo. We know the food is cooked to order so we are always prepared to wait, lingering over some delightful olives and a bottle of wine. The dish arrived looking tantalisingly delicious but alas the fish was off! both of them! This was taken away and a fresh dish of sea bream prepared. Unfortunately this was delivered undercooked. Disappointed we decided at 22:00 it was too late to try again and despite the apologies from the waiter we decided to depart. El Pilon would not accept payment from us but we insisted we pay for the wine as we had consumed it and it was excellent.

We have subsequently found out that Christian no longer has an interest in El Pilon and has left. In my opinion our experience would not have happened under chef Christian"s management of the kitchen.

We will be back to try the food again, when we return in October. Maybe the new chef just needs to "settle in" and El Pilon's reputation will be restored.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Many thanks for highlighting this problem in such a kind manner. Can assure you this has nothing to do with Christian. Quality control problem with a supplier, dealt with today! Hope we can give you an excellent experience in October. Regards, Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The food was really good, the views are fantastic and the staff very friendly.
Crema Catalana with Baileys was really good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

You were Wow customers, see you in July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner on Sat night. Very busy (need to book) with a live singer who was really excellent.

Very happy with food which was well cooked and presented. The only negative point was the wine list which I thought was a bit limited. Otherwise would defo recommend.

1  Thank markytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pilon also viewed

 
Competa, Costa del Sol
 
Competa, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Pilon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing