We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistent good standard”
Review of El Pilon

El Pilon
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Competa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are located in an old carpenters workshop, built into the rocks over 200 years ago. We prepare all food freshly and to order so if you are in for fast food, El Pilon will not suit your needs. We source as much of our food locally when possible. El Pilon is a relaxed kind of place where you can enjoy the views, a bottle of wine, and conversations with friends and family. We also have Wi Fi. If our service and food does not satisfy you please advise rus and we will always do our best to rectify any problem immediately.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have visited this restauraunt a number of times over the years and it has always made a good impression.
This occassion was the same, four of us visiting without booking for an early evening meal. We were immediately offered a good window table with a good view without prompting. Although slightly cramped it was a very good ambience as other diners quickly filled the room.
The menu was fairly large and varied with choice for veggies (one of our party was). A good selection at wines was also available.
Everything was priced very reasonable and we left feeling we had had quality,healthy food at very good value and service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LancashireIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Many thanks for your kind remarks and glad the veggie options were good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for El Pilon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 329 of 621 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We like the food here but the main menu we have found ,to be a little limiting when you have been here a few times.The food is of a good standard and the ambiance is lovely

Thank 5,151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback. We try and refresh the menu every 4 months but I will certainly pass your views on to the chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely night. The only slight negatives would be, the pil pil didn't have much flavour, and desserts were nice but not as good as starters and mains. However, everything else we had was excellent. Special mentions to the Thai fish, pâté and steak was in a exceptional sauce. Lovely atmosphere and very good service. Suggest you to call and book a table. English speakers answer, so no problem booking if your spainsh is a bit rubbish! Def recommend this resturant for a good night out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Twinks263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thanks for your kind feedback, Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Dined here twice in our week in Competa. Food is excellent. On our first visit we had not made a reservation but the owner managed to fit us in. Reservations are essential. If you get a table in the window, you are treated to a panoramic view across the village.

Thank 537MarkJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Warm welcome and helpful, unhurried service throughout. Food is sort of Spanish/English fusion, could be a gastropub but atmosphere and setting far too good for that. And the toilets are an experience...

Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pilon also viewed

 
Competa, Costa del Sol
Competa, Costa del Sol
 
Competa, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Pilon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing