We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't want to miss El Pilon!”
Review of El Pilon

El Pilon
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Competa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are located in an old carpenters workshop, built into the rocks over 200 years ago. We prepare all food freshly and to order so if you are in for fast food, El Pilon will not suit your needs. We source as much of our food locally when possible. El Pilon is a relaxed kind of place where you can enjoy the views, a bottle of wine, and conversations with friends and family. We also have Wi Fi. If our service and food does not satisfy you please advise rus and we will always do our best to rectify any problem immediately.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent two weeks travelling thru Andalusia (Seville, Marbella, Malaga, Granada, Ronda) visiting many restaurants with top recommendations on Trip Advisor. Bar none, El Pilon was our absolute best dining experience on every level: food, atmosphere and I agree with others the warmth of the staff and most of all Tom. We felt like Tom invited us into his home as long lost friends who he wanted to ensure had the best evening if their lives! And, did I mention the food was out of this world?! Seriously, you don't want to miss this restaurant - we ate at the other top rated restaurants in Competa and they were superb but El Pilon is the BEST!! Mil gracias Tom. Tim and Mary Helen

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mhcervantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Tom has asked me to convey many thanks for your great company and such generous feedback, kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 355 of 635 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I visited El Pilon twice during our week stay in Competa.

We were lucky enough to get a table on the upstairs terrace both times, so were able to enjoy the lovely view with our meal each time. The food was great - the gambas pil pil (prawns in olive oil with lots of garlic and paprika) and the dorada (gilt-head bream) stood out for me. Also enjoyed some local white wine (Jarel). I don't normally do desserts, but was very pleased that this time I decided to go the chocolate fondant - delicous !

The service was friendly and attentive, and I thought the meal was very reasonably priced, both times.

We went there for a quiet meal for two, and El Pilon delivered that perfectly, but in the downstairs bar there was more of a party atmosphere, with cocktails and shots, music and even some dancing going on as we left...

As I said in the title of this review, it's a great place - well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ABurt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Glad to see you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

As a Competa resident it is a pleasure and a treat to visit this restaurant. We are always greated with warmth and smiles from Tom, Ray and Christian. From the selection of wines to the delicious menu and the breathtaking views this restaurant is second to none. From the moment you arrive these owners and their staff work hard to ensure that your visit is a pleasurable one. The menu varied and ever evolving, the Caesar Salad is one of the best I've ever had and the meat is always top quality and cooked to perfection. Without any shaddow of a doubt we will, of course, be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We came as a group of 5 on our holiday, and as we loved it so much we chose to return for our last night.

It was a good touch meeting Ray as we entered the restaurant, the main course was very tasty, but the meal that really stuck in our minds (out of the 14 restaurants we'd been to that holiday) was the prawns pil pil, so if you eat here, try that!

Many restaurants offer that dish, but this one stood above the rest by being 'thicker', it had a lot less oil and had the perfect amount of spice.
The cocktails were also really nice!

How do you cook it? We'd love to make it at home!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 150Matthew150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Great to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

See my review of Oscar's. like many of the restaurants in Competa, el Pilon has had it's ups and downs but it is now back to its best. Extensive menu, excellent cooking, good staff and a beautiful terrace with panoramic views of the surrounding campo.

Thank Roz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pilon also viewed

 
Competa, Costa del Sol
Competa, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Pilon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing