We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice setting, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Pilon

El Pilon
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Competa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are located in an old carpenters workshop, built into the rocks over 200 years ago. We prepare all food freshly and to order so if you are in for fast food, El Pilon will not suit your needs. We source as much of our food locally when possible. El Pilon is a relaxed kind of place where you can enjoy the views, a bottle of wine, and conversations with friends and family. We also have Wi Fi. If our service and food does not satisfy you please advise rus and we will always do our best to rectify any problem immediately.
england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice setting, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Traditional Andalusian restaurant, nice views from the (new) roof terrace, quality of food and service is good, cosy log fire inside for the colder winter evenings

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ajet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    117
    30
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
“Authentic rustic tavern // Autentica taberna rustica del pueblo español”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife, my mother-in-law, and I made a day trip to the mountains of Competa to have lunch and take a stroll through the village. We asked a local resident on the street for a good place to eat and she directed us to El Pilon. We walked up the steps to the entrance and noticed a group of six foreigners standing in the doorway. I was initially concerned that it would be a typical restaurant for tourists. But once we went inside, we saw that this little tavern had great personality and nice views of the village rooftops and mountains. So we decided to stay and try their 3 course menu of the day special they offer on Sundays. We ordered three different appetizers, three different main courses, and three different desserts in order to sample as much as possible between the three of us. The food was marvelous. It’s basically traditional Spanish food from this region of Malaga but some of the dishes have an international touch. I imagine this serves mainly to broaden the horizons slightly and attract a diverse clientele. For three daily menus and two beverages per person we paid 50 EUR. For the pleasing environment, the attentive and kind service, the tasty and healthy food, 50 EUR is quite acceptable for three people. We asked our waiter if we could have the opportunity to give our compliments to the owner. Ray stopped by our table and chatted with us for a while. He is an excellent host and is also involved in the local performing arts community. If some day we are willing to brave the numerous curves on the mountain highway toward Competa we at least know that once we arrive we will be able to have yet another memorable lunch en El Pilon. It will definitely tempt you to return.

Thank you, Ray!

Mi esposa, mi suegra, y yo hicimos un viaje de día a los montes de Cómpeta para comer y dar un paseo por el pueblo. Preguntamos a un residente desconocido por la calle por un sitio bueno para comer y nos dirigió a El Pilón. Nos acercamos a la puerta donde había un grupo de seis clientes extranjeros esperando y me preocupaba que iba a ser un tipico restaurante turistico. Pero al entrar, vimos que el sitio tiene mucha personalidad y buenas vistas del pueblo y los montes, asi que decidimos quedarnos y probar su menú del día especial de los domingos. Pedimos tres entrantes, tres platos principales, y tres postres diferentes para variar y probar todo lo posible entre los tres. Toda la comida fue maravillosa. Es basicamente española tradicional de esta zona de Málaga y algunos platos tienen un toque internacional para variar y atraer una clientela diversa, me imagino. Para tres menús del día y dos bebidas cada uno, recibimos una cuenta de 50 EUR. Para el ambiente agradable, el servicio atento y amable, y la comida sabrosa y sana, 50 EUR es muy aceptable para tres personas. Preguntamos a nuestro camarero si podría dar nuestros cumplidos al propietario, un hombre muy hospitalario y además está involucrado en la comunidad de baile y música del pueblo. Si algún día estamos dispuestos a volver a travesar las curvas numerosas de la carretera hacia Cómpeta, sabemos que al llegar podremos comer en condiciones en el restaurante de El Pilón. Es un buen motivo para volver.

Gracias, Ray!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HenryBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Many thanks, it was a pleasure to meet you, Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competa, Spain
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Party Evening with wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

El Pilon continues to be one of our favourite restaurants in Competa and I recently wrote a review.
However, we have been to El Pilon three times recently as part of Party Groups and each occasion has been excellent, so much so that I wanted to write another review.
Last night, we were guests of a wedding anniversary party, so once again we were seated in the Blue Room, such a superb venue for a private party. We were a party of over 30 people and the main restuarant was full too, so it was busy with a wonderful atmosphere. The service was wonderful and the food outstanding. I admit that we had all pre-ordered our food but anything to help the great staff on such a busy evening. My starter of Garlic Mushrooms followed by my absolute favourite "Salmon Victoria" were amazing. Goodness knows how I managed to eat a dessert as well?
Thanks to Ray, Danny and the team.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindyjones19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A memorable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were welcomed by Ray and Tom the proprioters, and offered cocktails whilst we scanned the compact but interesting menu. As usual restaurants state they use the finest local products, the starters of prawns and pate proved the point!!. The main course of fillet steak cooked on a charcoal fire and sauces have muscled their way into our top five steaks of our travels around the world!!! The shared pudding was decandent and delicious at the same time. The evening was complete with Jonny, a local guitarist entertaining the compact and grateful audience with an acoustic set which enhanced but did not overpower the the delightful atmosphere. 5 star service and wine created a memorable evening. A return is inevitable!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scampi30_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback and glad you enjoyed Jonny, Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“El pilon Competa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

having dined in Elpilon since Christian and Marie-lou opened it, I have experienced highs and lows (mostly high) went for Sunday lunch 9/12 and as usual the service and attention from Lolly was magnificent, glad you got her Christian. The beef was cooked to perfection and accompnyaning veg and yorkie great, it was very busy, we booked for 2 o clock and ate at 2 o clock, after lunch we retired to the terrace as the day was lovely, my only criticism, I had to go down to the bar and order a GT (life is so hard) keep it up boys

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Owner at El Pilon, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thanks guys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pilon also viewed

Competa, Costa del Sol
Competa, Costa del Sol
 
Competa, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Pilon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing