We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tour groups deserve better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the above hotel as part of a group. Although our room was fairly large and clean, it was very basic. It also looked straight onto an unfinished building with workmen starting their days' work at 7a.m. I do appreciate this cannot be helped, but it did not add to the overall disappointing stay.
The food was quite awful. For a start, it always arrived at the table cold and I do mean cold. Breakfast was very basic, even by Continental standards. There were numerous cakes on offer alas, this did not make up for the overall low quality.
Most of all, (I go along with other reports) the waiters could do with more training, namely that even a slight smile will go a long way to make guests feel appreciated!
I think tour groups seem to be the main income of the majority of hotels and really do deserve better service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gemtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
There are newer reviews for Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 554 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is geared to tour groups. Restaurant was good for this type of hotel. Rooms needed maintenance. Bar was very limited in both availability of drinks and hours. Pool area was nice. Parking was available. Staff was very helpful. One server went out of his way to obtain something we had requested.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodandlynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a good 4* hotel. The rooms are big and spacious. Everything is very clean and looking good. The staff is friendly.
The swimming pool area is very nice, with a pretty view over the sea.
When we stayed there the hotel had free WiFi.
Breakfast is reasonable (but not excellent if you are expecting an european 4* hotel breakfast).
Good value for money. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I booked this hotel because it was very close to Agrigento and just in front of the sicilian coast. Complete and rich breakfast. Very good value for money. I will definitely repeat if I will be around Sicily.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gian792013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is fine, functional and clean. Staff efficient and helpful. Pool area is nice but no access direct to the beach from the Hotel. Best rooms on top floor with balcony - request sea view too.
Breakfasts really geared up for tour groups and consisting of mainly cakes, pastries etc. Based on breakfast, we did not try the dinners there.
Only worth staying here a couple of days to see the Temples which were amazing - Agrigento city dirty and poor. The area outside the Hotel not particularly nice (not unsafe), just not appealing. We had booked to stay for 7 nights, but cut short the stay because the area was not nice, and to travel anywhere took many hours as the roads were poor and busy.

Room Tip: Best rooms on top floor - ask for balcony and front sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juwit57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The room was clean, spacious, comfortable and air-conditioned, and the other facilities in the hotel were also very good, as was its location. The big problem was noise: loud music from a wedding reception in the hotel began between about 10.30pm and 11pm and this could be heard throughout, making it impossible for me to get to sleep. I phoned reception, and was told that it would stop at midnight. At 12.30am, it was still at full blast, so I got dressed and went down to complain, finding another couple already there to do the same. The receptionist was indifferent, then rude and aggressive when I became more assertive, but he did follow me back to my room in a more placatory mood with some useless suggestions about how to ameliorate the noise. When checking out, I was asked if everything was OK, and when I mentioned the music, the member of staff looked a bit sheepish, as though this was a familiar complaint. Unless you can sleep regardless of very loud music booming throughout a hotel, or don't mind staying up till the early hours, don't stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank murphsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

If rated with a check-list I'm sure this is a 4 star hotel but not if you actually stay there. The rooms are well enough appointed and clean but the walls as so thin you can hear every word said in the rooms on either side! The public areas are well appointed and comfortable but the bar seems to close when the barman feels like it, we returned to the hotel planning to have a nightcap at 10.40 only to find the bar closed and the barman sitting behind the reception desk waiting for his shift to end.
Breakfast was OK but the same food for the two weeks of our stay and every day the adventure of tracking down missing cutlery, cups, saucers. Food was only replaced / refilled when guests pointed out the shortages, it never seemed to be anyone's job to check for shortages.
Clearly there is a massive need for staff training.
One of the reasons we chose this hotel was that it was a Best Western - we've stayed in a few before and always been satisfied with them - this one's a turkey.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Leone
2.6 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
3.0 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Blu Hotel Kaos
Blu Hotel Kaos
#9 of 23 in Agrigento
1,071 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Torri
Hotel Tre Torri
#12 of 23 in Agrigento
339 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel della Valle
Hotel della Valle
#10 of 23 in Agrigento
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel

Address: Lungomare Falcone E Borsellino 1, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento > San Leone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Price Range: $97 - $931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels San Leone
Nh Hotel San Leone
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel Province Of Agrigento/San Leone, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing