We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish of all kinds in a casual setting”
Review of Trattoria Caico

Trattoria Caico
Ranked #5 of 36 Restaurants in San Leone
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed May 7, 2017

Our group of 12 was served a sumptuous antipasto course including fish arancini, tiny fried squid, spadola with wild fennel cream, tuna caponata, and pulpo, followed by seafood couscous, an enormous fresh snapper, displayed whole and then carved for the group, lemon sorbet (traditional after fish, apparently), and a selection of excellent desserts. The key here was simplicity and abbondanza; the result was a memorable feast. (P.S. They had no problem catering for my vegetarian wife and a lactose-intolerant friend.)

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank wws68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2017

This is quite simply the best fish restaurant We've ever been to. Everything is homemade and there is endless choice of the highest quality fish dishes (they serve meat too but we didn't order any) fish filled ravioli was absolutely delicious closely followed by the prawn risotto, clam pasta and the grilled calamari. The restaurant was heaving with large groups of people; family gatherings and what looked like work diner out. It was very elegant and looked very upmarket but we were glad to find that the prices were very reasonable for the quality. It also had an enormous wine selection which lined the walls.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Ayan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017

We enjoyed dinner as part of a group of 28 people. The menu was pre-selected and ordered, but the food and service was excellent. The first course was a mixed antipasto plate consisting of smoked swordfish smoke tuna, fish ragout, and an eggplant dish--all of which were tasty. Primi 1 was a shrimp risotto that I could have kept eating all night if I could. Primi 2 was a ravioli that was typically found in Sicily. The Main course was a stuffed swordfish that even to a person who doesn't care for swordfish all that much was still quite good. And dessert was a fabulous Tira Misu. The wine and service were excellent. If this restaurant can be this good for a pre-ordered group meal, it must be out of this world for a cooked-to-order meal. If we had been in Agrigento for a second night, I would have returned to this restaurant to order off the menu.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank 298DickZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017

Located close to the promenade of San Leone, Caico is the top choice to enjoy great fresh fish food in an elegant location.

First, they serve several both meat and fish. I didn't try the meat but I would say their speciality is fish of course. Lot of dishes in the menu and some dishes of the day give the opportunity to find what you're looking for: grilled, cooked in the owen and carpaccios at your choice.

I simply loved their pasta with the red prawn from Mazara, sweet and sour perfectly balanced. Paranza (mixed deep fried fish) was great too. Good choice of sicilian wine.

The owner and all the staff, kind and friendly, make Caico a top choice in San Leone. 8.5/10.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank enzomacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile

Just a great place to eat with the local and experience fantastic pasta and seafood. Terrific octopus. Amazing pasta with sea urchin. Great sea bass. Great service and very affordable. One of our best meals in Italy. Don't miss this place.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank 973claytonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Caico also viewed

San Leone, Agrigento
 
San Leone, Agrigento
San Leone, Agrigento
 
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 

Been to Trattoria Caico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing