We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really lovely run B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sabbia d'Oro Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 25 San Leone B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2010

This little gem is run by a very nice couple and the rooms are so cute, the bathrooms so clean, and the breakfast delightful. Right in the heart of downtown San Leone, and close to a lot of restaurants, outdoor cafes and the sea. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2010

The location nearby beach, Argigento and its Temple-valley is excellent. The road in front off the accomodation is like a dragstrip full of loud music-playing cars and nervous motorcycles.
The beach-view is a bit overrated and the beach itself is spiffy.
The room is clean and evrythings is working, the free WiFi is added value.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeEst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Pros: Simple, and half the price of the hotels; but it was clean, had a good bed, a simple breakfast and we could see and hear the ocean, across the street, from our second-story room and veranda. Staff very helpful when my wife was ill and we asked for tea and extra blanket.
Cons: No service, staff on site; minimum extras [soap, shampoo, etc]. Noisy from street.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyMtnBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Small room, average continental breakfast but poor espresso, poor reading light, tiny TV, no safe, and the town is good only because of its location. What it comes down to is that here you get only what you paid for. But if you select it anyway, eat at Trattoria Caico down the street. It's excellent. So is Spizzulio up the hill in the piazza above the museo.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerri66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We chose to say in San Leone to have a chance for going to the beach while visiting the temples in Agrigento. Unfortunately it was windly and cool by the sea. We stayed for one night and loved the room. It was very clean, beautifully decorated, and had a nice bathroom. The size of the room was small but for one night and $65 euros, it was perfect. We understand San leone is a resort town but it was like a very small town by the beach. The B&B was almost too nice to be in San Leone. The breakfast room was tiny and breakfast was simple. Coffee, breads and yogurt. Staff was nice but not very friendly. They were more on the serious side. Our stay was too short for this to matter. We left after breakfast and headed to Piazza Armerina for Villa Romana del Casale and Caltagirone for Scala di Santa Maria del Monte.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

Very nice place , we( My wife and me ) had no problem at all .
We were there for a couple of nights begin of october.
I suggest to stay here as base to visit Agrigento and the Valle dei Templi.
A room front the sea and sunny days.
An easy large parking very close .
A good restaurant " Caico " far few meters.
I suggest this B&B and I'll return here if again in Sicily .
Only one concern is about the breakfast , it could be better with a small effort , but this had no influence in my overall satisfaction.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We selected Sabbia d'Oro because we wanted to be next to the sea, but near Agrigento. After visiting Silenunte, we drove on to San Leone, the "Lido of Agrigento", a seaside town with a long esplanade, palm trees, lots of parking, restaurants and bars. It's quiet in October but a lovely time to be there. Sabbia d'Oro is perfectly positioned, opposite the sandy beach, with light, airy rooms. Our room was beautifully furnished, with a splendid bathroom. Breakfast was simple and our host carried our table outside into the garden so that we could enjoy the morning. The bus stop for Agrigento and the temples is just around the corner and stops right outside the temples - preferable to driving. The journey takes about 15 minutes. Sabbia d'Oro is an excellent place to return to after a day at the temples or the Mediaeval centre of Agrigento, the owners are incredibly kind, polite and generous. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Conyngham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Leone hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
1.9 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
0.8 mi away
B&B Villa Olimpo le Torri
B&B Villa Olimpo le Torri
#5 of 25 in San Leone
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Le Dune
Bed & Breakfast Le Dune
#17 of 25 in San Leone
77 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Leone
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pomelia – Casa Vacanze
La Pomelia – Casa Vacanze
#15 of 25 in San Leone
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabbia d'Oro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabbia d'Oro Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Nettuno 19, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento > San Leone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in San Leone
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sabbia d'Oro Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabbia D'Oro Bed & Breakfast Province Of Agrigento/San Leone, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing