We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALL AROUND EXCELLENT LOGIS”
Review of Logis Le Gavrinis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Logis Le Gavrinis
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baden
chicago
Level Contributor
803 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“ALL AROUND EXCELLENT LOGIS”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Modern, clean rooms- a top notch breakfast and michelin bib gourmand restaurant combined to make this an A-1 stop on our recent Brittany vacation.

the location is not especially bucolic but you are well located for all local sightseeing.

wine list pricing is gentle and matches the food well.would return again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    48
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
8
81
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had 3 nights here in a superior room which was of ample size - the comfortable bed could take 3 easily, 4 at a pinch! The facilities in the room were very good.
The situation was excellent, away from the coast but near to places of interest - Cairn de Gavrinis, Isle aux moines were easy to get to, a few minutes drive to the ferry(5 mins crossing), Vannes and Quiberon were within a c30 minutes drive.
The food was very good and had a strong local following. However the menu du Terroir was limited in choice for a longer stay and there were supplements, for example a cheese course, and for oysters(well worth it).

Room Tip: Superior room was worth the extra for an extended stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dav88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Genis des Fontaines, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This popular bourgeois relais convenient to the Cairn of Gavrinis, Vannes, the Golf of Morbihan, Locmariaquer, and Carnac is just a pleasure.

The Lignières work hard to produce a lovely experience for all and they succeed handsomely. Two gracious professionals who surely belong in their chosen occupation. I have not met nicer in all my travels in France.

The carefully designed rooms all contain king size beds with good mattresses. Our modest room was neither spacious nor petite, but there was enough room to get around.

No one thing here may knock your socks off (but a few dishes might), but when you leave, you’ll be glad you decided to stay there. It’s all first-rate and it fits together, esp the Oriental touches here and there.

The tasty modern cuisine is carefully prepared and beautifully presented. Serge Lignières who surely conceived most of the signature dishes is a real pro in the dining room. He knows his wines too. I received two fine recommendations that I never would never have considered.

And you can’t beat the half-board price. A real bargain!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collioure1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Came here as a result of a friend's recommendation.
The staff are friendly and helpful. They can speak English, but French is preferred, of course, and the overwhelming majority of the clinentelle is French.
Good Points- Evening meal is amazing. Even on "demi-pension" it is a gastronomic delight. Decor is modern and interesting, with use of driftwood. Our room had a fridge and tea/coffee-making facillities. Bliss for us Brits on hols! Free internet but via ethernet cable.
Oddities; well, it is in a strange place. A bit isolated, but good for getting around the fascinating area that is the Golfe of Morbihan. (You do need a car really.)
Despite satellite TV, no English language channel- or any other- just French ones.
Don't know if it was just our room, but only one socket we could use- behind the TV, and one in the bathroom. (One sometimes needs two or more for charging phones etc.)
Small balcony with a view of, er... the local garage and a hedge, so not conducive to spending time there! Also, only separated from next balcony by a air-conditionnning unit. Wierd!
Actually, there is a terrace and garden area where one can sit.
Main negative thing is the very limited old-fashioned French hotel breakfast. Totally unlike what one finds in the more Nordic countries now. So, bascially, a couple of cereals, some pastries and croissants, bread, jams, and some Parma ham- that's it! I noted one French couple brought their own "Laughing Cow" cheese to breakfast! This, was, in fact, the most negative feature of the hotel, for me. On balance I couldn't feel I could give more than four stars and if half-stars were allowed, I'd actualy have suggested 3.5.

On balance, do I regret going there? No. Would I go again if in that area- probably not, though my wife said she definitely would.

Room Tip: I think they are all similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CW_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Whilst the location of the hotel itself is nothing to write home about, it is conveniently placed to explore the lovely coastal area as well as the interersting old town of Vannes.

We had a superior room which was a good size, light & with modern decor. (It also had a tiny balcony but I can't imagine anyone ever used it as it faced on to a side road which was quite busy @ times.)

The public rooms (dining room & lounge/bar) are pleasant & the owner is welcoming.

By far the best thing about this hotel is the evening meal; if you are going to stay here, then eat here! Superb food - some of the best we have eaten - combined with excellent service.

It is a shame that there are no gardens to sit in - it was hot when we stayed & it would have been nice to site out in a garden on our return from the day's explorations, or to sip our pre-dinner drink.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in a pleasant and generous sized room, bigger than average bed, everything clean and well-presented. Decor was very clean and fresh (but was that really wood-chip wallpaper?) Demi-pension at 159 euros per night for a couple is good value because the restaurant is really excellent. Service was friendly and helpful.
In the restaurant, demi pension offered a 27 euro Menu de Terroir and the menu and the cooking were excellent and inventive - for example, starters included a mille feuille of sardines (layers of filo pastry with sardines) and petit paté de andouille (actually a large rustic sausage in a pastry case - wicked in every way). Mains included cabillaud on polenta - my heart sank when I saw the word polenta but it was flavoured with lemon and spices and was the best polenta I can remember. Excellent sorbets. Wines by the glass were chosen by the maître d'hôtel to suit the food and were good.
On our second night the proprietor proposed for our demi-pension some entirely different choices not on the menu, a thoughtful touch. Again the food was excellent. This was really excellent all round, friendly, helpful and considerate service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Although disappointingly not overlooking the Gulf of Morbihan this hotel does much to capture the maritime theme with the cool neutrals, greys and bare wood of its tasteful decor Our room was quite large, comfortable and well-equipped..
The staff are friendly and interested in their work and the patron, who looks like a benign dentist in his grey tunic, is formal but very helpful. The food in the large, well-patronised restaurant was delicious, with an expected emphasis on fish and shellfish.Presentation was artistic and thoughtful and both meals we had there were outstandingly good. We did not have lobster, but those around us who did were cossetted through the experience with large bibs and regular removal of shell debris!
It's near Auray and not far from Vannes; a good base for touring this beautiful part of Brittany.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baden
0.0 mi away
Le Toul'broch
Le Toul'broch
#2 of 2 in Baden
32 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Le Branhoc Logis Brit Hotel
5.0 mi away
Best Western Auray Le Loch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Les Venetes
Les Venetes
#2 of 2 in Arradon
221 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Parc er Greo
Le Parc er Greo
#1 of 2 in Arradon
90 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Alicia
Hotel Alicia
#1 of 2 in Bono
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Le Gavrinis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Le Gavrinis

Property: Logis Le Gavrinis
Address: 1 rue de l Ile Gavrinis, 56870 Baden, France
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Baden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis Le Gavrinis 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and natural decor where wood serves as the leitmotif throughout: driftwood, rough timber and light-coloured furniture combine to bring a real sense of holidays to the Gavrinis. The seaside feel is further enhanced here and there by small touches: pebbles, blue monochrome, hessian, raffia, rope..., creating contemporary yet cosy corners: a lounge and reading-room that extend to the bar, a spacious and light dining-room and uncluttered bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Logis Le Gavrinis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Gavrinis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing