We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location perfect for the kids”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penmarch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yelloh Village La Plage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 10 nights en if aug booked through Brittany ferries and was v reasonable, our 3 bed chalet was ready early and was in a brilliant position close to beach and away from bar and entertainment just as we requested as we had heard the music was loud and went on till midnight which it did.
The pool area and play areas were good our kids had a fantastic time making friends and riding thier bikes around the site which is very safe for them, the entertainment was ok mainly aimed at the French.
The onsite takeaway and restaurant were very good a little expensive as was the bar but the food was good and the bar very nice and new.

Our only bad experience was my husbands mountain bike was stolen on the last night which was very suspicious as they obviously knew when we were going home and the campsite security man was very dodgy looking and rode around on a bike and had every time he went past out chalet always had a really good look down the side at the bike.. The reception were really not bothered and just gave us a map to find the police station, I asked if it happened a lot and she just shrugged her shoulders!
Also there was a lot of people with dogs which is fine except the path to the beach was covered in dog dirt which is disgusting.

We had a brilliant holiday and we will definatly return to this campsite and would reccomend to anyone with kids as its brilliant for them.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trezise1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh F, Responsable commercial at Yelloh Village La Plage, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

We apologize for the inconvenience and are doing our best to improve the safety of the campsite. We are satisfied that you have spent pleasant holidays. Thank you for your appreciation and we hope to see you soon in our campsite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 190 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our first visit to France with our 9 and 5 year olds and we couldn't have had a better time. Despite earmarking a few day trips we didn't get there as the kids were so engaged on the site.
The staff were excellent with good working English and a great attitude. The facilities were superb and having read some of the reviews on here, I can only assume they've been updated as a response to them as I never found them wanting. An excellent mix of nationalities and organised fun if you wanted it but no pressure to get involved - the Olympics were a hoot!
My only criticism would be dog fouling on the football pitch which needs sorting but that's more down to negligent dog owners than the site itself.
The cabins are bijou but clean and functional. We didn't want to leave. 'nuff said...
.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank UKTig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh F, Director of Sales at Yelloh Village La Plage, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Thanks a lot for your opinion. We're glad you & your family enjoyed your stay. We'll welcome you again with great pleasure on site :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent 2 weeks in a mobile home in July. Great clean home, well equipped including a dishwasher. The staff were friendly and helpful, the reception had lots information of local events and places to visit. Our home was ready early on the day if arrival and we were able to stay until late lunchtime on our day of departure as our daughter was poorly. The pool complex was clean and ideal for our children aged 9 and 11. Even on the sunniest and hottest days whilst busy it wasn't cramped, they could perhaps have a few more sun loungers but there was the usual inconsiderate leaving of towels on loungers when obviously no longer at the pool. We didn't use the bar more than twice so I can't comment, it was a little noisy on alternate nights but that was the positioning of our home and had we not booked last minute we may have had a choice of a home further away from the bar area. The direct access to a sandy beach was fantastic with great cycle paths running along side the beach for miles and miles.
I'd recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh F, Responsable commercial at Yelloh Village La Plage, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Arrived on 1st of July having made a booking for two pitches for a caravan and tent having previously checked that the caravan club had confirmed the need for two pitches situated next to each other. Surprise surprise! The receptionist claimed to know nothing of the emails that had been sent. She then did us a 'favour' to get two pitches that were side by side. Half way through our two week holiday we discovered that there were many better pitches at the back of the complex well away from the noisy bar/disco that often went on till midnight. Make sure you look around the pitches before you take the first one you are offered. The pitches around us got filled up with weekender's out for a drunken and very noisy weekend partying till 4 in the morning. No sign of site security enforcing the no noise after 10 pm rule. The pools were nice except the ground around them was very sharp to walk on, especially as you could not wear flip flops. Not the quiet relaxing holiday we hoped for! The beach was lovely and guilvinec was very nice.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Kevin000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Disappointed with level of service at campsite on a number of levels:
Restaurant served the same food as takeout - pizza, frites, kebabs and burgers
Toilets were leaking
Of 7 toilets available one had a seat missing
Of 7 showers 2 could not be used as no shower heads
Ceiling in shower and toilet block leaked
Paper Towel was not replenished for the whole of the second week
Electrical plugs in shower block didn't work
Walking back from the bar to pitch/caravan on the allocated paths was scary as no lights apart from caravans. This could be a serious security risk especially as this is a family site
Lifeguard was rude and aggressive, I understand that rules are required but there is no need to be as aggressive towards children - he made the atmosphere at the pool uncomfortable for all
Staff in bar struggled to understand basic English even though badge states that they can speak English
Only one item - x trainer worked in gym all other equipment broken
Even though entertainment was advertised it didn't happen e.g. children's disco
Rotten decking at front of caravan which was then repaired with less rotten decking
Having stayed on numerous campsites in France I was disappointed with the attitude of the staff and the campsite as a whole. the campsite felt very tired and while I understand it was towards the end of the season in certain aspects they would have been like this throughout the season.
I would never come back to the campsite or recommend it to anyone. It has actually put me off going to any Yelloh sites in future

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mogwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at this site from 21st - 28th July, the best week of the year weatherwise.

Our chalet was literally 3 mins walk from a wonderful beach with white sand and clear water, and despite being the start of the holiday season it wasn't crowded.

The chalet was adequate for the 3 of us but we wouldn't have fancied anymore people in it. Here are tips to be aware of -
1) Take plenty of games in case of bad weather - there's no tv in the chalet and the internet connection in the bar is as slow as dial up.
2) There's no toaster, grill or oven only a hob. There is a kettle and coffee machine.
3) Don't bother with hiring linen, we used an empty duvet cover and blanket (provided) if it got chilly. Our fitted bottem sheet didn't fit the bed though as it must have been a king size mattress. We were glad we took our own pillows as the ones provided were square like cushions and were totally flat!
4) No mirror in the bedroom only in the bathroom, I found that a bit of a pain.
5) Don't bother paying the 65euro cleaning fee, we took some cleaning wipes to clean the toilet and shower plus sinks, apart from that you only had to mop the floor. They provided a sachet of cleaning fluid for this.
6) Toilet roll was provided.
7) Not all chalets had bbqs outside (ours did) don't leave your charcoal or firelighters underneath it though as ours got stolen!
8) Be prepared for the noise in the evenings - the entertainment was mainly outside and the music often didn't stop until 11.30pm
9) The site is really not geared for Brits, we were in the minority, so the evening entertainment etc is all in french, even our welcome tour around the site was totally in French. We just drifted off and left them to it!
10) We ate in the site cafe the first night, it was fine - shame they'd run out of mussels as they did look good.
11) The waterslide and outside pool was great and never got overcrowded.
12) We did have a problem with no hot water but this was soon rectified after an hour or so.
13) Bike hire - well ok if you don't mind a painful butt, we had to abandon our ride after a couple of hours as we were in too much pain - the saddles were lethal!

Having said all that it is a great site - single kids may get bored especially if they don't speak French or find it difficult to mix with others. We just spent the week by the pool and the beach in the afternoon, we did walk into Le Guilvinec a couple of times as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Camped here as a family of five in August 2012.

Staff were very helpful and friendly at arrival. Nice grassy pitch with plenty of shade. Neighbours were French and English.

The best thing about this site is its location. It is a stone's throw from an absolutely beautiful beach - there is a direct path from the site. The water is clean and the sand is white, and it's not crowded.

It's also 10 minutes by car from Le Guilvinec, a fishing port with great restaurants and markets.

The pool complex is good and although there were a lot of people, it wasn't too crowded.

The sanitary blocks are probably a bit small for the number of people, and although they are cleaned a few times a day, they can get a bit grubby. That would be the only downside to this site.

The bar is busy at night, with entertainment that can get a bit noisy. Not a problem for us as our kids enjoyed it.

Good onsite shop and restaurant/snack bar.

Overall, it's a good site and we all enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank snooger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmarch
18.6 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
18.4 mi away
Le Goyen
Le Goyen
#1 of 5 in Audierne
247 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel de la Pointe de Mousterlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Yelloh Village Port de Plaisance
Yelloh Village Port de Plaisance
#1 of 1 in Clohars-Fouesnant
387 reviews
1.2 mi away
Camping des Genets
Camping des Genets
#2 of 6 in Penmarch
55 reviews
24.4 mi away
Siblu Villages - Domaine de Kerlann
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelloh Village La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelloh Village La Plage

Address: Chemin Des Allemands 241 Hent Maner Ar Ster, 29760, Penmarch, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Penmarch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Penmarch
Price Range: $44 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yelloh Village La Plage 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Also Known As:
Yelloh Village La Plage France/Penmarch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing