We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
121
24
9
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
121
24
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coaching inn wroxeter roman city taster menu country pub lovely selection little extra touches sunday lunch appointed rooms plenty of choice for breakfast evening meal visiting shropshire received a warm welcome an overnight stay an excellent meal national trust room was spotless spent one night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 154 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2019

Just spent one night at The Haughmond - we had a slight issue when we checked in due to a booking site, but the owner was incredibly helpful and resolved the issue super quickly. It's in a pretty and quiet location, just a few minutes drive from the National Trust Attingham Park (which is well worth a visit). It was pretty simple to drive into Shrewsbury too.

It's easy to find and there's oodles of parking. The staff are friendly and the rooms are well proportioned, clean and super comfortable. We had a 3 course dinner in the restaurant, which was one of the best vegetarian meals I've ever eaten (no boring old risotto or goats cheese on their menu)! And a very generous and tasty breakfast in the morning.

A real find - we'll definitely be back.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vickersonabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2019 via mobile

Will review the restaurant separately but We stayed here for just one night, arriving late afternoon.
We received a warm welcome and were showed to our room. Must say first impression wasn’t great as there was a nasty smell emanating from the cellar. This was not overlooked by staff, who explained clearly what was going on and it didn’t impact at all on what was a very nice stay. Staff all really friendly, room was spotlessly clean and well stocked with tea, coffee and water.
Shower was excellent and towels soft.
The bed was comfortable, only downside was the heating which was still on at 2am meaning the room was really hot (that said we did manage to turn it off on the radiator and it was unfeasibly warm for February).
Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and the cooked breakfast was hit, really tasty and obviously made to order.
Would definitely recommend this place, lovely quiet location and as for the restaurant (we ate evening meal) Trip Advisor needs to add another dot because 5 just doesn’t do it justice!!!
Thank you, we will be back...

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 741willd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2019

Where to start? We manage a few days away a couple of times a year and after poor experience of large city hotels we decided to look for smaller country affairs and did we strike lucky with this one, (glad I ignored previous review) we arrived Monday evening and as described on the website food was not being served but Martin (one of the owners) pointed us in the direction of a nearby pub (The Corbet Arms) where we had some very very good pub grub, back at the Haughmond our room was very clean,warm and well equipped with the most comfortable bed and pillows, the en-suite had a great waterfall shower and lovely big fluffy towels. On our second evening we dined in the restaurant which was something special, the food is outstanding and the staff and service is fantastic, this carries through to breakfast, nothing is too much trouble for this team and the hosts Mel and Martin should be very proud of their establishment, we will definitely be coming back soon

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbaraenderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJRMB, Owner at The Haughmond, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2019

... and we will be very pleaed to see you both... I love when guests arrive as strangers and leave as friends which you certainly did! It was great to meet you both and look forward to your next Shropshire outing!
Kindest regards
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2019 via mobile

Stayed at the Haughmond for two nights with my partner as a treat for us both to get away and relax.

On arrival, we had a warm and genuine welcome, all of our questions answered and felt at home immediately. Dinner in the restaurant was nothing short of fabulous (I would recommend the tasting menu).

The room itself was spotlessly clean and contained everything you needed for your stay. The bed was sooo comfy and the view in the morning was gorgeous.

Breakfast provides a lovely selection to choose from, all local, fresh and beautifully cooked.

A day out and about in Shrewsbury with plenty to do ended with a coffee and a cake in the on site coffee shop. Fresh tasty coffee and friendly dog to greet you.

The second night once again brought lovely food and a relaxing evening followed by a great nights sleep.

I cannot recommend this place enough, to stay or to dine, as adults or as a family. Nothing short of perfect!!

Thank you all!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Vicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJRMB, Owner at The Haughmond, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2019

Thank you so much Vicky O for your great review of your stay with us.
So good to meet you both and look forward to seeing you again one day soon
Very best regards
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019 via mobile

Situated in a very nice area, the main Hotel looks reasonably clean and tidy, we stayed in one of the outside rooms suitable to accommodate dogs, although the room was well appointed and the bathroom was especially nice with a large walk-in shower, it was let down by poor housekeeping standards throughout the room.

The room was dark with limited light due to not having a window and felt a little shut in, we had booked to stay for two nights after being recommended by a friend about the food, sadly we decided to check out early as the restaurant was closed on a Sunday and Monday, the two nights we were staying.
The bed in our room was uncomfortable and the heating takes ages to warm the room up, the room lacks the special little extra touches that could so easily be Incorporated, overall just feels a little basic.

Breakfast is served in the main hotel bar and the buffet again lacks imagination and finess and could so easily be so much better, cereal in plastic storage boxes and vacuum packed westabix, the hot cooked breakfast that was served at the table was nicely presented and tasty with good quality sausages and bacon. The Host was friendly enough and brought an extra sausage for the dogv which was nice.

Overall left feeling a little disappointed, not only with the fact that we were charged for the additional night that we chose not to stay due to the restaurant being closed but also its just nothing special.

We will likely return to sample the restaurant as I have heard this is particularly good and the menu did look very nice, however would probably not stay at the hotel again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank hanshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJRMB, Owner at The Haughmond, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2019

Dear Gentlemen and Toby the hound
I am very disappointed to read your review considering the conversation which we had on Monday morning.
My manager called you the week prior to your arrival (as is our policy) in order to confirm any dining requirements for Sunday ... he also confirmed that our kitchen has the day off on Mondays. This is not a new thing - we have been closed on Mondays now for almost two years which is advertised on our website.
You booked a table for Sunday lunch at 4.45pm which is our last food order time. You did not arrive for the table (and did not call in advance to let us know by the way!) You arrived after 6pm, in the dark as it is winter .... therefore, I agree that yes, your room was dark (as are all of our rooms at 6pm in the winter due to sunset and sunrise hours in our country) until you turn on a light....
The bed in your room was new when we opened the new rooms in October 2017. I believe mattresses are a matter of taste, many people compliment our beds, however I'm sorry that you did not enjoy yours.
The heating again is new night storage heaters which are on a timer - we ensure that rooms are warm and inviting on arrival by ensuring that lamps are turned on and heating is at a maximum in order that the guest can adjust to suit.
I would be interested to know what 'extra touches' you feel would improve our offering in your room - please let me know on my direct email mel@thehaughmond.co.uk. You have mentioned that you did not like our cereal containers... I have actually taken that comment on board and ordered some glass jars today so thank you for that recommendation. As far as not liking our breakfast buffet - we take head from the AA from whom we have a 4 star breakfast award...
As far as being charged for the second night - when we finished our conversation on Monday morning, I recommended things to do during the day and indeed offered to recommend eateries in the evening. You then came in and left your key on the bar. Your card details left were declined and we had to phone three times to request payment. You were charged 50% of the room rate for the second night.
Why would you be disappointed at not receiving something which you knew in advance we could not supply?
I suggest that you do not return to sample our restaurant - you will probably start demanding curry when we are a British restaurant - again something you want which we do not supply!
You are in the trade you advised - shame on you for not doing your homework in advance - if you were recommended to dine with us - why not check that you can dine on the nights you book?
Mel Board

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews