We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love the taster menu”
Review of The Haughmond

The Haughmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $44
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Award winning bar & restaurant, rooms and village store complete this modern coaching inn. Serving great food of local provenance with passion, whilst also offering an interesting wine list, specialist gin menu and great real ales. 6 course 'Tastes of The Haughmond' menu is available alongside a seasonal A La Carte menu, Tuesday to Saturday lunch and dinner. (Please note no food served on Mondays) Sundays its just a great lunch served 12 til 5pm! Located just off Shrewsbury's beaten track in the village of Upton Magna. A visit is a must! Booking strongly recommended...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been waiting to eat here for some time. It always seemed booked up when we have previously called. It did not disappoint we loved everything about the taster menu. Will return.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank happytraveller737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJRMB, Owner at The Haughmond, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

dear happytraveller737
So pleased you enjoyed the Tasting Menu - see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2019

We stayed at The Haughmond for 1 night and were very impressed.

We chose this hotel for a couple of reasons. Firstly, for the proximity to an organised walk we were doing the next day, but also because of the previous food reviews (for Basil's restaurant). We were not disappointed. The food and the service were exemplary and the room was good too!

Firstly, we had great service at the bar when we went down for dinner. Mike was very attentive and offered advice regarding wines (and even a taster to get the taste buds going!!). The food that followed was wonderful .... beautifully presented and amazing flavours.

Our room (Sika) was very comfortable and impeccably clean. It was spacious and had a view of the village shop/lane. The overhead beam didn't cause any problems for either of us. There were good toiletries and there were tea/coffee making facilities. Our host (Mel) provided fresh milk too once we'd checked in!

I would definitely stay here/eat here again and would recommend to family and friends.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sagittarius2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJRMB, Owner at The Haughmond, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear sagittarius2411
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your two night stay with us. So pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you in Shropshire again very soon!
With very best regards
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night with friends and felt we really struck gold! The staff were friendly, helpful & knowledgeable. We had the taster menu which was exceptional (my impossible to please husband even said that it was the best meal he had ever eaten out!). Our rooms were immaculate and comfortable. Would recommend to anyone, and will definitely return someday. Thanks all.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 666emmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJRMB, Owner at The Haughmond, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 666emmay
We certainly look forward to seeing you again one day soon - so pleased you loved our offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

Being fortunate to stay for 2 nights at The Haughmond we were able to eat twice in two days and, wow, were we impressed!! This is Michelin star standard food in terms of the exciting variety of tastes on the plate, quality of cooking and beautiful presentation. We ate a la carte on day one and, on owner Mel's suggestion, had the tasting menu on day two. From the start of the each meal, when we were given lovely home made breads with a fabulous goat's milk foamy butter, the standard never dipped. It is invidious to select highlights but the halibut with lemon butter sauce from the a la carte, the salt cod and crab starter from the tasting menu, and the beef and the polenta cake from the same menu were truly outstandingly delicious. The bar has some very nice local gins and Mike, the affable barman in chief proposed great accompanying mixers for them. The wine selection is eclectic and interesting - a Portuguese Malvasia white was lovely with our fish meal on day one and we shared a wine flight on day two with the tasting menu. After an aperitif one flight shared was just right for us. I believe chef/owner Martin devises the menus with his clearly very talented chefs and likes to follow the latest trends from a well-known establishment in our home county. If they present food of as good quality as this then we must go! We cannot praise enough the friendly girls who wait on table - all were delightful. They managed to move us into a quieter corner on day two which we appreciated greatly. On both nights we invaded the kitchen after eating to say thanks to the team of hard workers who gave us so much pleasure. If you are anywhere near Upton Magna you must eat at the Haughmond!!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Googly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJRMB, Owner at The Haughmond, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much Googly2010 - certainly a great review for which we are truly grateful. The menu has moved on to Autumn 2019 and so we do hope that you can come again to enjoy the next season!
Many thanks again and kind regards
Mel and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

Disappointed with the main course. Rump steak!! Persevered hoping it would get better. No . Remained tough and not medium as requested. I should have sent it back before eventually giving up half way through. I complained but nobody from management came to address the concern. Paid full price and left feeling that it will be a long time before I revisit.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank splurgeoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJRMB, Owner at The Haughmond, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear splurgeoe
So sorry that you did not experience The Haughmond to the expaectations of the majority of our diners. I certainly do not understand the latter half of your comments and thereore if you could email me directly I will try to rectify the comments with you in person
Best regards
Mel Board

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Haughmond also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The Haughmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing