We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saga picked a winner”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sibari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Minerva Club Resort & Golf
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Sibari
Hockley Essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Saga picked a winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Having had two holidays at the Minerva, I feel more than qualified to give my view.

Our Room, Lovely, lots of wardrobe space , clean very good shower, good linen.

All meals are taken in a private dinning room, a buffet of anti pasto, hams, salads, fresh veg all from the owner's farm, the choice of starters & mains chosen the night before, fresh fruit and cakes to die for, I can not take serious, any complaints of the food, from people who can not tell fresh from frozen, who order chips on the first night, the range of Calabrian food was outstanding, no pizza with pineapple either.

The beach is laid out for the high season, while we were there , no more than three rows of chairs taken, its reached by a short walk, through pine trees. The swimming pool is very large, the front did get crowded, always managed to fine a comfortable place at the rear.

Saga gala dinners were exceptional, our rep made guests who had brithdays or anniversaries feel special, the owner when on site joined in, the Saga lounge , with bar and terrace was the envy of the Italians. There is a theatre for the children away from the rooms, shows every evening finish early, other entertainment stops at midnight.
There is also a ballroom, a dancing instructor weekly just for Saga guests

The rep did everything to ensure everbody a good time, ever the bully boys, maybe for the guests who don't like to mix with the Italians on holiday, perhaps Sage should have finished a week earlier.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockleyroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    770
    508
    248
    227
See reviews for
1,769
147
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

After reading reviews on this hotel, I felt honour bound to say how much I dissagree with some of the negative reviews. I originally booked for two weeks with Saga and after one very relaxing week I decided to extend my stay by another two weeks, and I have already booked to return there next May/June for four weeks. My first week there we were only seven (first week after the ash settled) but the hotel management andthe Saga Rep went out of their way to ensure we got out and about to see the beautiful unspoilt Calabrian Villages. I have travelled with Saga many times and have always found their holidays to be very reliable and accurate to the brochure description. The fact that the Italians were there in June surely would make for more atmosphere (and it is their country after all) and I personally cannot wait to experience it and embrace all. It is the only hotel where not only does one meet and get to know the owner Luigi, but he actually organised and joined in some of the evening entertaiment. I had no complaints about the food, it was very varied and the bar was well serviced. To those who found it too busy in June, (when it is well known that the Italians start their holiday) why not go in April or May?
Very much looking forward to returning next year and a BIG THANK YOU TO ALL AT THE MINERVA RESORT AND OUR SAGA REP.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank farfalla14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

This was our first experience of a Saga holiday and it will be our last!

We have visited other parts of southern Italy at this time of year and love the food, and culture. Saga sell this hotel has having won awards for its food so we foolishly thought that we couldn't go wrong. Big mistake! Other than a couple of meals, the food we were served can only be described as dreadfull! Certainly not award winning and in most cases barely edible. We complained to the Saga Rep at the resort who was not interested and clearly had no palate and could not be bothered to do anything. We then approached a member of the hotel staff who agreed with us and arranged a meeting for us and other guests with the hotel owner. Things improved slightly the next day, but soon reverted back to previous standard.

We have advised Saga of our opinions of our hoilday and they are not interested. We had the potential to be their clients for the next 20 years or more but not now. Saga literally have a dying customer base and need to recruit and retain a new generation of clients if they are to survive in the long term. However, it appears that the holding company (Acromas) are only interested in cutting costs, and improving margins, short term so that they can then sell Saga off at a huge profit.

It was virtually impossible to use the (very large) swimming pool due to the number of people. Footpaths were blocked by sunbeds, pushchairs and childrens scooters.

Not withstanding the above the hotel itself is actually very pleasant and close to its own lovely sand private beach, it sits in its own well tended gardens and our room was clean and well equipped and the staff very helpful and polite. For young families this is a lovely resort, but it is not in any way suitable for Saga clients from June onwards.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToadHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sibari hotels

warwickshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

we visited this hotel as part of a Saga holiday. We have visited this area before and do speak Italian. However our experience with Saga was very unpleasant. The food was not what would be expected from a 4* hotel, experiencing tin peas, carrots, tinned pears and pinapple. In the two weeks there we hardly saw a melon, cherries or figs all of which were in season. The food was mass catering for older people with little or no palate on a budget. The Saga representation was extremly poor and not preapred to take up constructive comments with the Hotel. This is the only holiday we have been on and had a meeting with other guests and the hotel owner.
The hotel is advertised as being in a quiet location- 1900 Italians, 14 hour a day music, neighbouring very noisy resort- all these do not make a quiet location.
However very clean rooms and waiting staff very attentive.
would we visit again....... Hell no!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank muddyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Quite nice hotel, lovely location BUT extremely noisy in June when Italian families invade enmass. Booked for first time with SAGA as emphasised quiet location, quiet room and good food. Wrong on all counts. Location itself is pretty quiet as nothing around, bar another complex owned by hotel owner (with loud fireworks and evening entertainment that carries across til early hours) however the hotel itself is a resort, catering for families and is anything but quiet.. Our quiet room (according to SAGA brochure) was located in the SAGA block next to the main entertainment area and noisy pool area. Food a disaster, even after meeting with hotel owner himself. SAGA rep just could not be bothered with anyone who complains, wanted a quiet life herself. Beach lovely, but again very noisy once Italians arrived. SAGA should not use this resort after end of May. SAGA trips were only run if rep could be bothered. We will not use SAGA ever again as they are less than interested in any complaints.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

We spent two weeks at the Minerva, travelling with Saga Holidays on an "all inclusive" basis. The hotel is magnificent set in wonderful grounds which are full of flowers. The beach is splendid and reached through a pine walk which is part of the hotel grounds. The area is rural with a backdrop of lovely mountains.

Our group had its own lounge, bar and restaurant. The bar was open from 0930 to 2300 and staffed with a barman for our 24 Saga guests, so the service was excellent! Our restaurant was a mixture of buffet and waiter service - the food was plentiful, if a little unexciting.

All the staff are excellent and attentive and could not be faulted. Although a large hotel it has a family feel about it and the hotel owner, Luigi, went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He organised several trips for us in the hotel mini bus and made no charge.

The only downside to our holiday? The hotel is very large and was full of Italian families with small children. The hotel is aimed at this market with an entertainment team of 28 "animators". This meant that during the day there was non stop disco music at the pool which meant it was impossible to remain in the area if one wanted to relax. The disco music went on until 23.30 daily and sometimes until after midnight. After the first night we requested a room change which improved matters.

Taken overall we had an excellent holiday and would recommend this hotel, subject to a quiet room being booked.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwalker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sibari
0.2 mi away
Sibari Green Village
Sibari Green Village
#1 of 13 in Cassano allo Ionio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
5.1 mi away
Salice Club Resort
Salice Club Resort
#4 of 6 in Corigliano Calabro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.4 mi away
Otium Sibari Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Club Esse Costa dello Jonio
Club Esse Costa dello Jonio
#2 of 5 in Marina di Mandatoriccio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Santa Maria
Hotel Villa Santa Maria
#4 of 5 in Villapiana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia degli Achei Village - TH Resorts
Baia degli Achei Village - TH Re...
#2 of 13 in Cassano allo Ionio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Club Resort & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Club Resort & Golf

Property: Minerva Club Resort & Golf
Address: Localita Salicetta | Marina di Sibari, 87011 Sibari, Cassano allo Ionio, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Cassano allo Ionio > Sibari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sibari
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sibari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Club Resort & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The minerva club resort & golf, located in sibari in the heart of the so called “magna grecia”, extends on a beautiful flat green area of over 60 hectaresthe resort is separated from the beach only by a beautiful pinewood, and has its own private nine holes golf course with practice range and putting green.there are three main compounds within the resort: the “minerva”, close to the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Minerva Club Resort & Golf Hotel Sibari
Minerva Club Resort And Golf
Minerva Hotel Sibari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing