We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, but the interior in need of some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bartlowizna Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Goniadz
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The location for this hotel was superb, from our balcony we even saw moose on the marshes. Bird life was plentiful in the area but best birding entailed getting up at 5.30 before the heat kicked in.The exterior of the hotel looks very grand so it was a disappointment that the rooms were a littly shabby, especially the bathroom - it was clean though, and the bed was OK for a short stay. The breakfast was adequate. Other meals could be purchased in the restaurant a short walk away and this was across a paved/cobbled uneven road that might be tricky for anyone not too steady on their feet. The food was typical Polish fare (I imagine), and whilst it was quite tasty anyone longing for spag bol or chicken curry will be in for a let down. For our 4 day stay it was OK but if we were there for a couple of weeks we might have struggled with the menu!

There was no air con and it was very hot so had to leave the window open at night. Fortunately the expected mosquitoes didn't materialise. Ear plugs are a must for light sleepers. Whilst the frog chorus in the wee small hours was delightful, the singing of the revellers from a works "jolly" at 2.00am was not. A radiator company staff were having a couple of nights there and the other nights were quieter.
No tea making facilities in the rooms and the hot drinks machine in reception was not working but a very nice young man behind the desk lent us his own kettle and a couple of mugs from breakfast room, so take tea bags, sugar and dried milk. We borrowed a kettle from someone every afternoon after arriving back from bird watching in need of a cuppa. They also charged up our iPod on their computer
The ambience is gloomy and we found the plethora of stuffed animals watching us eat their descendants added no joy to the proceedings. The owner obviously has a thing about clocks as there are hundreds of them both in the hotel and restaurant only one or two were actually working and they were a little spooky.
Would suggest that anyone driving use a satnav - we took ours and don't think we could have managed to find our way out of Warsaw, at the start of our holiday, without it. Also take Deet as apparently the mosquitoes can be quite bad and you might not be able to buy it in Poland

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrioleMcFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Bartlowizna Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

Lovely location by Biebrza river. Our room on 2nd floor had balcony we could bird watch from - very convenient! Room was rather disappointing, a little shabby and small. Restaurant with bar - food rather average, though soup was good. Breakfast buffet good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cumbria_traveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

The views here, nature, surroundings are wonderful, so if you are a nature lover, you'll have perfect opportunity to catch view of rare birds. However, the building is quite old and badly maintained - rooms are damp, little bit dirty and with old furniture, no internet in the rooms. The main restaurant is in a different building, so unless it's warm you have to wear some extra clothes only to get to dinner place. Besides, stuffed animals lurking in every corner can scarry some people out.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
2  Thank JulkaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

I have been to this place many times in the last 10 years. It never failed to disappoint me. Things are even improving every year, like a new restaurant in typical Polish style was built over the last 5 years or so.
The location is fantastic, right at the Biebrza river, you can rent a boat or hike and visit one of the greatest wetlands in Europe. On a good day you can count over a 100 different species of birds.
Good food, a well stocked bar, billiards, nice people in general, the owner is a grumpy man but you won't see him very often. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avdij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piotr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank granma2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Justyna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goniadz
16.7 mi away
Raj Pension
Raj Pension
#1 of 1 in Rajgrod
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Delfina
Hotel Delfina
#1 of 1 in Zlotoria
61 reviews
19.7 mi away
Masuria Arte Manor & Spa
Masuria Arte Manor & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kalinowo
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Stanica Rzeczna Manor
Stanica Rzeczna Manor
#2 of 7 in Tykocin
26 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pensjonat Dworek Baranowka
19.9 mi away
Dworek Kiermusy
Dworek Kiermusy
#1 of 7 in Tykocin
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartlowizna Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartlowizna Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Nadbiebrzanska 32, Goniadz 19-110, Poland
Location: Poland > Eastern Poland > Podlaskie Province > Goniadz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Goniadz
Price Range: $40 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located hotal and wonderful unique restaurant - Manor Bartel - on the backwaters of the Biebrza endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bartlowizna Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing