We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oysters as big as your hand”

Aux Coquillages de Diana
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Aleria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“oysters as big as your hand”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I just loved their oysters, so fresh and so big. I've been to many many countries and never seen them so big. Its a pity that their mussels are badly prepared with a sauce that tasted like it had come out of a bottle. Their fish isn't fresh(frozen) and very expensive for what you get. The setting on the lake is great but to be by the water one must reserve a day or two in advance even in septembre. they have good local wine which isn't too expensive for a restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    129
    49
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eu, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but expensive for average food.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great location but the quality of the food was not up to par. Maybe we were unlucky and ordered the wrong things on the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Wow! Great great seafood and fish. We got the platter of oysters, mussels, prawns and welks to start to share and the trio of fillet of fish for mains again to share because we really were not that hungry. And a creme brûlée to finish. Loved the staff- so nice. And the location. Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent experience on Corsica's east coast”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The restaurant is perfectly located on the water next to the oyster farm at Etang de Diana. We did not have a reservation, but arrived when the place opened at 7 pm. The staff starts out every night by collectively eating their own dinner, so we had to wait about half an hour before we had a chance to eat, but that was only charming. The food was fresh and delicious. They offered seafood of all kinds : Local fish, oysters, snails, clams etc etc. The staff was friendly and professional, the place was comfortable and packed - a good sign. I highly recommend a visit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GunhildWoien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cheating!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This restaurant is playing the card of its location, on the water of a beautiful pond known for its oysters. They sell in the concept of a fresh see food restaurant, but this is a complete rip-off!
The four of us ordered see food and fish for starters and main dishes. It was obvious that the overcooked fish had not seen the sea for quite some time, but was very familiar with the bottom of a freezer.
A very surprising gimmick was the baked dried spaghetti they put as a decoration on every dish... a private joke at the client' s expense?
The price was outrageous for the kind of service and cooking you get.
Avoid this one is my advice.!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank hosteratu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Coquillages de Diana also viewed

Aleria, Haute-Corse
Ghisonaccia, Haute-Corse
 

Been to Aux Coquillages de Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing