We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zhero Hotel - Kappl
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kappl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

One of the most beautiful and stylish places in the Alps I’ve been so far! The Hotel Zhero-Ischgl/Kappl is a mix of sophisticated design and architecture, combined with the charm of a mountain chalet, which gets supported by authentic materials, open fire places and cosy furniture. But it's not just this great style-mix which makes this hotel's atmosphere so unique. The service staff gives you a feeling of being at home - professional, very friendly, international people are working at this place, who are caring about your well-being 24 hours a day. The restaurant is an amazing experience too. At an open grill the best pieces of meat of the world can be prepared for your pleasure. After that enjoyment you may long for some fitness work-out? No problem ! The SPA area not only offers a great gym with very modern equipment but also a large pool and several saunas and steem rooms for relaxation. I had a really good time at Zhero Ischgl/Kappl and hope to come back soon to enjoy this amazing hotel experience with some friends!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 197 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very rarely seen a hotel which is so perfect in the overall design. They have gone into every detail with there style consistency. The suite had a open fire place and the bathroom was far better than normal standard 5* bathrooms. SPA with a large Pool, open fire and great gym. Simply great. Management and staff interact well with guests, which made it easy to forward recommendations and special wishes. Overal we had a great stay and so far has been the best place to stay in Ischgl. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miso25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Awful experience. The staff were unfriendly, rude and acted like they were all better than us. There were defects ALL through the rooms, balcony door wouldn't shut - so noisy and cold at night, just to name a few! The girls at the front reception desk were rude and snobs.

Shuttle service was SO BAD. We waited one hour at night for a shuttle that is suppose to come regularly, we ended up getting a taxi and the staff were so rude and not helpful or apologetic at all. They need new friendly people on the front desk, it's a TERRIBLE reception!

We return to Ischgl every year but will never return to Zhero and will not recommend it to anyone. Save your money and stay somewhere with good service.

I hope they read this and improve their service. This is NOT good enough for a 5 star hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Hollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelZhero, Manager at Zhero Hotel - Kappl, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to put forward some constructive feedback of your last visit. With disappointment I note that we have not met all your expectations. With regards to rude staff members I would appreciate your help in identifying any staff member as any rude or snobby behavior is totally unacceptable and does not reflect the the warm, friendly, casual yet respectful ambience of the hotel.
With regards to the shuttle, depending on the time of the day shuttles drive every 7 to 30 min between the hotel and the Ski slopes, restaurants and shops in Ischgl or Kappl and it takes normally not more than 10 minutes to pick up our guest from any place in Ischgl. As we have 3 free VIP shuttles driving almost constantly between the different locations in Ischgl and the hotel, waiting times are rarely exceeding 10 to 15 minutes, especially as the distance from the hotel to the centre of Ischgl is only 6 minutes. Please note that our shuttles even have a permit to drive in the pedestrian and shopping street and can therefore provide free VIP transfers for our Customers from any place, restaurant and shop in Ischgl.
Refering to the heating and balcony door. Please note that every room has a individual temperature control that can be regulated by every guest individually and most of our suites have central and floor heating plus individual open fire places that apart from hearing provide a warm, cosy ambience within your private space.
Unfortunately I was unable to find any record inside our technical incidence reports regarding any balcony door that would not close However to prevent any inconvenience to future guest our maintenance team has revised all balcony doors of every room and suite for its proper functionality.
As we feed disappointed that we have not been able to meet your expectation we would be honored to receive a second chance to demonstrate our real Zhero Philosophy and I as the General Manager, would personally take care of your reservation to guarantee you for our best services.

Sincerely
The Zhero Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A group of 8 of us stayed here in Feb 2014. The hotel was amazing. The rooms were very clean and modern. The spa is superb with a lovely pool, steam room and sauna. Food was great and the staff could not do enough for us especially Andrea and Patrick in the bar. The shuttle to the ski lifts were always available and the management even took as personally in his own car when i was late for the shuttle. In the evenings the bar had a trendy relaxed feeling with a live singer called Sahra Lee who was amazing. The hotel reminded me of a more exclusive boutique W type hotel. Add to the above an amazing ski resort with some of the best ski runs in Europe you get a great ski holiday. I stay in some of the top hotels in the world and i have never known a hotel where the staff try so hard. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: I had a standard room which was perfect but the suites looked amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a full week (off season) for skiing Kappl and Ischgl and we are leaving with mixed feelings. It is neither at the slopes of Kappl (2 min by car), nor Ischgl (10 min). To compensate, the hotel runs a shuttle service at no extra charge with up to 3 shuttle buses, yet we often had to wait up to half an hour for a shuttle to turn up at either location. But, in a few occasions the manager picked us up with his own car to drive us, a pleasant extra. And sometimes they showed up in only a few minutes, so you have to be lucky. Best to calculate half an hour for any transport to be on the safe side and avoid frustrations.

The hotel has a brilliant design, all in gold and black with discrete lighting everywhere: reception, bar, spa and rooms. But, the lighting plan could be improved, as sometimes it is far too dark e.g. to read in the chair in the room or to find something back in one of the wardrobes, which misses a direct light.

The restaurant serves an extensive breakfast buffet, including freshly prepared omelettes, as well as delicious dishes for dinner (be it rather expensive, count € 80-90 p.p incl. drinks). Unfortunately, the menu choices for the main dishes are rather limited (unless you like their specialty : open grill with lots of meat options). There is no daily menu or half board possible, which makes you move to one of the many alternative options in Ischgl rather quickly. The Lucy Wang restaurant in town is ran by the same owners (see separate review)

The spa is one of the nicest in the Austrian Alps with several sauna options (bio sauna, Finnish sauna and hammam) and a pleasantly sized pool, but it can become rather crowded when the slopes close. And at times it seems the staff can't keep up...

The rooms are small, but comfortable. The additional children's bed in a "room within the room" brings additional comfort for parents and child alike. The bathroom has plenty of amenities, which are replenished daily, but ours had an unpleasant and distinct, mouldy smell for the first few days.

The hotel has free WiFi everywhere (with a code for 4 devices per room, but they give you extra access, if needed). Unfortunately, the connection is very slow (which made me switch to 3G as a faster alternative a few times).

The in-house ski rental is an advantage if you want to ski both Ischgl and Kappl. The quality of the gear is OK with friendly service, but don't expect top notch ultra new material or expert advice, as we got used to elsewhere.

Usually, some of the staff deserve credit for outstanding service, but here, it's the manager that really does it's utmost to make you feel a welcome guest !

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Angelo_Lauwaerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelZhero, Manager at Zhero Hotel - Kappl, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your constructive and honest report, especially as I am personally mentioned. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Zhero Hotel even as we are not directly at the slopes as you mentioned. Please note that the location has been strategically chosen when the hotel was built two years ago. Many of our guest do feel we are perfectly located due to the following reasons:
- only 2 minutes from the Kappl ski lifts
- just outside of Ischgl and therefore quiet. Close enough to Ischgl to enjoy the nightlife however when you want to sleep you have peace and tranquillity.
- only 6 minutes to the Ischgl ski slopes. Considering that you would have to walk 5 to 10 minutes from the lift car park to the actual cable car or lift.
Our owner is glad to hear that you appreciate the special design effects of the hotel to what he has gone into great detail to make this hotel stand out from the rest of the hotels in Ischgl. We have take notice of your and several previous comments about insufficient lighting and have identified this areas. We just completed to ad reading lights to our beds and increased the lighting in and in front of the wardrobes. Also our free WIFI connection has increased a lot as we have doubled our Internet lines, capacity and speed.
The special parent - child rooms certainly not the biggest, however it is a very popular room type as parents can have there own privacy by closing the door between the child's and parents room without having to book a suite or a higher room category.
Nice to hear that you consider our Spa as one of the nicest in Austria! Especially the open fire place gives a nice cosy touch.
As you mentioned our restaurant is recognized for our meat specialities that are prepared over a open fire grill on a live cooking station inside of the restaurant and than cut and prepared by our meat sommelier at your table. Our chef Klaus Brunmayer who comes from a 2 Michelin-Star Restaurant is especially keen to use only the fines local products (most of them grown above 2000 meters).
With regards to the credit that I received in your report. As we have not only the Zhero Hotel but also the Chalet Alpin and the popular Lucy Wang Restaurant in Ischgl, I constantly move around this places and while giving our guest a lift between this locations, it is a great opportunity to interact and get some great feedback or share some local advise, tips and information.
We certainly hope to see you and your family back at the Zhero hotel next winter or already this sumer at our Zhero Hotel and Beach Club in Palma de Mallorca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed with my friends over the weekend in hotel Zhero because we wanted to go skiing in Ischgl. Honestly we didn't expect that the hotel would be that high-standard for the price we actually payed. The rooms were big, well furnished and they seemed to be quite new. There is also a huge variety on the breakfast buffet from salmon, bred, muesli, fruit, eggs (on demand and for free) and a lot more.
We enjoyed the huge spa area a lot as well that already opened early in the morning.
The best although from our experience in this hotel was the great Gatsby party on Friday night in the hotel bar! The were nice and good looking people, great music, and an amazing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Somwati M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

New design hotel by Matteo Thun that opened in December 2012. Regardless of whether or not you like the black and dark design, the hotel is without question one of the most stylish design hotels you'll find in Austria.

Excellent rooms with great design furniture (especially the lamps); very good beds and bathrooms. However, rooms are rather hot and you cannot open the window completely (tilted window only).
Excellent breakfast with good value for money (18 EUR/person - normally not included in room rate).

Free shuttle transfer to Kappl and Ischgl - great!

However, the whole hotel makes the impression that it just opened a couple days ago: Construction defects are everywhere (we had water on the floor of the sauna, gaps are not grouted,...). The biggest problem is the staff: It makes a rather dis-organized impression and many seem to have no experience with the hotel industry and gastronomy at all: We had two breakfast waiters that didn't knew what an Earl Grey Tee is. Some staff members don't speak German (or even English) at all. Final bills for 2 out of 3 rooms of our party were not correct with items we didn't consumed.

Don't stay here at the "Party Nigths" (we stayed here during the "Great Gatsby Party") - it's impossible to sleep because of the noise!

To sum it up: In order to fully utilize its potential, the hotel needs to shape the whole concept (is it a hotel or a disco,...?), improve continuity with the hotel staff, take care for the construction defects, and add some more light to the whole building.

Room Tip: Avoid room with connection door to another room. Doors are not sopundproof and you hear almost any w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DGE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kappl
1 mi away
Hotel & Luxury Appartements Dorfstadl
4.1 mi away
Hotel Fliana
Hotel Fliana
#1 of 43 in Ischgl
519 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Madlein
Hotel Madlein
#24 of 43 in Ischgl
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Familyhotel Seiblishof
Familyhotel Seiblishof
#37 of 43 in Ischgl
140 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Trofana Royal
Hotel Trofana Royal
#9 of 43 in Ischgl
152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ferienhotel Auhof
Ferienhotel Auhof
#3 of 6 in Kappl
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhero Hotel - Kappl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhero Hotel - Kappl

Address: Wiese 687, Kappl 6555, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kappl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kappl
Price Range: $201 - $1,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zhero Hotel - Kappl 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zhero Hotel - Kappl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing