We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right out of the novel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Castel Dracula
East Liverpool, Ohio
Level Contributor
215 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Right out of the novel”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in borgo pass, themed from the novel. It is a can't miss if your in the area. Food was good, staff was helpful. My son and I stayed here & would recommend it to everyone. The Dracula themed decore was awesome! From The coffen in the basement to the towels in the rooms you can't do any better.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vladsuperman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
24
31
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

woderful surroundings, nice staff, hystorically challenging atmosphere. we will be back as soon as we will be able to visit the undergrounds. Very nice kitchen. The rooms were very comfortable and the beds big enough for 3 persons.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mihai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
206 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a rather kitschy Dracula themed hotel located in Borgo Pass. We were doing a Dracula tour so we did not mind staying in this hotel for one night. We arrived at night and the hotel looked great from the outside specially on a full moon. I think our group were the only people staying in the hotel on that night but we still got rooms at the very back of the complex. The rooms and bathrooms were small. There was also this stale musty smell in the lobby and lower levels of the hotel. I was afraid they might be harboring a real Dracula in the dungeon. Breakfast was made to order and was pretty decent. The area surrounding the hotel was beautiful. If you are not doing a Dracula tour, I recommend looking for other options near the city center (area is quite remote from Bistrita).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrpheusTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Louisiana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were great, the decor was outstanding! The food was delicious. Front desk staff could gave been friendlier, but not horrible! The carpet is blood-red! Has a beautiful view if the mountains. Full-service restaurant on site

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neworleanszombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon tour of Transylvania. We took the horse and cart ride trough the Carpathian mountains to the Borgo Pass which was an experience unlike any other. We stayed in the white suite which had its own private staircase. All very atmospheric! We sat out in the back garden area and enjoyed their speciality cocktails, definitely recommend them! We even braved the crypt below to visit the coffin. I think my hair gained its first white stripes down there! The suite was amazing, we truly felt like Royalty. The views from the balcony where we ate at sunset were unbelievable, the image as the sun set over the mountains and the trees is one that will be with me always.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debs1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had booked a double room and were given a triple room, one double bed and one single. this made the room crowded and we had to put the coffee table on top of the single bed so as to make room to move around the bed. the shower fitting was broken so could only be used by holding the shower with one hand!. The mirror in the shower room was cracked, the carpet in the room was stained and generally the room felt shabby. There was a lot of noise from the room above us and the corridor. Lots of stairs up to our room 322 and no lift, no offer of help with the bags.
the restaurant downstairs had people smoking in it which was distasteful. The waiting staff seemed bored and despite there only being 4 other tables being used, service was slow and we had to remind them about our side orders. some of the food was very good but the potatoes with my husbands pork dish were cold and not very nice.
Breakfast was good ( not a buffet you had to choose from the menu we had coffee, mushroom omelette, bread and jam) but once again service slow. 2 waitresses and only four tables in use, I hate to think what it is like if the hotel is full.
In the morning we wanted to leave promptly so tried to check out before breakfast. the receptionist said he was too busy with something else on his computer so we had to check out after we had eaten which delayed us. When we mentioned the complaints he showed no interest and made no apologies.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teazel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Piatra Fantanele hotels

Smyrna, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Last night my friend and I drove up from Cluj just to stay at this hotel. We had the Quincy Morris suite. Paul checked us in a got us settled. He was the best. We had so much fun exploring. I took a ton of pictures. I will try to upload soon. Yes-it is a theme hotel but why would you go there if that isn't what you are looking for? A great time was had by all. I just wish that I could have stayed longer to be able to go hiking and ride the ski life, etc. it is such a peaceful, beautiful place.
As an American trying to get there, it can be tricky. It's hard to google directions so please feel free to reach out to me if you need any hel planning your stay and figuring ut how to get there.
Cindy

Room Tip: Ask for a suite over a regular room. You have a lot more space for not much more money. Quincy Morri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Southerngirl313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piatra Fantanele
24.6 mi away
Hotel Bistrita
Hotel Bistrita
#7 of 12 in Bistrita
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hotel Coroana De Aur
Hotel Coroana De Aur
#2 of 12 in Bistrita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hotel Dorna
Hotel Dorna
#1 of 5 in Vatra Dornei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#6 of 12 in Bistrita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fisherman's Resort Colibita
0.0 mi away
Popasul Transilvania
Popasul Transilvania
#1 of 7 in Piatra Fantanele
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castel Dracula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castel Dracula

Property: Hotel Castel Dracula
Address: DN17 Piatra Fantanele, Piatra Fantanele, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Bistrita-Nasaud County > Piatra Fantanele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Piatra Fantanele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castel Dracula 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Castel Dracula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Dracula Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing