We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Spinalonga
from $555.56
More Info
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
38
32
6
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
38
32
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing place to visit small cafe eastern crete island visit agios nikolaos interesting place guided tour hired a car bottle of water worth a visit a short boat trip leper colony victoria hislop entrance fee day trip glory euro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Interesting visit to this old fortress, converted lately into a leprosy hospital; you need to spend some hour to see it entirely, taking ferry from Plaka (10 min only)

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank davidebI9952HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took the short boat trip to Spinalonga from Plaka-10 euros each plus a further 8 euros to enter Spinalonga-4 if you are over 65!I found it truly magical-A guided tour may have enhanced the experience but we like to wander on our own so didn`t have a guide.We took lunch,plenty of water and sunscreen.Do wear sensible shoes-it`s not the place for wedges or heels! It is full of history - I have read "The Island" by Victoria Hislop over and over again and loved it-but this visit showed us how much more there is to The Island`s history! Sympathetic renovations taking place.There is a small cafe with terrace on the landing area with toilets. The island is a museum so no swimwear or smoking allowed.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Vacationer687458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really enjoyed exploring Spinalonga. There is a route which you can go round and a map pointing out the interesting places to see. You can also go off track and climb to the top of the island and get an amazing view. Only negative was the price in the snack bar on the island. 7 euros for a beer and 5 euros for a bottle of Coke is a bit steep even though I recognise the difficulties getting them to the island.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank BhamAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spinalonga is very near off the coast from Plaka (15 mins on a boat) or Elounda (30 mins). Its an island with a lot of history and oarts if it have been nicely restored. Much is still unrestored but you get a real feel of what it must have been like to live there long ago. There are lots of notice boards explaining things around the site and also a pleasant if expensive cafe overlooking the small harbour. Worth a visit for sure. Note that there's an entrance fee once you land there of about 8 Euro and the return boat trip from Plaka was 10 Euro.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank CambridgeReviewer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Spinalonga on 8 September 2019 as part of our holiday to Crete....wow!

We hired a car and drove ourselves from Kato Gouves which took just under 1hr 40mins through some truly breathtaking scenery....that was until we arrived at the plateau to Plaka where the island of Spinalonga stands in full view and in all its wonderful glory! Just Magical!

We caught the boat from Plaka over to the island which cost €10 each and €8 entry into Spinalonga.

I would recommend taking a bottle of water with you and wearing a hat as the island is just that - there is no shade whilst exploring the top paths. If you struggle walking long distances or uphill, you may find this is not the tour for you. I would also recommend wearing trainers as the paths are rocky and uneven.

A beautiful, serene place in which to observe and reflect. Perfect!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews