We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domaine de La Thiau
Ranked #2 of 6 Briare B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had a beautiful and large room with a very good bed, A kitchenroom and a bathroom.
Tastefuly furnished and a very good place to stay. A quiet place and a beautiful garden with a peacock family. The breakfast was good, but we missed the cheese and ham. Benedicte is very kind and takes good care of her guests. She speaks English very well.

Room Tip: We've chosen for the room with te kitchen so we could make our diner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 95 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2011

Domaine de la Thiau is even MORE beautiful in real life than it is on their website ~ I was deliciously and unexpectedly surprised.

I was expecting something interesting, but it is lovelier than I imagined. The hostess, Benedicte was charming and treated us as both part of her family and cherished guests.

The home itself was built in the 1800s and has old world charm and elegance and Benedicte has renovated it with a romantic French flavor.

We stayed in the room "Francois I" and it turned out to be more of a mini-apartment ~ it had a large main room with high ceilings, original Gien ceramic tiles (Gien is world known for its lovely painted ceramics), antique furniture, kitchenette, second bedroom area and spacious bathroom.

The Domaine de la Thiau has several acres of beautiful land, some of which were filled with brilliant yellow crops and some of which directly encircled the home and were filled with walking trails, flowering trees and budding flowers, a gazebo overlooking a small lake and very close to the Loire River. They also had a nice pool which was covered with a retractable roof which will undoubtedly extend their swimming season and keep it extra clean.

One evening Benedicte set up a gourmet supper in our dining room, complete with candles, authentic Gien tableware from a famous chef in town, bottle of Champagne and a sumptuous table setting for my family ~ she has that special French touch to everything she does and it is a thing of beauty. I will miss Benedicte - she is wonderful.

The one thing that I have though of and missed dearly every day since our visit is their two delightful peacocks on the land that are TAME - I never imagined that peacocks could be tame, but they really were sweet and I enjoyed sitting and working on my book (I'm an author) with "Jermaine" sitting beside me ~ and I mean BESIDE me - only inches away !!!

They were NOT noisy - they were amazing to see and I still laugh when I remember "Leon" constantly fanning his feathers to try to get Jermaine to notice him. My six-year old daughter (who illustrates some of my books) was so enamored with them that she sat in the grass and painted their portraits for our next book .... truly amazing and spectacular and I can't wait to return.

If you do not like birds they will not bother you - I love birds and actively went to be near them and they responded to this with pleasure.

Another advantage of the Domaine de la Thiau was its 5 minutes close proximity to Gien which is not only a secret jewel hidden along the necklace of the Loire, it also heralds the gateway to the Burgundy region with about 15 less known castles within a 30 minute drive.

This hotel and Gien (and surrounding areas) are a must see for those who THINK they have done the castle-run trip down the Loire .... there is much, much more to see......

Room Tip: Bring your camera ~ it's beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethHoadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed for four nights and found everything as advertised. Our hostess was not only delightful, but helpful, as well. Her command of the English language was excellent and extremely comforting. The breakfast area is beautiful and serene. It was a joy to share the time with her and her other visitors and observe her pets (a marvelous dog, many cats and a pair of peacocks) and relax in a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenkcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Francois is a very friendly and helpful hostess, comfortable and interestingly furnished rooms, delightful grounds complete with a couple of Peacocks and a very friendly Labrador. Good breakfast. Nearby Briare is lovely, not so sure about Gien though!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henry_vigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We intended to stay one night but the situation,the hotel, the hospitality and the camaraderie of the other multi-national guests encouraged us to stay longer. We could not have had a better overnight stay and will be staying there again as we journey between Spain an UK

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panka15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

On the way at the south of France we had in good luck reserved a Chambre d’Hôte at the Loire, which surpassed at arrival all our wishes .
We had an extended cordial welcome by hostess Mme Bénédicte, who with passion, flower and charm is running her Chambres.
The Chambre was very attended and the furnishing was particular attractive equipped in old French style. Each Chambre had an own identity qua colour and
equipment.
Around the country state is a beautiful laid out 3 hectare garden in area with, for instance, very old oak-trees. This garden asks for direct enjoying.
The breakfast was well cared in the on the south direction build-on sunroom, with a direct few at and contact with the big garden.
The peacocks, dog and a couple of cats were standing outside the sunroom and looked at our breakfast. A real experience, which never will be forgotten and is asking for repeat. On the way back from the south of France we have reserved the same room .
Real this place is a truly recommendation for guests, who are looking for rest, and space and in this atmosphere want to go through the authentic experience on a French country estate.
We will return certainly in the coming years to this Chambre d’ Hôte.


Merci bien Bénédicte



Bert en Janny Vegter
Buitenpost

The Netherlands

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertBuitenpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Romantic stay in beautiful house in beautiful park, with peacock, cats, dog and sheep.
Excellent breakfast, very charming hostess who speaks fluently Englisch and does everything to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henkzutphen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Briare hotels
2.6 mi away
Domaine des Roches
Domaine des Roches
#2 of 4 in Briare
168 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel le Cerf
Hotel le Cerf
#1 of 4 in Briare
101 reviews
3.1 mi away
Auberge du Pont-Canal
Auberge du Pont-Canal
#3 of 4 in Briare
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de La Thiau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de La Thiau

Address: Route de Gien | Loiret, 45250, Briare, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Briare
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Briare
Price Range: $96 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de La Thiau 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modest distance to the south east of Orleans and to the north of Sancerre and the Burgundy (Pouilly, Saint-Fargeau), at the eastern end of the Valley of the Kings, at only 150 km south of Paris (only 1 hour from Fontainebleau), on the banks of the river Loire between Gien (bone china factory) and Briare (canal bridge), 2 rooms, 2 suites (B&B) and 2 gites (self-catering rentals) await you. The separate guest house, nestled among centuries-old trees, is surrounded by a pleasant park running down to the Loire. Built in the 18th century and entirely renovated in 2012, the wonderful old "Mansart" style manor house stands very close to our home. Independant car park and entrances allow you complete freedom. Our guests are always welcome to enjoy the 7 acres of park with centuries-old trees and flowers, deckchairs, tables, outdoor games for children, tennis and table-tennis. The Loire river can be reached by a private path (300 metres), which is a good starting place for walks or bike-rides. Baby-sitting, bikes renting, animals welcome under restrictions. Non-smoking house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Domaine de La Thiau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing