We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but clean with a wonderful owner!”
Review of Hotel le Cerf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel le Cerf
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Briare
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is rather old but quaint and clean. The owner lives on the premisies and is not always at the reception desk but very helpful. The buffet breakfast was very good and plentiful. The room was clean and comfortable and very good value for money. We left Briare on a barge trip down to Dompierre-sur-Besbre and the hotel owner went out of his way to assist us with getting all our luggage to the barge.He also took us to a large supermarket to do all our food and drink shopping and transported it all to the barge free of charge.He insisted he did not want to be paid and we really appreciated all his kind help. This hotel has no frills and is not for those who want luxury but it is really good for a 2-star hotel.The owner also recommended a very good restaurant-Le Bord'eau-where the owner was also super friendly and the food was great.Briare is a charming little town and Hotel du Cerf fits right in!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggy1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Hotel le Cerf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 96 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

If we ever return to Briare, we would definitely stay here again. We finished up a boat trip in Briare and decided to stay the night. This hotel was close to the marina and handy to the train station. The only drawback would be the absence of an elevator, but as long as one is hardy enough to carry bags up stairs, it's quite wonderful. The rooms were quite large for Europe. The price was excellent. The staff and owners were extremely cordial and helpful. Rooms, as mentioned by other reviewers, are a little tired, but were clean, comfortable, and quiet. Weather had turned very chilly and we were pleased with the comfort and warmth provided.

Room Tip: Room in back (facing courtyard/parking area) at end of hall are very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We have now stayed here twice whilst motoring back from holidays in the south of France and both time have been very satisfied the rooms are clean and comfertable and the staff helpfull, in fact we will be stoping this yeart on our way down as well as back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteburrows1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Decided to have a break in our journey and this hotel had a room for the night. We stayed in the block overlooking the courtyard/garden. The room was very clean if a little on the tired side. However, it was excellent value for money, plenty of secure parking and the breakfast was plentiful. Briare is a small but pretty town and the canal is the main feature, although there isn't a great deal else to see. Perfect for a one-night stopover.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Unfortunately not great, even noting the price and relatively low expectations.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
Thank gttlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We visited Briare to see the famous old canal bridge over the Loire as well as maybe visit a Chateau as well. We actually had a lunch/cruise on the canal as well as visiting the Chateau at Sully sur Loire and seeing the excellent Briare mosaics in the church..

The hotel is rated at one 'chimney' by Logos de France (one star equivalent) and is just over the bridge from the centre of Briare and most of the restaurants. WE paid €50 per night plus an optional breakfast charge for a 3 night stay.

Our welcome was excellent and in English without asking. We were immediately shown into the secure car-park and then to the room. We were also helped to carry luggage up the stairs.

The rooms are are both in the main building and a wing across the (free) courtyard car-park. They are simply furnished and ours was large and comfortable facing the back garden which is also available to relax in. The windows were provided with external shutters rather than curtains, a little difficult to close. Although the rooms were clean, I noticed that the grout in the shower was past its best. You had to hold the shower head because there was no fixing to hang it on as we expect in England.

Buffet Breakfast (€7) was in a large airy room in the main building and was typically continental including cereal, cheese and ham.

Over-all we found the hotel to be comfortable and quiet and good value for its rating.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Briare
0.6 mi away
Auberge du Pont-Canal
Auberge du Pont-Canal
#3 of 4 in Briare
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domaine des Roches
Domaine des Roches
#1 of 4 in Briare
159 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Le Rivage
Hotel Le Rivage
#1 of 5 in Gien
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Anne De Beaujeu Hotel
10.7 mi away
Terre De Loire
Terre De Loire
#1 of 1 in Belleville Sur Loire
149 reviews
19.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Cosne-sur-Loire
Ibis Budget Cosne-sur-Loire
#1 of 5 in Cosne-Cours-sur-Loire
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Cerf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Cerf

Address: 22 boulevard Buyser, 45250, Briare, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Briare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Briare
Price Range: $72 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Cerf 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel le Cerf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing