We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel and restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostellerie Saint-Jacques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

To celebrate a special birthday we decided to stay at the Hostellerie. We had stayed there for 2 nights last year and new it was good. We weren't disappointed. We were welcomed with a glass of chapagne and shown to our romm. The room was fab, silver and glittery. The dinner was superb, not quite Michelin star quality yet but it must be getting close. But not Michelin star prices for Dinner. Depending on the menu you choose the number of courses can vary, but the one thing gauranteed is that you will be well fed and full of some of the best food in the Perigord Vert. The bed was extremely comfortable and after a good sleep we faced another assault on our taste buds when we had breakfast. There is some cereal, fruit, cheese and ham but these are just the warm up act for the real stars. The selection of pastries and cakes presented to you are delicious and very moreish. The staff were all very friendly and the owners were the perfect hosts. We will be back once we have worked off the dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PsychoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 138 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

We did not stay in the hotel but dined here on a Saturday evening as a party of 4 including my brother and his wife who live permanently in France nearby and who have visited the restaurant several times previously. This was our first visit and will not be our last! We were warmly greeted in reception and shown through to our table in the elegant dining room and quickly served with drinks to enjoy whilst looking at the menu. There is also a delightful outside dining area used in warmer weather.There are a la carte and tapas menus but we all chose from the 3 course fixed price menu which, at Euro 39, represents excellent value given the quality of the food on offer, the extra dishes provided between courses and the drinks included with each course, topped up regularly.
The menu offers a good choice.Quality and presentation of the food was excellent and the service pleasant and attentive. This restaurant is worth going out of your way to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger0150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Please see my blog post about this fabulous restaurant: http://passionatefood.typepad.com/

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Very pleasant service with an even better food during lunch and dinner.
If in this region (100km or less) it is more than worth the trip to enjoy a serious French lunch. And then stay for the rest of the day in their garden, hotel, room to enjoy also their dinner :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The hotel is situated in a delightful small village. It is well appointed and has a lovely terrace and pool for summer months. The welcome was warm and our room, although a little dated in decor, was very comfortable, clean and well appointed. Dinner in the restaurant was quite an experience. The setting and candle lit atmosphere were very pleasant, the menu interesting, the food delicious, and the service very attentive. The surprise was the presentation of the dishes and little extras between courses and at the end of the meal, all of which was a little over the top! That did not detract from the quality of the meal, but they were trying too hard to be clever and different. Breakfast was the same - good quality but I have never seen so many different pieces of unusual crockery and different dishes at breakfast. Nevertheless, staying here was a very pleasant experience and trying too hard to please is hardly a reason for complaint.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneysider48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We really weren't sure what to expect and probably didn't have very high expectations for our stay. Our stopover here turned out to be a highlight. The food was sensational as was the service and beautiful setting. We would love to return and regretted only being there for one night. Fabulous!

Mark
Geelong, Australia

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The place was very nice, rooms unique and comfortable, staff very professional and kind and the meals - suberb!!! We had a nice afternoon next to the pool, a wonderful 4 course dinner - which in fact and in the end was a 7 course dinner with delicious and suitable wines recommended by the house - and a very good and special breakfast with homemade all kind of things you can think about.

Six star experience for us - please visit this place, have a dinner and you'll never forget it.

Sirpa and Kari Puronaho from Finland

Room Tip: Take a room with pool and garden view, enjoy a dinner and their marvellous wines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kari_puronaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere
12.1 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
400 reviews
15.7 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
243 reviews
14.8 mi away
Les Jardins de Brantome
Les Jardins de Brantome
#3 of 6 in Brantome
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chambres d'hotes Ajjana
Chambres d'hotes Ajjana
#3 of 4 in Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Le Sully
Hotel-Restaurant Le Sully
#1 of 4 in Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere
29 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wakan Tanka
Wakan Tanka
#1 of 2 in Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Saint-Jacques

Address: Le Bourg, 24470 Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere
Price Range: $100 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie Saint-Jacques 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostellerie Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Saint-Jacques Hotel Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing