We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
40
1
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
1
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porridge great hosts other guests hearty breakfast easy access great location secure bike storage washing machine we've stayed luz ardiden a great stay honesty bar tour de france fuel tools hautacam cycling
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 43 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Niamh and Mark are terrific hosts running a quiet and clean lodge for cyclists. The rooms are comfortable with good en-suite bathing facilities. The food is splendid at both breakfast and evening mealtimes. Home cooked to an excellent standard with plenty for the hungry cyclist. There is secure bike storage as well as basic tools. The washing and drying facilities for clothing are sound as well.
Overall a friendly relaxing base for cycling in the Pyrenees. Well situated for the main climbs. Would recommend and stay again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank RamsayStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PyreneesCyclingLodge, Owner at Hautes Pyrenees Cycling Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thanks for the great review Ramsay. It was a pleasure to host Stan and yourself for the week that you stayed with us. Delighted you enjoyed everything about the lodge. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. All the best Niamh & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

A group of 3 of us stayed here for a 4 day cycling holiday few weeks ago. The location is perfect for some epic, famous climbs. Stunning scenery that you can never get tired of!
The Lodge was ideal for us - comfortable, plenty of space and great value for money. Also a great room to safely store and maintain your bikes
The real value was in Niamh and Mark - they looked after us so well! The food was a big highlight; hearty breakfast prior to taming the Pyrenean Cols, a great selection of beers to reward us for the exercise and fantastic three course meal each evening. Considering they're not chefs, it really was tremendous! We all loved chatting to the other guests during the day about their experiences.
I hardly ever like to return to the same place twice (in order to experience new places), but this is a place the I am keen to stay again...if only to tame Hautacam plus scale Tourmalet more quickly!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 948ianj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PyreneesCyclingLodge, Owner at Hautes Pyrenees Cycling Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thanks so much for the very positive review Ian. It was a pleasure to host you guys for your trip to the Pyrénées. We're delighted you enjoyed the lodge and the area and got to conquer some of the major climbs despite the hot weather! The social side of the lodge is special and it's great to hear people chatting & laughing before and after a days cycle. We'd love to see you guys again sometime - we'll start stocking the beer fridge now..;o) All the best Niamh & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Just returned from staying with Neve and Mark at this wonderful cycling lodge. Everything is top notch, especially the scrumptious homecooked meals prepared by them. You immediately feel like you are staying with friends in this perfect location to bag a bunch of famous Tour cols which we did. Stories shared around the table at meals with likeminded cyclists from around the world was so enjoyable. Thanks for a great holiday - highly recommend!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PyreneesCyclingLodge, Owner at Hautes Pyrenees Cycling Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Thanks so much for the lovely review Susan! It was such a pleasure to have you girls stay with us and bring great life & laughter to the lodge - good times round the dinner table. You girls got the best of the area what with cycling all the great climbs plus the additional pleasure hiking and exploring the valley - the best of both worlds! Hopefully see you all back someday. All the best Niamh & Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

I stayed at the Pyrenees Cycling Lodge recently for a long cycling weekend, and it was exactly what I was looking for!

The lodge's location is perfect for exploring the Pyrenees by bike with easy access to countless cols, some famous and others less well-known, right from the door. There is secure bike storage with access to tools to keep your machine rolling smoothly. The owners, Niamh and Mark, always had great advice on where to ride and are interested to hear of your adventures at day's end.

The accommodations are spotless and quite comfortable, and the lodge has all you need to relax after a long day on the bike. The honor bar is a nice touch to help relax with a well-earned beer and snack in the communal lounge after a long day in the saddle.

I don't think Niamh and Mark are trained chefs, but they certainly fooled me! The breakfasts were great and, as others have mentioned, the porridge is a great way to fuel up each day. The dinners were fantastic; the cuisine was varied and delicious, and my vegetarian preferences were accommodated. All meals are taken together with other guests, providing for an enjoyable communal atmosphere.

Overall, the Pyrenees Cycling Lodge was the perfect base from which to explore the surrounding area by bike. The lodge was comfortable, the food was outstanding, and the owners were friendly and accommodating. I can't wait to return!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 2Bays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PyreneesCyclingLodge, Owner at Hautes Pyrenees Cycling Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thanks for the very thorough and positive review Marc. It was a pleasure to host you at the lodge for your long weekend cycling. We can't believe how much climbing you packed into a 3 day trip and in all conditions - hats off! Look forward to seeing you again sometime. Cheers Niamh & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018

Spent a week here with my friends and had a fantastic time. The lodge is well-positioned for ticking off all the major climbs, and there's a lovely local cycle path into Lourdes for an easy day coffee spin.

The lodge has most tools you'd need, and if anything goes wrong there's a friendly bike shop at the bottom of the hill. The bikes are securely locked up so there are no worries about someone running off with your pride and joy.

Niamh & Mark were wonderful hosts and excellent cooks. I'd go back in an instant

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PyreneesCyclingLodge, Owner at Hautes Pyrenees Cycling Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thanks for the lovely review Griff! It was so nice to have you guys at the lodge, good company to have about and of course watch the world cup with! Delighted you enjoyed the area, you certainly ticked off a lot of cols in the week not to mention the epic 158km over Aspin, Hourquette d'Ancizan and Tourmalet - others are following in your footsteps or should I say 'wheelspins' now! Look forward to see you all again at some point. Cheers Niamh & Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews