We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous views, hotel refurbished to good standard”
Review of Hotel Le Bussy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Bussy
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Montsoreau
Estepona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
560 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,667 helpful votes
“Marvellous views, hotel refurbished to good standard”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Most beautifully situated right on the River Loire, with a fairytale mini-chateau right opposite, this hotel is worth visiting just for the delight of sitting out in the garden and looking around you.

Rooms small, as are bathrooms, but have been recently refurbished to a good standard.

However, we did feel that it was over-priced compared to others - are they charging extra for the view? Their cancellation charge of 30€ per room per day payable if you cancel within a month of your arrival also seems a bit steep. And when we were there on a rainy day in June we couldn't have dinner at the hotel as the only dining area was outside in the pouring rain, so had to trudge to the village and find a cafe there.

The underground breakfast area was quite unusual, so gave a good start to the next day.

Room Tip: Room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Turista-Inglesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    55
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Charme Room, facing the Monsoreau Castle itself. What a view to wake up with. We had full view of the castle bathing in the morning sun, which was so beautiful, and later when dusk fell, you'll have the breathtaking view of golden aura around the castle all in the comfort from our room. The air is so fresh and clean.
The bathroom spacious with bathtub and standing shower.Hot water supply is steady. The room is roomy and clean.
There is a little restaurant serving simple and good meal, a little expensive for the quality and choice but you'll have a view of the castle and the Loire River for your taking.
We didn't opt for their breakfast, but we went down to their little cave where breakfast is served, it looks very cozy and the spread of breakfast is commendable.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with castle view. Ours cost 102 euros a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This family-run hotel is in a charming traditional village built of white tufa on the banks of the Loire, with vineyards on the plateau above. The river and the mediaeval château can be seen from the garden-terrace in front of the hotel. Some rooms have a view of both. Our bathroom was spacious and well equipped. The welcome is warm, the rooms comfortable and nicely decorated. The breakfast, which is served in a cellar carved into the tufa, is delicious, and includes freshly pressed fruit juice, a rare find in hotels these days!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed 2 night in the hotel after visiting Paris. Gorgeous! Beautiful view, great service, pretty town. Probably can skip the food, however have a drinks and enjoy the view. Definite come back! BTW- we drove 2 hrs from Chambord and didn't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gvozdeva2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was an overnight stop on the way to the South West. I wished I had known more about the Loire valley before: I would have been tempted to make it a holiday destination for exploring. The route along the north bank of the river from Tours is beautiful. The houses along the road out of Tours are stunning and elegant. They give way to quaint 'troglodyte' houses built into the cliffs, and then to the open countryside. I chose Montsoreau from a list of the prettiest villages in France, and indeed it is. Built againts the cliffs on the north bank, the village all seems to want to face south towards the Loire.

Hotel Le Bussy was an unexpected treat. The hotel is slightly up a hill with its back to what looks to be a limestone cliff. The hotel building is on a quiet village back lane, with its gardens and restaurant across the lane and above the riverside road and a most magnificent view of the Chateau and the Loire.

The restaurant serves typical fare but presents it well. The maitre d' proudly promotes local wines which are, to say the least, different and palatable enough. Meal prices are also reasonable.

The hotel is several hundred years old and has lots of exposed beams and interesting nooks and passages. Our bedroom was large and well equipped and looked out over the gardens, the chateau and the Loire. The toilet and bathroom were thougthtfully separated. Bed linen was cotton - a boon in the warm weather of early summer.

Most delightful of all is the breakfast room which is in a wine cellar at the back of the hotel, presumably hewn out of the cliffs. It would be perfect as a candle-lit venue for a romantic evening meal, but was a charming place to have breakfast. This overnight stop was a highlight of our holiday.

Room Tip: I sense there probably isn't a bad room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This hotel is a cute small hotel in a cute small town. My room had an excellent view of the castle and the river. I liked the Loire but was mourning leaving Dordogne a bit. If the weather had been a bit warmer I think this hotel would have been a great location to bike the valley from. We enjoyed the restaurant suggestions!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a castle view, it is cute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Hotel Le Bussy will remain in our memory for the incredible streets to get there and the view when you do! When we arrived, the message board on the front desk advised whom to call during certain hours...we'd had some experience with the lunch break taken by small business owners but were somewhat surprised to find it at hotel. The receptionist arrived in short order and checked us in. We hauled our bags up the 3 flights of tiny twisting stairs to find a pleasant room with a wonderful view of the castle and the Loire River. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean...shower was great. The car park was not available due to construction vehicles in the area so we found a place on the street to park. The 'trogdolyte' breakfast nook was interesting and breakfast was excellent with good bread and homemade jam, jelly and marmalade. Perhaps due to the season or the construction, the terrace was not available. The lady at the front desk recommended a couple of restaurants, both of which we enjoyed during our stay. Overall, a pleasant place to stay while in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montsoreau
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
187 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
360 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Domaine de Mestre
Le Domaine de Mestre
#3 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Demeure de la Vignole
Demeure de la Vignole
#1 of 1 in Turquant
186 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bussy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bussy

Property: Hotel Le Bussy
Address: 4 rue Jehanne D Arc, 49730 Montsoreau, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Montsoreau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Montsoreau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bussy 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Bussy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Bussy Montsoreau, France - Pays De La Loire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing