We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update on the last review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Relais de Saint Preuil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Preuil
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 13, 2014

... Just to let you know, we loved it so much we decided to stay another night. Christine cooked us a wonderful three course dinner plus lots of cognac! The pool was great after finally braving the water.. This place is Paradise! Enjoy x

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Q_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

Found this place by accident when we were looking for a place between Calais and Biarritz to stay the night. It is the most romantic and quiet place we have ever stayed. From the 400yr old beams to the intoxicating scent of lavender. I love it!
Christine is wonderful, enthusiastic, friendly and takes a great deal of pride in her work.
The guesthouse is fabulous... Quiet and out of the way. Off the beaten track.
The bedroom is comfortable and stylishly rustic. The views are great. I've only dipped my feet in the pool but the setting is great.
This is a great place for both couples and families (there is a playground on the grounds). The little villages on the way in cognac country are quaint and traditional.
We had dinner at 'Le Gout du Jour' in the upstairs restaurant as recommended by Christine. The food was superb... Simple with a choice of only 2 dishes per course. Try the local pineau blanc.. Yum!
Don't hesitate just book it... It's a wonderful place to escape the hubbub of the world!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Q_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Lovely property and faultless hospitality. Good honest French cuisine from Christine with recommendations and engaging conversation over breakfast and dinner. The relais is remote and there is nothing else within walking distance, but that for us added to the attraction and charm.
Just enjoy the views across vineyards and peace and quiet which is free.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Criticallywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Two of us stayed overnight at this stunning relais en route from La Rochelle to Poitiers via Cognac. The location is just beautiful and our room was small but staggeringly good with a 150 year old Chinese four poster bed and lovely wooden wardrobes and bed stands, and a lovely bathroom. Our hostess was the lady owner, Christine, not only a wonderful and extremely knowledgeable lady but also a brilliant chef! You MUST book your evening meal in advance as Christine sources all the produce locally and cooks only for the guests who have booked, but you will not be disappointed. We enjoyed three incredible courses of authentic French cuisine accompanied by Pineau, wine and Cognacs - all locally produced. Not only that, but Christine is able to discuss (in quite blisteringly good English) in great detail about the production and history of dishes and wines alike. She speaks other languages too - the lady has no end of talent. On a very cold and rainy November night we were, unsurprisingly perhaps, the only diners in. It should be noted that others were staying in the rooms but hadn't booked and had to source their supper elsewhere that night - and that is their loss!! We loved our supper, each course excellent in its taste and presentation and the detail and information we were given about history and technique was interesting and added something very special to the evening. I dare you find another restaurant with so much attention to detail. Breakfast also didn't disappoint, home made bread, jam, yoghurt and a very special "family recipe" surprise to start.....I'm saying no more, except go, go, go!!! The property comes with a pool too, so in the Summer months it would be amazing to enjoy the acres of vineyards stretching out in front of the relais whilst sitting by the pool - we were unable to do this in November!! Christine also organised a brilliant trip to a local Cognac producer for the following day for us, just minutes from her wonderful home. This was a couples trip, but would be perfect for families, romance, or just getting away from it all on your own. I cannot say how terrific the experience was, but it is due really to the owner and her passion for not only the incredible hotel she has renovated and rebuilt, packed with amazing artefacts from her and her family's travels - but her enthusiasm and warm, warm, French welcome. A really gorgeous find. It is very, very quiet too, so expect a great nights sleep and a gold star relaxing stay!!

Room Tip: For romance, choose the Chinese room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJB_Berks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This luxury guesthouse is one of the nicest places we've stayed at. The location is wonderful, with an amazing landscape. The guesthouse has rooms or apartments for groups large and small. Our room was very clean, most tastefully decorated, and the bed was very comfortable. Christine's friendliness and cooking were equal to none. We highly recommend Le Relais de Saint Preuil, and hope to return to enjoy a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CD_Butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just a note to say how much our family enjoyed our 3 night break at Le Relais St Preuil. We really enjoyed the excellent food and made good use of the swimming pool and tennis court. The hospitality was second to none, and we had a very relaxing time.

The hotel is in a secluded location, but we enjoyed a trip to Cognac, and got fairly wet canoeing from Jarnac, which is the nearest town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jouneyman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Excellent website. Contact before arrival offering assistance and suggestions to improve stay. Lovely welcome from Christine who was friendly and extremely helpful throughout our stay. Gave us local maps and suggestions of places to visit. Food was wonderful and almost all homemade. Beautiful views over vineyards . We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Preuil
8.6 mi away
L'Yeuse
L'Yeuse
#1 of 4 in Chateaubernard
286 reviews
19.0 mi away
Domaine du Chatelard
10.0 mi away
Domaine du Breuil
Domaine du Breuil
#5 of 10 in Cognac
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Ligaro
Hotel Ligaro
#1 of 2 in Jarnac
73 reviews
5.4 mi away
Le Logis du Paradis
Le Logis du Paradis
#1 of 1 in Criteuil-la-Magdeleine
46 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hotel Saint Gelais
Hotel Saint Gelais
#2 of 20 in Angouleme
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais de Saint Preuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais de Saint Preuil

Address: Lieu-dit Chez Riviere | Vineyards of Cognac, 16130 Saint-Preuil, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Saint-Preuil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Preuil
Price Range: $117 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Relais de Saint Preuil 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Relais de Saint Preuil is a luxury mansion that is an authentic 17th-18th C. Hamlet, a former coaching inn, ideally located in the heart of the Grande Champagne vineyards, where the best cognacs are elaborated.We will be pleased to give you our personal addresses to discover the vineyards, its traditional distilleries and the best products to taste.As the maosion is also our own house, you will enjoy Frecnh family food at our table d'hotes dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Relais de Saint Preuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing