We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, attractive setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domaine de Brandois
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Mothe Achard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

A pleasant hotel.
We only stayed in one of the 'bungalows' in the grounds but they are well appointed.
Good swimming pool.
Good dining room and food.
Just watch your bill. Breakfast is 11 Euros each and seems to be added automatically. You have to tell them if you do not have it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pambill2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 340 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

I was very surprised to find this quality of hotel in this area. A definite must with a unique design.very nice&stylish breakfast Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dtshura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Picked this hotel by searching the internet because we needed a place to stay on our circular way home from the south of France.

A real find.

A very simple reception process by charming staff in a very chic and modern decor. The location is wonderful, set as it is in countryside and surrounded by paddocks. The rooms were very modern and well appointed, and ours was based in the priory - a short distance from the main hotel building. A very refreshing mix of modern and traditional style. The dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent, after the obligatory drinks on the terrace overlooking the horses in the paddocks. Our group did'nt take them up on the offer of breakfast - a common high priced addition in France it would appear.

We were so impressed with the standards in this hotel that we used their group brochure to track down another couple of places to stay for the remainder of our trip.

The outside pool did not open until later in the morning so the pre-breakfast dip was not possible.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chateau57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Well this was the fifth of 5 chateaus we stayed on a mini break and with the others all bring A+ this had a lot to live up to.

The approach from the south was less than inspiring, you end up weaving through an industrial park and thoughts start such as "oh dear" ...

However after a few turns and beds you find the Chateau in it's own estate and very grand. Parking is easy and walking through the main door there is a modern design hall area and a reception, though not as you know it, you have to track the staff down, but that is OK.

Up some large marble stairs and a smaller set we entered our second floor room. Very different from the others we had stayed in, modern design, a corner bath in the same room as the bed ... and I have to say really good, a change from all the classical design and much needed !

We made use of the pool, which is nicely enclosed and warm, could have happily spent longer there and then after a beer we ate our dinner. The restaurant was very French (yes I know ... what did we expect !) and super with it, good food, service was great and it just had a super atmosphere.

It would not be for everyone, if you like the classical chateau this may not be for you, but if you like a little difference every now and again ... give it ago. Even better take your horse if you have one as they seemed to be set up as a horse hotel too ... i.e take your horse on holiday ...

Recommended !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zenman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

A one night stay which was exceptionally comfortable and agreeable. Charming staff. Good quality restaurant. Striking but attractive decor.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSmithsBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Nothing specifically "Wrong" with this place - we had two nights comfortable accomodation, but it is a bit souless.

The decor is ultra modern, in a 200 year old setting and it doesnt really work for me. The room we had was quite small despite having booked a superior room, it really wasnt, and I didnt like having a bathroom attached to the room with no door (although there was a door to the loo).

We didnt have breakfast - but did have an evening meal which was fine, reasonable quality and quick service.

If you are travelling with horses, this is the place for you though, as they have large stables attached to the property and i could imagine that if you are the horsey type you will love the place.

Only stayed two nights and used it just as a base, and on that basis it was rather expensive and there better bargains to be had elsewhere, or better quality for a similar price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsHallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days. The room was oke. The pool was very nice and so was the staff. The first day we had good weather and we had a great time, swimming and making a trip on the free mountainbike. But the day afther whe had rain and we found out there wasn't a lot to do around.

good hotel for good weather. :D

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fr0mH0lland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mothe Achard
11 mi away
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#3 of 28 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
595 reviews
11.1 mi away
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa les Sables d'Olonne MGallery Collection
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa ...
#2 of 28 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
1,018 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hotel Thierry Drapeau
Hotel Thierry Drapeau
#1 of 1 in Saint-Sulpice-le-Verdon
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Brit Hotel Vendee Mer
Brit Hotel Vendee Mer
#2 of 2 in La Mothe Achard
35 reviews
11.3 mi away
Kyriad Les Sables D'Olonne - Plage
Kyriad Les Sables D'Olonne - Pla...
#5 of 28 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
312 reviews
11 mi away
Arc en Ciel
Arc en Ciel
#10 of 28 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Brandois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Brandois

Address: Allee du Brandois | Les Achards, 85150 La Mothe Achard, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > La Mothe Achard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Mothe Achard
Price Range: $106 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Brandois 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine de Brandois ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Domaine de Brandois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing