We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretensious”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Restigne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Manoir de Restigne
Ranked #3 of 4 Restigne B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Hotel Manoir de Restigne is a beautiful property within easy reach of many famous chateaux in the Loire Valley. It's a bit difficult to find if you use the address used in Bookings.com. It lists the hotel property in Bourgueil which it is technically correct, but your GPS won't find it there. it's in the small village of Restigne.

Our room looked nothing like the beautiful rooms listed on their website. It was in an out building immediately adjacent to the D963 road (not overly busy, but you can hear the traffic). When I complained, the proprietor assured me I couldn't but my ears say otherwise. The room, however, is adequate for a four star hotel, but not what I thought I was getting.

The restaurant Le Chai which is on the property looks beautiful but we didn't eat there. It has a dress code (a bit unbelievable these days) and men are required to wear a sport jacket. This wasn't made known to us when we checked in and casually made a reservation for dinner for two. After reading the "rules" posted in our room, we decided to cancel to avoid embarrasment. The restaurant is also very expensive and can easily run over $100 per person for dinner. There are other more reasonable choices in neighboring villages for dinner. There's also a note in the room which "forbids", yes that is the word used bringing any food or beverages from the outside in the hotel.

To sum it up, it's a very nice property but overly pretensious, not very welcoming, and "not as advertised". I couldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Request staying in the main building...and accept nothing less for the money you'll be paying to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 75 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

Upon arrival we were met in reception by the very courteous owner, who made us very welcome and showed us to our room on the Ground floor.

The Grounds of this fabulous Manor House are well manicured and a delight to walk around only to be surpassed by the experience of the Gourmet Restaurant and the pampering of the well rehearsed staff who were very attentive and polite.

The food was ' division one ' and presented in a way only the French are the Masters of.

We were recommended to visit the very local vineyard and were greeted by the Father of the owner who had his own private 'cave'......we spent some time with 'Papa' tasting some of his hidden gems before joining the main attraction of Bourgueil.

We will be visiting again when time permits as this venue and the surrounding area is so perfect.

I cannot understand any reason why visitors would wish to criticise this Hotel and Restaurant and it has my best recommendation as a relaxing and uncomplicated place to stay and enjoy.

Room Tip: Book direct with the Hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RON-THOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I spent 4 days in Manoir de Restigné, as I read an excellent review in a Vallée de la Louire Guide. The Manoir is in the middle of the Bourgeuil vineyard, the place is quiet and enjoyable, quite luxurious. The restaurant is excellent (and of course not cheap). Unfortunately, we could net enjoy the swimming pool because of the bad weather. Rooms are big, calm and clean and we had a wonderful bathroom. We had a warm welcome. The price is, of course, not cheap but it was an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeniZinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We were hoping to split our drive back from a stay further south in France by staying at a nice hotel in the Loire, unfortunately what we ended up wtih was the manoir. We arrived at 8pm to be told that check in was between 4 and 6.30 so we were late. after showing us to our room we were asked when we like to eat, having just driving for 6 hours we wanted to have a while to freshen up but after suggesting 9pm we were told that was too late 8.30 was the latest they could manage. We're both vegetarians which I do realise is difficult in France, so I rang up to check the restuarant menu to find nothing veggie, fair enough, so I asked about the room service menu, also nothing as it's just the michelin star restaurant food delivered, no snack options, no anything options, just 75 euros worth of lobster or that's it....nsacks from the car it was for dinner then!So we thought we'd have a walk around the place, thinking we'd relax in the bar or work out what other facilities there were. Nothing, the place was a ghost town, no-one anywhere, I've been in understairs cupboards with more atmosphere. It felt like I'd been locked in a national trust house after hours.

Good things...the place is beautiful, bed was comfortable, breakfast was average (Us: "have you got any more oragne juice please?" Mr Manoir "I don't think so, sorry").

So, if you want to eat in the restaurant and not have to travel back to a hotel, drop 200 euro on the manoir....otherwise don't waste your money on this place...pretty but souless.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Unpleasant reception:check in has to be between 4PM and 6:30PM no sooner no later,no coffee available in the room pettiness all around.
Worse still is the attached restaurant:sparse and expensive a la carte steers you to a "Surprise" menu where you do not know what you will get(and it is imposed on the whole table you cannot split)
Pretentious and inedible food follows,we had to return most of it to the kitchen,the arrogance of the place defies imagination : AVOID

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manoir37, Propriétaire at Hotel Manoir de Restigne, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011
Google Translation

Nous sommes fort surpris de la teneur du commentaire de ce client.
L'accueil s'est déroulé normalement avec courtoisie, nous avons remarqué le caractère "Rochon" du monsieurà l'arrivée!
La chambre qu'il avait réservé convenait lors de l'accompagnement à la chambre, pas de commentaires particulier à l'arrivée.
Au restaurant, Le maitre d'hôtel nous a signalé le caractère particulier du client "Monsieur", assez désagréable lors de la commande et durant le dîner...il n'a manifestement pas apprécié la cuisine de notre chef...cela peu arriver de ne pas plaire, mais de la a tout dénigrer en bloc...cela fait sourire.
Nous en concluons, que ce client est bien Américain, bien qu'il demeure en France et ne se comporte pas en gentleman...et nous avons remarqué qu'il était coutumier du fait, lors des divers commentaires laissés sur divers établissement auparavant !
Ce monsieur doit savoir que notre établissement fonctionne comme une maison et non comme un hôtel....En plus toute la philosophie de la maison est expliquée dans notre lettre de bienvenue accompagné des caramels de bienvenue...........
Il bien évidemment clair que nous plaçons dés à présent ce client en black list
cordialement
François DUGUET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Manoir de Restigne is a B&B in the countryside. It's not a chain hotel off an Interstate.

You'll be one of a few guests and the limited staff does nearly everything from the start of the day until the end of dinner service. After dinner service begins, the hotel itself is for existing guests only. You'll need your key and the code to the gate if you drive off. Complaints about not being able to check in late just don't make sense here. The Restigne is relaxing because it's not an overstaffed hotel open 24 hours a day with people coming and going at all hours.

And the claims of anti-American sentiments from the staff seem completely unfounded based on my visit. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. No one seemed to care that I arrived with a same-sex partner. And the owner helped us make reservations at nearby wineries.

The room itself was huge and comfortable. The internet was super-fast (but no wi-fi). The bed had awesome comfort. And the products were wonderful. I wish I could have packed them and brought them back to the US.

And dinner at Le Chai was lovely. My only complaint (and a small one) is that the breakfast spread could have been a little higher quality/fresher. Fewer choices of fresher breads would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The manor is beautifully restored. Our suite was enormous and tastefully decorated in a combination of traditional and modern styles.
We were very well received, and the owner gave us some good recommendations of vineyards to visit.
It's also very conveniently located along the Loire for visiting the chateaux.
And don't forget to eat at the wonderful restaurant!
Two things need improving - the breakfast (bad and stale pastries and bad instant decaf) and lack of handles in the bathtub.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirirab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Restigne hotels
0.2 mi away
La Dixmeresse
La Dixmeresse
#1 of 4 in Restigne
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Clos des Vignes Roses
Le Clos des Vignes Roses
#1 of 1 in Restigne
17 reviews
0 mi away
Chateau de la Platerye
Chateau de la Platerye
#1 of 2 in Restigne
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St Georges B&B
St Georges B&B
#2 of 4 in Restigne
32 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manoir de Restigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manoir de Restigne

Address: 15 route de Tours | La Platerye, 37140 Restigne, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Restigne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Restigne
Price Range: $214 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Manoir de Restigne 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle luxury hotel, stately home of 6 bedrooms, 4 suites, gastronomic restaurant, wine bar and bistro, lounges, patio, park and gardens, swimming pool, tasting wine and cellar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manoir De Hotel Restigne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing