We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historic B&B in the Loire Valley”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Restigne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Manoir de Restigne
Ranked #3 of 4 Restigne B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Manoir de Restigne is a B&B in the countryside. It's not a chain hotel off an Interstate.

You'll be one of a few guests and the limited staff does nearly everything from the start of the day until the end of dinner service. After dinner service begins, the hotel itself is for existing guests only. You'll need your key and the code to the gate if you drive off. Complaints about not being able to check in late just don't make sense here. The Restigne is relaxing because it's not an overstaffed hotel open 24 hours a day with people coming and going at all hours.

And the claims of anti-American sentiments from the staff seem completely unfounded based on my visit. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. No one seemed to care that I arrived with a same-sex partner. And the owner helped us make reservations at nearby wineries.

The room itself was huge and comfortable. The internet was super-fast (but no wi-fi). The bed had awesome comfort. And the products were wonderful. I wish I could have packed them and brought them back to the US.

And dinner at Le Chai was lovely. My only complaint (and a small one) is that the breakfast spread could have been a little higher quality/fresher. Fewer choices of fresher breads would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 75 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

The manor is beautifully restored. Our suite was enormous and tastefully decorated in a combination of traditional and modern styles.
We were very well received, and the owner gave us some good recommendations of vineyards to visit.
It's also very conveniently located along the Loire for visiting the chateaux.
And don't forget to eat at the wonderful restaurant!
Two things need improving - the breakfast (bad and stale pastries and bad instant decaf) and lack of handles in the bathtub.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirirab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Wonderful setting and a wonderful restaurant. Too many rules, unwelcoming, had to be reminded to refund the upfront deposit of 30% of the room price. Had previously spent 5 days touring France and this was an unforgettably bad experience in comparison to what went before. The furnishings and fittings were to a very high standard, but it was soul less.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hoverjobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Manoir for 3 nights in September and unfortunately I have to echo the last review. I will start by saying that the Manoir is in a beautiful setting and the rooms are beautifully styled, unfortunately this is where the positive comments end.

The owner is exactly as described in the previous review - rude and obnoxious. Almost from the moment we entered the grounds we felt like we couldn't relax and that we most definitely were not welcome - we checked in and I do have to admit that our room (the junior suite) was lovely - a really good size and beautifully finished. It was mid-afternoon so we quickly decided to head out and explore the area. We asked the owner if he could recommend some wineries to visit and he responded by saying that all the information was on a sheet of paper in our room. I had noticed the information sheet but it was in French only, I mentioned this and he said that perhaps we should learn to speak to French. We also asked what the code to get out of the car park was and we received the same response 'It is on the sheet of paper in the room'. I had assumed that as they have a website in English they are happy to cater for English speaking guests - this is not the case. Interestingly however he did manage to include all his instruction notices in English, e.g. It is forbidden to eat or drink in the room.

As well as the general bad service that we experienced throughout our stay I would like to point out that the website is not reflective of what is available at the Manoir. There was no spa, gym or sauna open when we were there and no mention of the fact that these had been closed on arrival. In addition we tried to have a drink in the wine bar (which according to the signs around the Manoir is open until 10pm) at 8.10pm and the owner looked at us as if we were intruding on his private property and sharply informed us that the bar was closed. The breakfast is grossly overpriced - for €20 per person you get some bread and fruit, eggs are available if you want to cook them yourself and you can also help yourself to some luke warm tea and coffee. There weren't even any croissants left and no-one around to ask for more! I have had better breakfasts in 2* hotels!

All in all, I would recommend that you stay away from this hotel. I wouldn't expect to be treated the way we were at any hotel but certainly not one that claims to be a charming 4* chateau with a hefty price tag to match.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenm_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Subject: Rude and Obnoxious!
My wife and I have traveled to France a number of times, but this past experience in September 2009 was tarnished by the nightmare we faced at the Manoir de Restigne Chateau. We initially decided to stay at this chateau after reading a raving review about this magical château in the Food & Wine magazine. We trusted such a reputable publication and decided to book our stay at the Manoir de Restigne Chateau in the Loire Valley through booking.com. Needless to stay the magical, fairy tale-like chateau turned out to be an absolute disaster. Lots of events transpired to make us feel unwanted.
We had booked to stay at the chateau for four nights. We called the hotel in advance before leaving our initial destination and told them that there would be a late arrival because we were planning to do some wine tasting along the way. In response to that request, the owner of the chateau rudely communicated to us that late arrivals were not permitted after 6:30pm and if we arrived after 6:30pm our rooms would be lost. So we changed our plans and arrived at 2pm and asked to check-in, however, the owner would not allow us to check-in until 2:30pm and didn’t offer to bring our suitcases inside the hotel. After we had checked-in, we were not satisfied with the quality of the two rooms and politely asked the owner if it would be possible to see other rooms. In response to that request, the owner pointed toward the door and barked, “If you don’t like my rooms, then there’s the door and get out! …and by the way I HATE AMERICANS!” I honestly did not know how to respond to this. I have never been treated this way at a hotel. I simply decided we had to leave. I asked for a refund (since we were being deported from the chateau), since we had already paid a 30% down payment. Instead the owner shoved the cancellation policy at me in a very rude way. I tried to explain to the owner that the cancellation policy should not be applicable since he was kicking us out of his hotel. He refused to refund our deposit so we ended up staying one night (since we were already paying for it). And the next day upon our departure the owner charged us for the rooms and 4 breakfasts, which we never even had! We ended up leaving Manoir de Restigne Chateau having a very negative and tainted view on this part of France. We had never been treated so poorly at any accommodation and it is really a shame that many other Food & Wine followers are going to possibly experience such horrific service at this chateau.
In the end, we are still battling with booking.com to get our refund. They have not been successful in negotiating with the chateau because the owner has stopped answering their inquiries! The lack of service, respect and hospitality made this stay the worst we had ever experienced in our 40 years of travel. We wanted to document this episode for all American travelers who are considering traveling to this region of France to avoid staying at the Manoir de Restigne Chateau in the Loire Valley.
I am happy to provide further details to those who are interested in learning more about this place. Please feel free to email me at mmusayev@aol.com.

Regards,
Mark Musayev

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mmusayev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We can sympathise both with the recent "Worst experience ever" review and with the glowing ones! The design - of both the public areas and the rooms - is extraordinarily tasteful: the proprietor has an incredible eye. The pictures on the web don't do the place justice. Dinner was beautifully presented and tasty. The area is great for walking, cycling and signtseeing. But the experience was not terribly relaxing.

The hotel is really not suitable for young children, and it would probably be better for all concerned if it just made this clear. The proprietor tried to be accommodating - including a free upgrade to a large room - but the decor is too precious and we were constantly worried about our son putting his sticky fingers on things! There are notices everywhere forbidding things - taking photographs of the decor, eating one's own food in the rooms (but room service was not available), arriving after 6pm, doing almost anything near the pool. There seemed to be an assumption in the restaurant, particularly on the first evening, that as English we were ignorant about food and wine and needed tutoring.

All this sounds like condemnation - yet we would probably return for a night, as a couple. If one can take the place on its own terms - accept that the formality goes with the style of the place and laugh at the notices - one can enjoy excellent food, a quiet location and some amazing design. It would be better though if the proprietor relaxed a little and asked a native English speaker to rewrite his notices!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Postwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for only one night on our way back to the UK from holiday in the Dordogne. Without going into great detail about the specifics of our stay, we found the gentleman on reception to be the rudest and most offhand person we have encountered in a hotel. Paying almost 300 Euros per night, one would expect to receive a first class service and to feel a little pampered. Quite the opposite here, we were made to feel as though we were 2nd class citizens who should have been grateful to be allowed to stay here.

The restaurant was closed when we arrived and there was no minibar or tea/ coffee in the room. There was no offer to even make a sandwich or bring some fruit or drinks (luckily we had some with us, and had them in the room, despite notices everywhere saying it was forbidden to bring your own food/ drink), and we had to carry all our own bags up the stairs, with a 4 year old child in tow. As soon as we arrived, we were told that the front door was about to be locked and the gate to the car park was to be locked.

Our room was lovely and very large, and the public areas of the hotel are beautifully decorated. Breakfast was completely OTT, and one was made to feel as though in a library, people talking in hushed voices and the stroppy man from reception sweeping through every now and again to peer superciliously at us over the top of his glasses.

The hotel is totally unsuitable for children. All in all, we couldn't wait to pack our bags and leave.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank squirrelnutkin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Restigne
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Dixmeresse
La Dixmeresse
#1 of 4 in Restigne
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Georges B&B
St Georges B&B
#2 of 4 in Restigne
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Clos des Vignes Roses
Le Clos des Vignes Roses
#1 of 1 in Restigne
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau de la Platerye
Chateau de la Platerye
#1 of 2 in Restigne
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manoir de Restigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manoir de Restigne

Address: 15 route de Tours | La Platerye, 37140 Restigne, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Restigne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Restigne
Price Range: $207 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Manoir de Restigne 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle luxury hotel, stately home of 6 bedrooms, 4 suites, gastronomic restaurant, wine bar and bistro, lounges, patio, park and gardens, swimming pool, tasting wine and cellar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manoir De Hotel Restigne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing