We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de Monrecour
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon(Vitrac)(Great Value!)
$87
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais de Moussidiere(Sarlat-la-Caneda)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance(Vitrac)(Great Value!)
$95
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Altica Sarlat(Sarlat-la-Caneda)(Great Value!)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Chateau(Beynac-et-Cazenac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Pontet(Beynac-et-Cazenac)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Le Perigord(La Roque-Gageac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
183
89
13
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
89
13
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdordogne valleybeautiful dining roomhot air balloonfour poster bedpoor frenchhard boiled eggslarge terracefamily roomminor pointground floorbeautiful settingour short stayincluding hotfull kitchenhuge roomplay areaamazing location
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 292 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We only stayed one night but wished we had booked a few more days. The rooms were spacious and lacked for nothing. Special thanks to Stephanie who organized the return of our ipade from the previous accomadation to forward to the next place of stay. The staff were simply amazing and with a great sense of humour. Could not recommend more highly. Breakfast was great also
Thanks for the time we spent there

Monica and Ben

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in one of the 'Charm' rooms for a number of nights in this hotel. The Chateau is fantastic with excellent views of the area.

It is very well situated with Beynac, La Roque-Gajeac and Domme all easily accesible. Going to each of these is a must.

The staff were very friendly, both Stephanie and Chrystalle were amazing and made us feel very much at home (apologies if names spelt incorrectly!).

My small moans would be:

The swimming pool is too cold to get in. Really needs to be heated.
There should be a restaurant (this is being addressed).
Smoking in the hotel (guests are not allowed so this is done by others including the owner who lives on the premises), cigarette smoke can be smelt at times - possibly our biggest complaint and one that should be rectified immediately.
Room was a little cold overnight. Heating wasn't great and required at that time of year. Think we were unlucky with the room there.


If it wasn't for the smoking, I would have given the hotel 5/5.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayReviewName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed in the Chateau in mid June. (2 couples). It was a fun experience. Chrystelle greeted us upon our arrival and was our main point of contact. She was OUTSTANDING...and would easily switch from French (for our friends) to English for us - very accomodating. She also provided recommendations for nearby restaurants - very helpful. We were in room 4 - second floor overlooking the entry. It was a lovely room.

The terrace is delightful - - overlloking a pool and scenery on the other side of the road. Someone else commented about road noise - - we didn't find tht an issue. We did have large windows in the room and opened them to let in the mornng air and watch the hot air balloons. The vista was beautiful.

We didn't try the breakfast so can't comment. I beleive it was 12 Euros and we only want coffee and a pastry so it didn't make sense for us. There was a water kettle/instant coffee in the guest room - - so it will tie you over.

Monrecour is in a very convenient area -- Beynac nearby is very picturesque. This whole Dordogne area is fantastic - - wonderful/beautiful towns to see and the ancient caves to tour. We made a good choice to go in June since many people told us that the summer months are "impossible" - - hard to find accomodations, hard to get into restaurants, major traffic issues since the roads are narrow and the area condensed. May and June are perfect...same with September, October we were told....go then and you will really enjoy it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peachome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I wanted to stay in a chateau and we almost did. While you can stay in the beautiful chateau with its expansive balcony that overlooks the grounds and pool, we stayed in a large bedroom and bathroom in a row of similar and self contained cottages. It was very roomy and comfortable and ready access to a pool which families with kids in the same accommodation made excellent use. Laundry at no cost available.

This is a great setting - out of town but not far to drive to nearby villages. It is a stunning area and we'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryP164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Very good hotel. We had a very large room in the main house, number 3 I believe, which was huge and very bright with the shutter open due to having windows on three sides. Decent bathroom. The room had access to a huge balcony facing the Château de Beynac which was a perfect place for a nightly picnic. The balcony was shared with another room, but it is big. Decent breakfast and not so expensive.
All decoration in the areas I saw was in good order. Staff as friendly as can be.
Drinks available all day/evening on the terrace.
The only comment I'd make is you can hear the main road, approx 100m away, quite clearly if you are at one of the the pools or have the windows open in the main house. That said, I saw many, many hotels actually on the main road itself, so this one isn't so bad. And it's a great location for getting about from, mostly 10 to 15 minutes to many places. Benyac is only 1.5km.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 17clarence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews