We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Les Voiles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Voiles
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sainte-Adresse
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Just spent one night here last Saturday. Les Voiles is located within a commercial block on a seaside road in Ste Adresse, at the edge of the beach leading to Le Havre. The hotel building, with a pleasant seaside blue exterior, has a brasserie (they call it "pub") with outdoor seaview terrace on the ground floor, a restaurant on the 1st floor, and an inn with breakfast room on the top two floors. All dining areas have full frontal sea views which are really nice. We didn't manage to get a seaview room (150 euros) so settled for a roadview room (80 euros) . Our room (whimsically called a "cabine" in keeping with the nautical theme) was non-descript but ok for the price - small shower & bathroom (clean but with a bit of an off-fragance), Ikea-type furniture, clean carpets, no mini-fridge, a/c controlled centrally by the hotel. Higher-priced rooms look much nicer on the hotel's website. The common areas are tight for space and could use some updating. Although the hotel is located near a roundabout that connects Ste Adresse to Le Havre and the beachfront, at night there is little traffic and only the occasional late-returning revelers, so leaving the windows open at night is not problematic for noise. We've stayed in other Chateaux et Hotels chain properties before, and this hotel's decorative standard is the lowest so far. A big plus, however, is the free wifi, which proved useful when I needed to work on a presentation in the middle of my long weekend. We drove to Honfleur for dinner (where there were plenty of competitively priced restaurants) and it's about 30 mins each way, a scenic drive through the ports of Le Havre and two dramatic bridges spanning the Seine and the Grand Canal of Le Havre. For Sunday lunch we ate at the pub/brasserie at the hotel (the restaurant having closed for a private function), and while the food was alright (we had moules frites), the service was really slow and uncaring - we were intially told we couldn't sit in the terrace even though it was 20% full (we actually saw another couple turned away because no one could be bothered to seat them), then we waited 30 minutes before the waitress decided that we would have the privilege to order anything (both food and beverage), and by the time we left (90 minutes after having sat down and gone through one main course and a single drink) the place was still not full. The restaurant itself has a really good seaview panorama, and is probably priced into the menu, which at 50-70 euros per person for a set dinner puts it in Michelin one-star pricing, but I'm curious to know if anyone who's eaten there could compare the food to a one-star establishment?

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank I_love_Buenos_Aires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Goulwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, Directeur général at Les Voiles, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: la chambre 12 avec terrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flog78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, Directeur général at Les Voiles, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, Directeur général at Les Voiles, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Privilégier les chambres vue mer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aga_trei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, Directeur général at Les Voiles, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Magnifique vue depuis les chambres avec terrasse panoramique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selena6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, Directeur général at Les Voiles, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Adresse
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Phares Logis
Hotel des Phares Logis
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Adresse
242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pasino
Hotel Pasino
#6 of 33 in Le Havre
358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vent d'Ouest
Hotel Vent d'Ouest
#5 of 33 in Le Havre
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ibis Le Havre Centre
Ibis Le Havre Centre
#4 of 33 in Le Havre
248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce
1.1 mi away
Hotel le Petit Vatel
Hotel le Petit Vatel
#3 of 33 in Le Havre
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Voiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Voiles

Address: 3 Place Clemenceau, 76310 Sainte-Adresse, Le Havre, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Le Havre > Sainte-Adresse
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sainte-Adresse
Price Range: $98 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Voiles 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feet in the water, Les Voiles hotel offers a panoramic view on the seaside.Come and relax in Le Havre in one of our confortable and cosy rooms designed as a boat interior. Situated between Honfleur and Etretat on the Norman coast, you will enjoy the well-kept design that will remind you of transatlantics, sailboats and regatta. Our hotel is ideally located , ten minutes away from the train station and the airport and you will enjoy a free wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Les Voiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Voiles Sainte Adresse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing