We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice owner but disappointing”
Review of Chateau de la Rue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de la Rue
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice owner but disappointing”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were really looking forward to this first Chateau in a series of 3 in the Loire and Normandy and were surprised that it was really more of a rather casual, somewhat run down, farm house, with few rooms other than the breakfast room in which to spend time. We also found it overpriced compared to other much nicer chateaux, and not so conveniently located to the main public Chateaux and vineyards in the region. Also, the breakfast help was surly. The owner was quite ok and helpful in guiding our tours around the area. In conclusion, if you are looking for a bed and breakfast and you can negotiate a better price, it might be a good stop over, but it really should not be characterized as a Chateau, notwithstanding the technical features, which it might satisfy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    5
    8
    7
See reviews for
14
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We booked this about 2 weeks before going to down to the Loire just for a night, and while it was 250 euro for our stay we had 2 rooms with a bath and a shower to ourselves and an excellent breakfast. It's really an old home, and while I'm not a fan of old world decor it works here. The beds were very soft but we slept well and enjoyed the grounds and the advice from the owner and the workers on the best routes and places to go. You can reserve with a credit card but they only take cash and checks for payment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnyaP203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alencon, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The welcome we received was just as it should be & the service couldn't have been better throughout our stay, everyone was helpful & charming - they looked after us beautifully without being intrusive, just the right balance. You felt as though they were enjoying you being there!
The pools was a winner, it was heated to just the right temperature, not shocking when you dive in, but not too warm either.
We had the Cassandra room which was to die for, what luxury,
I wish we'd been staying longer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen_David_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We travelled the Loire Valley from Angers to Bourges. We stayed in about eight different B&Bs in the course of the trip. All were for the most part excellent. However, Chateau de la Rue was a major disappointment for a place which looks so good on its website. On initial contact by e-mail we asked for the best offer available. We were offered a room at the 'special price' of €150 per night or accommodation in an adjoining gite at €100 a night. We booked two nights (unfortunately) in the gite which proved to be an attic type room which was sparsely furnished and had no wardrobe to hang up clothes. The toilet facilities were down some cold stairs - not very pleasant at any time but particularly in the middle of the night! We made our views known, very politely, to the owner and were subjected to what could best be described as an incoherent 'rant' about her personal woes and made us feel that we were, to say the least, being troublesome. The Chateau itself and the grounds are the worse for wear and in need of maintenance.
We were glad to see the back of Chateau de la Rue!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KildareGlobeTrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Beautiful country estate in an excellent location. Great for visiting the chateaux de la Loire. Charming rooms and delicious breakfasts. Not cheap but you're paying for the charm. The owner is a Baronesse and acts like one too so it's good to know that upfront.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

we went to this chadeux with nerves. but it ended pretty well in our france trip. highly recommed to people who want to explore this loire vally. the room is amazing, the owner is incrediablely friendly and nice, and the country life over life will make you wanna stay longer . .. the price is reasonable,,,:P

  • Liked — anything
  • Disliked — no internet srvices
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank monster j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

We booked this chateau last-minute in August, after having contacted many other chateaus that were all full. Based on the nice conversation with the owner rather than the website we decided to go to this chateau. The experience has been wonderful. We stayed two nights in the room called "Mme de Segur" (the smallest room of the chateau) and two nights in the "Cassandra", the most luxurieus room of the chateau.
Both rooms were very nicely decorated, tasteful and it the atmosphere of the chateau. The Segur is small but cosy. Small negative point is the shower which is in the bathtub and does not have a shower curtain, which makes you wet the whole bathroom. The Cassandra is royal and beautiful, has both a bathtub and a shower (private toilet in the hall next to the room) and beautiful views.
The breakfast included in the room price was served in the dining room at a time of choice and was generally nice. The first morning we did not get eggs and yoghurt, but after we got this the second morning we realised that we could ask for this (standard bread with homemade jam was provided).
The owner is very nice and attentive and made it a habbit to pass by all guests during breakfast to see if they needed any advise on what to do during the day. She would advise which chateaus to visit, which winecellars and would indicate a scenic route to take, as well as nice restaurants to go to.
It is also possible to have dinner at the chateau, which should be requested 24 hours in advance. We had a lovely dinner with starter, salad, main, desert and cheese, an apperative and wine for a very decent price. As I don't eat meat, it was no problem to have a meatless dinner (in principle the dinner is fixed).
The garden around the chateau is nice and there are plenty of seats to sit outside in front of the chateau. There's also a swimming pool but thanks to the disappointing weather we did not make use of it.
The chateau is nicely located not too far from the Blois and the Chambord Chateau. Amboise is about an hour drive.
All in all we had a lovely stay at this very styleful chateau, and we would certainly recommend it!

  • Liked — The beautifully decorated chateau/rooms and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — The shower in Mme de Segur
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelloverParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cour sur Loire
9.1 mi away
Chateau de La Rozelle
Chateau de La Rozelle
#1 of 1 in Cellettes
150 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison d'a Cote
La Maison d'a Cote
#1 of 1 in Montlivault
215 reviews
9.9 mi away
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cour-Cheverny
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Villa Bellagio - Blois
Villa Bellagio - Blois
#1 of 2 in La Chaussee-Saint-Victor
296 reviews
11.9 mi away
Chateau du Breuil
Chateau du Breuil
#1 of 2 in Cheverny
774 reviews
13.2 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Rue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Rue

Property: Chateau de la Rue
Address: Fleury | Suévres, 41500 Cour sur Loire, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Cour sur Loire
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cour sur Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de la Rue 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take time out in a beautiful 18th century country retreat, nestled between the Chateaux of Blois and Chambord in the heart of the Loire Valley. Relax in the peaceful surroundings of our parkland and enjoy the gourmet preserves made from the fruits of our protected orchards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de la Rue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Rue Hotel Cour Sur Loire
Chateau De La Rue Cour Sur Loire, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing