We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camping Sandaya Le Chateau des Marais
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed with Eurocamp. Didn't see our couriers once after the initial showing to our pitch, but that suited us so no bother there. The 2 bed horizon caravan which we stayed in was showing its age....but anyway enough about Eurocamp.

The camp site, as other reviewers have mentioned, is a great base for the many chateau which are in the area as well as the historic towns. It is also easily reachable by car from Caen and Le Havre ferry ports. The park is well kept and clean with what look like new buildings for the reception, shop, and take away.

The take away....hmmmm....arrived at 7.30pm with no dinner with us. Thought we would get some hot food quickly at the take away. The pizza was 9euro. It was under cooked and certainly not a classic stonebaked pizza. The frites....I think were the worst I have ever eaten. Anaemic and tasted like cardboard.

The take away was the only negative part of the campsite. All other aspects were satisfactory with friendly staff and a happy atmosphere. We would stay here again....avoiding the takeaway!


Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Routemaster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Camping Sandaya Le Chateau des Marais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 325 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

we hae been holidaying with Canvas for many years and have experienced many sites and different standards. This yeare we stayed at Le Chateau des Marais in June with Canvas, the campsite is set in a forrest, so we would expect when it rains to have to deal with mud, the word camping provides the clue, and the couriers cannot control the weather, nor the pitch conditions. The couriers were first class nothing was to much trouble, yes they were young but this did not defer from their professionalism at any time, we were visited every night (not intrusive) to see if we needed anything. We were met by a courier who explained all the campiste facilities, we were then shown into our mobile and invited to look around the mobile to ensure the standard of cleanliness was acceptable, I have to say this was the first time this has happened, I feel this should be employed as a Canvas standard. The courier explained that should we find anything or have any problems during our stay we must inform a member of staff so they could put it right immediately. We went to an organised trip to the local vineyard which was short walk away and tasted the local cheese and wine. We also went to the charity quiz, the clue here is the word chairity, the outcome to raise money, so I would expect the donating of money to be the aim of the evening. A great bast to vist the Chateaus. The on site restaurant, although having a limited menu, was fantastic. Great for a relaxing holiday, with great staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glogshnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this site with Canvas Holidays last week. We enjoyed sight seeing and went into Blois as well. Staff on site were helpful and friendly. Caravan was well equipped. Site has a covered pool heated. Lazy river is also heated. Great for fillies with young children and couples. Not a site for teenagers as they would get bored. Only the weather spoilt the week

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed here for 9 nights, I have to say I am slightly surprised at some of the previous comments. We came through canvas, and have to say, I felt the reps may have been young but they were nothing but helpful and pleasant, they sorted out an issue with our caravan and moved us to superior accommodation at no extra cost, they did this professionally and it without delay. The reps visited us daily to ensure we were enjoying ourselves and could not do enough for us.
Although previous reviews stated the site prices were excessive, the frites were huge for €2 and a small beer and wine cost €4.40.
There is plenty to do within a short distance of the site, we brought our bike and found several routes of 15k which were great!
La trattoria in Mer for pizza is great costing a hefty €10 per pizza but well worth it.
All in all, although the weather was terrible, the holiday as fab.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supergeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

So this is a Keycamp holiday park that has Ready made Tents, camping areas, Treehouses and static homes. It is great for the children, has a fantastic array of pools to choose from with a lazy river and the restaurant and bar overlooks the childrens play area and the arcades where the older children can go. There is plenty of activities for kids and is very family friendly. It rained for most of the week but we used this camp as a fantastic base to sightsee the surrounding areas such as Blois, Chambord and Amboise. There are many Chateau's to see, some more local than others. The only downside for myself and my son was that eating as Vegetarians in France is really difficult. We did expect that but as Keycamps are very much directed at English families it would have been nice to have a Veggie meal or a Fish dish (there are 2 fixed menu's to choose from and the fish is on the very expensive one) at least on the menu at the park. If the weather had of been nice I would imagine it would have been really lovely to just relax in the grounds or at your pitch site - Perfect for kids and family holidays and no noise at all at night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonBeckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed with Canvas, the mobile was filthy and the pitch was not too good either. I have to say apart from one scottish courier they were awful. They ran a pub quiz and it was terrible and embarrassing and they were begging for money to buy mobile for people who couldn't afford holidays - perhaps they should have just let them use their caravans. The Canvas head rep was rude, and obnoxious. One night we heard her on the loud speaker system where they lived drunk and abusive.

It is supposed to be a family park, Eurocamp offered this service but no other companies did. The campsite was nice but our holiday was ruined by youngsters who didn't have a clue!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boltonwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was the most disappointing Eurocamp destination by far over the past few holidays . The plot sizes are small and ours was ungravelled ( most of the others were ) meaning with the wet weather our car turned our plot into a mud bath meaning it went all through the caravan . The on-site bar and restaurant is very expensive and the food not good. As an example we had a 50 cl beer and shandy and it came to 10 euros and we sent the kids up the get 3 portions of chips with the BBQ one evening and they came back with what I would class as 1 portion size and it came to 6 euros. All in all a very disappointing experience where corners were cut to save money at every opportunity. Our Eurocamp van had numerous issues and problems including us having no water pressure and numerous power cuts happened over the site. I wouldn't recommend this site and Eurocamp experience to my worst enemy !

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Critical_TravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muides sur Loire
7.8 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Florent
Hotel Le Saint Florent
#1 of 1 in Mont-pres-Chambord
123 reviews
11.4 mi away
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cour-Cheverny
421 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Maison d'a Cote
La Maison d'a Cote
#1 of 1 in Montlivault
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel le Verger
Hotel le Verger
#1 of 1 in Saint-Laurent-Nouan
83 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
9.0 mi away
Villa Bellagio - Blois
Villa Bellagio - Blois
#1 of 2 in La Chaussee-Saint-Victor
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Sandaya Le Chateau des Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Sandaya Le Chateau des Marais

Address: 27 rue de Chambord, 41500 Muides sur Loire, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Muides sur Loire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Muides sur Loire
Price Range: $166 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Sandaya Le Chateau des Marais 5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy nice holidays with your partner, your family or even with your friends at the 5 star Sandaya campsite Château des Marais. Located in the middle of the Vallée des Rois and in the Centre – Val de Loire province, in Loir-et-Cher, your campsite is close to the Châteaux de la Loire and the many small rich cities as Blois, Cheverny or Chaumont. You will surely like the quiet and green setting of the 5 star Sandaya campsite Château des Marais thanks to its geographical location. Located to 500 metres away from the Domaine de Chambord, ex Palace from the 16th built under the reign of François premier. With its 14h² forest park, it water park and the different activities, you will live holidays worthy for French Kings at the Sandaya campsite Château des Marais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Camping Sandaya Le Chateau des Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Des Marais Hotel Muides Sur Loire
Camping Sandaya Le Chateau Des Marais France/Muides Sur Loire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing