We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing the instant you arrive”
other travelers have booked this property
La Chapelle, La Bourg & Cluny cottage on rhs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Chapelle, La Bourg & Cluny cottage on rhs
La Bourg kitchen The study with 13th century mural of wolf on fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
La Chapelle, La Bourg & Cluny cottage on rhs
La Bourg kitchen
The study with 13th century mural of wolf on fireplace
La  Bourg study with 15th century wolf mural on fire place
Main bedroom with en suite bath/shower & separate wc
La Bourg; Hubert room
La Bourg; White room
La Bourg; White room
La Bourg Sartre bedroom
La Bourg; Living room entrance with Roman well
La Bourg; side view of patio with Ckluny cottage in the background
La Perdrix~ The above ground pool at sunset
La Perdrix~ Studio barn
La Bourg ~15th century mural of wolf on study fireplace
La Bourg~ Roman well 17 M deep and protrudes into living room
La Perdrix ~ aerial view showing the houses, pool, hangar, barn & meadow
La Bourg~ View from the patio with church  and sunset
La Bourg~ Outside the living room at night
La Bourg~ view looking towards patio
La Bourg~ entrance to living room, master bedroom above the wisteria
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Riberac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
James A
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing the instant you arrive”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was my third time at La Perdrix, and I have plans to revisit in 2018 under way as I write. My visits are with Guitar Retreats/La Perdrix as a joint venture aimed at Guitar players of all abilities for a whole week of uninterrupted indulgence of playing,learning and developing new playing and song writing/singingskills with a bunch of lovely like minded people you've never met before, having said that, these retreats are now so popular there are now several regulars like myself always in attendance. I have yet to meet a person whom I did not like or get on with here. Johnny and his team go out of their way to make this such a fantastic week and nothing ever seems to faze them or be to much trouble. A beautiful old monastery building with links to the Romans, so don't expect Ikea furniture and Premier Inn style rooms, expect instead a relaxing time from the moment you arrive until it is time to step back into the hustle and bustle you left behind you. Check out the photos and others reviews, the photos are accurate but really cannot do justice to the peaceful relaxing nature of this place.Ideally situated for exploring this beautiful part of France. And if you do play guitar, even as a complete beginner, check out Guitar retreats with Stuart and Sharon Marshall and book quickly before all the places have gone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_nd_natal...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a relaxing but exciting time”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I have returned to Lá Perdrix nearly every summer for the last 8 years. The owners are always so welcoming and wonderfully interesting people to talk to. The house, steeped with history, is full of interesting features and objet d'Art collect by Johnny & Ingrid, there is a plethora of brocantes available every weekend around the area for the treasure hunters out there. I always feel an incredible ease there, from enjoying some quiet relaxing time reading under a tree or sunbathing by the pool to cooking incredible food from the local market and sharing it with fun and exciting people around a big table whilst the sun sets being the church bells.
Will definitely keep going back :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An outstanding and memorable week”
Reviewed September 23, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I travelled with 'Guitar Retreats' on a song writing week, Stuart the organiser assured us we would love the place, and we did, all of us without exception. The owner Johnny was all alone for this occasion as his wife was working in the UK, he had arranged Dominic and his wife to help him with catering, and the food at each and every mealtime throughout the week was outstanding. The place itself is full of charm, both historical and rustic in nature with an above ground pool for the hotter days. Just check out the photos on the website, they are both representative and accurate. I'll be back next year for more guitar and song writing as soon as I can get permission from my other half, she was unable to come this time due to work commitments, I'm certain she will want to come with me next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food provided, this was not a self catering week
Liked least: Truthfully, I found nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathellis
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very memorable”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed here as double booked , so Ingrid & Johhny kindly took us in,great place very unique, Lovely views and scenery, lovely dogs, teddy such a character, and what better greeting in the morning than chickens, bit out from riberac but if I can walk it anyone can about 35mins, taxis are available especially if you are in riberac, pubs & restaurants will book one for you.I found it very relaxing ,we were there for a wedding, so not there long enough really, Johhny and Ingrid are 2 of the nicest people you could hope to meet and will make you feel very welcome.We stayed in le chapelle, but there is the big house and another cottage, and the swimming pool has lovely views,all in all a great place steeped in history.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best family holiday we have ever had.”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

It has always been hard to please everyone on our family holidays. This time it actually felt like a holiday...for all of us. I suppose we all relax in different ways and La Perdrix made it a slice of heaven for all of us ( we have 2 boys age 12 and 14).
We stayed in Cluny cottage which was a lovely property, it had all we needed and more the living space was light and airy and well equipped. It has ben renovated in the rustic French way with very tasteful colour and décor.
Within a few days we decide that although we were going to be there for 2 weeks we would come again next year so we didn't feel pressured to hit all the places of interest so we could see them next time. (Usually we want to try new places and not return to somewhere we have already been).
Our hosts were wonderful, Johnny and Ingrid , apart from being great at insuring that our needs were met they are both such interesting people with such a generous spirit.
We all enjoyed the dogs and chickens ,the table tennis championships both within our own family and with the other guests. We had some delicious shared meals together and also just by ourselves. We happened to hit the Festival of mime in Perigeux which was great ( all on the street and free ) next time we will book some ticketed events too. The Xavier Maffre pottery and ancient church carved inside the rocks in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne were a highlight for us . We loved the market in Riberac and the broccantes in Soraic de riberac. .We Kayaked down a beautiful river with varying epic fails off the rope swings along the way.
We swam in the lakes nearby lakes. The other guests were lovely too, (out boys were often with the children of other families having fun, playing games,playing in the pool, etc.
There is so much space and different areas to be in, that we were never ' on top of one another'.
There was space to chat, read, ping pong, explore some clay, float about in the pool. Sway in the hammock and read, play boules/pitanque? cook, eat, drink, sing, laugh, have wonderful conversations. It was such a relaxed time right from the beginning. Our ferry is already booked for July 2016 and our space at La Perdrix reserved ... So lovely to have it to look forward to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: atmosphere
Liked least: The table for alfresco dining was a bit too small at Cluny
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny E
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“holiday in paradise”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed at La Perdrix and that speaks for itself. We first came as a group of 3 families in 2012 and loved it so much we all decided to come again. We stayed in the main house and also La Chapelle. The house is large, rambling, eccentric, intriguing, historical, atmospheric and welcoming. There is a lot of interesting art work and brocante throughout the house which adds to the uniqueness of this property. Johnny and Ingrid are fantastic hosts, so warm and welcoming. There is more than enough space for a large group like ours which consisted of 15 of us. A huge kitchen for cooking together and space to eat inside or outside on a vine covered terrace adds to the enjoyment. There are plenty of bathrooms as well.

I can't emphasise enough how welcoming Johnny and Ingrid are. Nothing is too much trouble and they have a fund of local knowledge so you are never stuck for things to do. However if you just want to chill out there is a pool with a 'beach' and a sun trap of a garden.


We visited local areas: canoeing at Aubeterre, art galleries in Bordeaux, restaurant by the river in Riberac, underground caves at Padirac and so much more. Last time we went to Sarlat and Les Eyzies and the mime festival in Perigueux. We also went river and lake swimming. There is plenty to do locally.

Johnny and Ingrid hosted a pizza night, using their outdoor pizza oven, on our last night which we all really appreciated and enjoyed and we in turn invited them to our family entertainment evening. We think they enjoyed it!!

Also ready to welcome you are Ralph and Teddy, 2 friendly dogs. Ralph is older and is more staid in his welcome but Teddy is very enthusiastic. Both are charming.

So in conclusion this has been a wonderful and joyful holiday and I'm missing La Perdrix already

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: just about everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smurfyCor...
cork
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Special and magical”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just.back from a wonderful week with family and friends at La Perdrix. It's a magical old property with a range of accommodation options perfect for groups . The owners have brought their own artistic style to a rambling and beautiful property and everywhere you look is interesting and atmospheric. We overlapped with people who were finishing a ceramics course and the joy and sense of achievement they shared made me want to book now for next year.add some communal cooking and eating with the lovely hosts and you have the recipe for a perfect holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Atmosphere
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;