We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Les Simons”
other travelers have booked this property
Peaceful heated private pool in the French countryside. Heavenly surrounds and bird sounds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peaceful heated private pool in the French countryside. Heavenly surrounds and bird sounds.
Seven steps between  the HEATED pool area and  front terrace. Four sunbeds and parasols provided.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Peaceful heated private pool in the French countryside. Heavenly surrounds and bird sounds.
Seven steps between  the HEATED pool area and  front terrace. Four sunbeds and parasols provided.
Sit and enjoy a galss of wine and read a book on cushioned sofas .Al fresca dining. Yummy
Kitchen and dining room facing terrace ,sofa with flat screen tv.Kitchen is well equiped.New oven.
Living room , sofa , coffetable and handy internet/ wifi box .
Modern new kitchen
Master bedroom with french doors to terrace bedrooms have Air Conditioning .
Bedroom
Beds can be single or double
Modern American kitchen
Indoor Dining room and kitchen beyond, microwave, espresso machine and toaster.
The pool is heated so a light cover is provided to keep the heat in at night ,
Beautifully restored hotel/restaurant up the hill 5 min. walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Riberac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
shark54mw
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Les Simons”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a luxury to have the huge swimming pool all to ourselves! The property is tucked away in a lovely quiet area with good supermarkets 12 minutes drive away. We had some very hot days during the stay so having the pool & air conditioning was great. The property is very clean, kitchen is well equipped and there is generous amount of towels provided for. Kids enjoyed canoeing & the boat tour in Brantome. The Abbey there is a must see! Don't miss the lively Friday market in Riberac with local products. The owner Geraldine & Jon replied promptly to our enquiries and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable & enjoyable. We had a wonderful family holiday at Les Simons. Merci beaucoup!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: big swimming pool in a secluded area with complete privacy
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Thank you lvery much for taking the time to write such a nice review , we are always delighted to find out people had a nice stay .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow !!”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wow !! What can I say about our holiday to the Dordogne, and Les Simons in particular ?
We fell in love with the property the moment Sue and I set eyes on it. However, I must admit, I was a little bit skeptical about the location. You see, last year we had our holiday on the island of Madeira, and I drove over 1200kms trying to see as much as we could during our two week stay. The Dordogne however, did not conjure up ' dramatic ' locations, and therefore I was worried that I may get bored after a few days. I needn't have worried !
Prior to departing, Gerardine & Jon couldn't have been more helpful - they kept in contact with us, and answered any questions/queries we had in a prompt and courteous manner.
On arrival, our initial response could only be described as ' gobsmacked ' !! Les Simons was even better than the photos portrayed.
Everything has been thought of, from TV to air conditioning to kitchenware. It very quickly became a real home from home. Externally was an even bigger ' wow factor ' - the pool is a great size, and the surrounding area/patio is superb and extremely private. The village of Saint Paul Lizonne is very quiet, and the only sounds come from the occasional tractor trundling by.
There are plenty of places to see ... all within in an hours drive - I can heartily recommend Brantome, Saint Emillion, and the lovely town of Aubeterre, which is only ten minutes drive away.
All in all, this was one ... if not the best holiday we've had in the past decade, and a huge thanks must go to Gerardine & Jon, whos fine attention to detail couldn't be faltered.

If you want a relaxing holiday, peace and quiet, and lots of French culture ... then this is a perfect holiday for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accomodation
Liked least: Nothing !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
Thanks Dave and Sue for such kindness and taking the time to write such a glowing report . Maybe our paths will cross again , THANKS AGAIN
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malojuga
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Everything we had hoped for”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from our trip to The Dordogne. We all loved this property as it is so private and the pool was bigger than it looked.. The beds are really comfortable and there is plenty of space.

The owner has thought of everything to fully equip the house. We briefly met the very nice caretaker on day 2 who explained that she lives at the bottom of the hill and we could call her in the event of an emergency but we were not bothered throughout the holiday and left to our own devices which is how most people like it.

We are a family of four - 2 adults and 2 boys (13 & 8). The boys absolutely loved the pool and there is Sky TV.

Had some great days out which I will review separately and in 9 days drove 1500 miles.

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone and think it is excellent value!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded pool
Liked least: There are no negatives
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply three words..relaxing, tranquil, perfect.”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our one family holiday of the year, so it was important for us to get it right. We couldn't of asked for a better location, peaceful, rural and scenic-we found some great local walks, bike rides and the pool was fantastic.The accommodation was stylish,
very comfortable and the garden private, overlooking farm- land.

We took advice for places to visit from the information folder....you do really just have to go and explore!

All in all a relaxing couple of weeks....just what we needed, a special place to be, thank-you Geraldine & Jon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool and the accommodation and privacy
Liked least: Nothing all was great
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2014
Thanks you Diana and Tony for taking your time to review , and such kind words , Glad you have decided to return next year , Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine J
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We had a very comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable week”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is in a lovely setting with a great pool and poolside area. It is well-equipped and was clean and tidy on arrival. The BBQ is excellent too - modern gas one. It is on the edge of a pretty village which has an exceptionally good restaurant within a hotel just a short walk away. Ribérac isn't far away and it's a good base from which to explore the Dordogne. We would definitely consider coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2014
Thanks Lorraine for taking the time to write a very nice review , We have lots of returning guests , maybe our paths will cross again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rorylover...
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have just got back from a super holiday. Weather was was very hot. The accommodation is of a very high standard, the pool is very large and very clean. I will be booking again for next year. We also had a small dog which also had a great time as there is a lot of room around the villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review and taking the time to write it , Sincerely Geraldine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
passsat
coventry
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best ever holiday - brilliant value!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week from 18-8-12 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We are a family of four and would have to say this was one of our best holidays together, as the house, the superb and clean pool, the beautiful surrounding area plus of course the fantastic weather all played their part.

The house "Simon" is well equiped with everything anyone would need, with the washing machine being particular useful - remember washing powder & conditioner. Washing line provided. In addition, all bathroom towels and sunbed towels are provided, which helps.

The BBQs (gas or charcoal) make alfresco cooking easy.

It is true that the house temperature can rise during the day, but as long as you shut the shutters and use the fans provided (during the day) all will be OK. The fans may also be required at night, but this did not create a sleep problem for any of us as they can be run at a lower fan speed.

The surrounding area was very quiet and rural, we would recommend the Hotel restaurant in the St-Paul-Lizonne village, as the outdoor dining is great. Book 2 days in advance to get a table.

On another practical level, the Spar shop at Saint Santienne should forfill all your needs, they also understand English.

During our stay we also visited the caves at Villars about 50 mins from S-P-Lizonne, (7.50 euros per adult) which were great. Although the guided tour was in French, a useful English crib sheet was provided. A must see - take a fleece as it's a bit chilly. It opens at 10am, but go early to avoid the queues.

We also visited Aubeterre as featured in the house book, a nice half day out. Go and see the underground church (5 euros each). Take some time to walk around the town and see the church on the hill. Stop at the market square for a coffee / wine (they speak English).

Just down from the house there is a 18 hole crazy golf course owned now by an Englishman (for the last 3 months). It's a bit pricey at 6 euros per person, but a good laugh for an hour. After this, go to the cafe opposite for some crepes etc. Ask about the house special - if it's the spagetti bolognaise then go for it, it's lovely. Don't forget a sweet too but make sure you saved enough room for them.

Finally, all the above was for a very reasonable price, so what's to complain about? Nothing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and the house itself.
Liked least: Wi-fi sometimes temperamental
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2014
Thanks for your review , we have installed air conditioning now , on your advise , Thanks again , Geraldine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing